Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bats goes Victorian!
Two alternate stories of the Batman set in the 19th century from such star artists as Mike MIgnola and P Craig Russell. The first, "Gotham by Gaslight" is arguably the best. A retelling of the Jack the Ripper murders with a continuation in Gotham where the Batman confronts him. A great short story with some magnificently gothic drawings by the excellent Mike...
Published on 20 Sept. 2010 by Sam Quixote

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE MIKE MIGNOLA ART!
If you like Mike Mignola's art work than you might want to add this to your collection otherwise I can't see much reason to own this book. The second story is mildly interesting but the artwork is not to my taste. I enjoyed the first story and would recommend this to anyone who wants to see how Batman deals with the world in a different era, I just can't help but feel...
Published on 8 Aug. 2009 by Angel D. Angelov


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bats goes Victorian!, 20 Sept. 2010
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Batman: Gotham by Gaslight (Paperback)
Two alternate stories of the Batman set in the 19th century from such star artists as Mike MIgnola and P Craig Russell. The first, "Gotham by Gaslight" is arguably the best. A retelling of the Jack the Ripper murders with a continuation in Gotham where the Batman confronts him. A great short story with some magnificently gothic drawings by the excellent Mike Mignola it's no wonder his talent took him on to bigger projects like Hellboy and BPRD.

"Master of the Future" is the second and longer story in this collection featuring an alternate origin story for the Joker and another test for the Batman to save Gotham. Eduardo Barreto's drawings are excellent here too and Brian Augustyn, who penned both stories, writes another great script.

An excellent "What If...?" collection of two great Batman stories with some fantastic art thrown in. A must for Batfans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE MIKE MIGNOLA ART!, 8 Aug. 2009
By 
Angel D. Angelov "Crimson Reader" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Batman: Gotham by Gaslight (Paperback)
If you like Mike Mignola's art work than you might want to add this to your collection otherwise I can't see much reason to own this book. The second story is mildly interesting but the artwork is not to my taste. I enjoyed the first story and would recommend this to anyone who wants to see how Batman deals with the world in a different era, I just can't help but feel that they could have done something more interesting with this idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce the Ripper?, 12 Feb. 2009
By 
Icy Sedgwick "Icy" (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Batman: Gotham by Gaslight (Paperback)
Attempting to introduce Jack the Ripper into the world of Bruce Wayne/Batman was always going to be a risky move, as it requires either bringing the Ripper into the modern age, or putting Batman into history. Thankfully this tale chooses the latter, re-positioning Batman and Bruce Wayne as turn of the century figures who unfortunately get caught up in Ripper hysteria, and Batman has to track down one of history's most notorious killers.

The artwork is beautiful, and while the plot is a bit of a departure from the usual Batman adventures, it's well-written and unfolds at just the right pace. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elsworlds befor "Elsworlds" or Batman vs. Ripper, 21 Jun. 2002
Alternative history books - "proper" or comic - start with The question - "What if?" In this case, what if Bruce Wayne happen to live in "innocent" Victorian times - than he could easily become a friend and an apprentice of Sigmund Freud and visit London at the hight of Ripper crimes...
It seems that bat mythos is as reach and as flexible as Greek ones you can tell them again and again in different decor, use different cast - and hav ethe same impact!
Beutifully paced story, darkly magnificent art - and horror grandmaster Robert bloch as an intro writer - what can be better?
Definitely worth hunting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mignola + Batman = Love, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit short, but pretty sweet. The simplistic and dark art of Mike Mignola makes everything better.

Fast delivery as usual!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved this, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this
its a brilliant read. Enjoyed every minute of it and well worth the money
Absolutely great Graphic Novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend reading this, 27 Feb. 2015
American Bruce Wayne travels to England as part of his visit around Europe and ends up investigating the serial killer case of Jack the Ripper. Highly recommend reading this. The Victorian Era setting was done well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steampunk Batman, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What could be better, i ask you?
The original elsewords tale really is the best. Both comics collected here are great workings for the writers and the artists and are absolutely thrilling to read, even when you've heard the spoilers!
Personally, i think this s my fave elseworlds batman, and i've read them all (and theyre all good.) His suit and gadgets are simpler but better, his training and preparation is shown to be taught by some of the world's greatest minds at the time and his dedication to justice over revenge is challenged in this volume.
Also, this bruce manages to find someone who is able to love him and his batman duties, which is something we've not really seen before and i was happy about.
Old-school detective work and manipulation of victorian fear of the eccentric are used to great effect in this book and i loved every panel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the price, 30 Jun. 2010
By 
A. Russell (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wasn't blown away by this, which was somewhat disappointing. I love the elseworld stories, and the idea of throwing batman into the Victorian age seemed like the greatest what if of all. The art was great at setting the mood, and I loved the historical tie-ins. My problem was that there was a fight going on between the character-study aspects and the actual plot. Bruce Wayne is amazing in this, but the plot just kind of creeps up on you and then it's done; the ending was anti-climactic to say the least. Part of me also wishes there had been more Victorian style gadgets involved but at the same time that probably would have detracted from the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was perfect quality, and 6 days before estimated delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: Gotham by Gaslight
Batman: Gotham by Gaslight by P. Craig Russell (Paperback - 20 Oct. 2006)
Used & New from: £2.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews