Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's a Bonny Thing...", 14 Mar. 2002
At first I'd intended describing this as a coffee table book - large, glossy, lavishly illustrated - until I realised that it wouldn't be lounging on any coffee table of mine for very long without my hot little hands snatching it up again. A well-respected Holmesian, Mr. Davies has succeeded in producing a book containing enough data to entertain the Holmes enthusiast, yet written in a readable enough style to engage the casual browser who remembers seeing a few Basil Rathbone films at the flicks. Stage productions, film, tv and radio are all covered here, in words and illustrations, so you're sure to find Holmes featured in your own favourite incarnation. Even the dust jacket can be reversed to refelect your preference either for the deerstalkered Mr. Rathbone or the dashing Mr. Brett. The book is a treasure trove, and as a record of the Great Detective's life in the limelight thus far, it is a must for any Holmesian's bookshelf. Or coffee table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sign of Five Stars, 25 Feb. 2003
By 
Eve (stoke on trent, staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Where to begin? this is could be, as already mentioned be called a coffee table book, as its packed from cover to cover with wonderful photographs and movie stills but I wouldn't dare let my book get near a coffee stain and neither should you. Who would risk ruining the cover with the distinguished Mr Rathbone and dashing Mr.Brett indeed!
DSD has provided a rich source of information about the various incarnations of Sherlock Holmes, enough to please those with a keen or lighter interest in the worlds only consulting detective with basic plot summaries for the films, details of the supporting cast and some snippets of interviews. It left me wanting to dig deeper in to the films.
This will be a fine addition to any Sherlock Holmes fan's bookcase and those interested in movie history also.
Lavish pictures, knowledgeable writing, what more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book for any Sherlockian, 20 Nov. 2007
By 
M. Hopkins "nickomcminn" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starring Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
It is immediately apparent when reading this book, that it was written by somebody who has a genuine love for the subject. David Stuart Davies has written several books about Sherlock Holmes and he has clearly exhaustively researched this tome. There are many behind the scenes comments from actors and crew members about different incarnations of Holmes and they help to give a much greater understanding of the circumstances that took place on so many films and TV shows.

This book will be a great read for anybody who has enjoyed the performances of actors such as Basil Rathbone and Jeremy Brett as it discusses them in some detail. It also explores many of the lesser known depictions however and is sure to encourage many to view them.

The great photographs only add to the quality of the book and this is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate reference guide to screen career of the world famous fictional detective, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starring Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
What most impressed me about this edition is the careful way it is presented in chronological order. It isn't just a critical review of every Holmes film, or television series, or even radio show (which I hate!), but rather a story of who did what, when and where, and if it achieved it's aim. We can all make up our own minds about our favourite's. This book is obviously a labour of love by the author, especially with regard to the Granada series. I must mention the pictures as well, there are many of them, rare ones too, I've spent hours with this book, I loved it! There are other books on this subject available, without doubt this is my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book on the performances of the fantastic Sherlock Holmes, 19 July 2009
By 
J. Taylor "Jan and Alan" (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starring Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book, thoroughly researched, clearly typed and laid out. I just could not put this book down! There are some great photographs as well.

The only problem with this book is the plot outlines on the top of each page - if you have not seen the film in question and wish to DO NOT READ THE OUTLINE! SPOILERS EVERYWHERE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A detectives guide to Sherlock Holmes on screen., 13 April 2012
This review is from: Starring Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
Whether a Sherlock Holmes Baker street Irregular or simply a movie and TV aficionado this is an excellent book. Brimming with beautiful pictures with graet historical reviews of each depicted film or TV series this is a great reference guide or simply an excellent read for any Holmnesian enthusiast. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starring Sherlock Holmes, 9 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Starring Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
I got this as a christmas prezzie for a friend, I had a quick look through and i'm really pleased, i think she'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes, 4 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starring Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
This is a must have for Sherlock Holmes fans.A beautiful coffee table type book that covers all aspects of this great detective. It covers right back to the days of silent movies when conan doyles detective was first put into film. Some great colour pictures and details
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sherlock holmes, 30 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Starring Sherlock Holmes (Hardcover)
the ultimate book for any holmes fan.great pictures and lobby cards covering many years gone by.good in depth stories on each actor playing holmes and watson and superb value on amazon price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starring Sherlock Holmes
Starring Sherlock Holmes by David Stuart Davies (Hardcover - 26 Oct. 2007)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews