Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant!
Best Comic Series, so far......

Grant Morrison crafts together the best Superman tales to date.

The first volume collects the first six issues of the All Star Superman series.
Each episode is an issue of that series. Although each is a stand alone story they are linked by the first event that occurs in Episode One - the saving of a ship from...
Published on 29 Oct 2009 by R. Ayavoo

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but...
I realise I'm going against the tide here by not acknowledging this to be perfect. It is very good, superior fare to most, but it's not in the classic league of, say, 'Secret Identity' or 'The Dark Knight Returns'. I actually find it curiously unemotional, partly because Morrison's writing is so self-aware and consciously cool - 'cool' as in 'fashionable'. The art...
Published on 31 May 2009 by AVW


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant!, 29 Oct 2009
By 
R. Ayavoo (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Star Superman: v. 1 (Paperback)
Best Comic Series, so far......

Grant Morrison crafts together the best Superman tales to date.

The first volume collects the first six issues of the All Star Superman series.
Each episode is an issue of that series. Although each is a stand alone story they are linked by the first event that occurs in Episode One - the saving of a ship from destruction from the sun.

The series is DC continuity free, so Grant is left to pick through Superman's history and craft a story that elevates Superman to greatness. Too often Superman is perceived, as too powerful/god like to write in a convincing manner.
So inevitably, Superman has been written as prevaricating individual, doubting his abilities with a naïve point of view
Not here, as Morrison's take on Superman here and in his run on JLA, is of a humble individual, unaware of his celebrity status amongst his superhero peers, but committed to doing the right thing because it needs doing.

The awe-inspiring wonder of Superman is evident throughout these pages (the fortress of solitude, a key weighing thousands of tons, hidden civilisations of dinosaurs beneath the Earth's crust). Morrison writes Superman so that his abilities are never used to show off excessively but often to make the world or himself a better place/person to be around - not of a bored god with nothing better to do. Who else would learn to sew, replicate and cook from a menu from the Titanic to impress his potential girlfriend?
Interestingly, Morrison resurrects the idea of a lineage of Supermen from his JLA stories to excellent and humorous effect.
His supporting cast is lean but exceedingly well written.
Frank Quitley's work is spot on as always. Maybe his artwork is not as inventive as his work in WE3 but it is still as graceful and elegant here.
His posture's for Clark often emulates Christopher Reeve's demeanour (from the films) as a stumbling, shy retiring farm boy lost in the big city.
Superman does not resemble a body builder- so much the better for it. Lois and other woman are do not look like glamour models and stand like normal people as opposed to staged poses that exaggerate their `assets'.

I even loved the care and attention that DC have taken over the design/look of this book. It is evident from the sprawling title of the book across the front cover to the graphic composition of the fill-in pages between episodes. DC have come a long way from collecting original comics into trade paperbacks and simply blocking out original captions/page numbers of the original comics

All in all this is rivals Superman for all Seasons as my favourite Superman story

Recommended for all who thought Superman was a little too stuffy for his own good.

We3
JLA: Deluxe v. 1
Jla Deluxe Vol 2
JLA: Earth 2
Superman for All Seasons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but..., 31 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Star Superman: v. 1 (Paperback)
I realise I'm going against the tide here by not acknowledging this to be perfect. It is very good, superior fare to most, but it's not in the classic league of, say, 'Secret Identity' or 'The Dark Knight Returns'. I actually find it curiously unemotional, partly because Morrison's writing is so self-aware and consciously cool - 'cool' as in 'fashionable'. The art likewise is technically brilliant but has an odd flatness to it at times.

Yet the still, quiet pace of it is very well done - art and writing working beautifully together to accomplish this. The stories are good fun, and numerous panels are so good you'll probably find you just want to gawk at them in admiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great comic book., 7 Sep 2009
By 
B. L. Cunningham (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Star Superman: v. 1 (Paperback)
This is a wonderful Superman story & the artwork, is,
in my view, really good.
I was happy with the service & delivery, as I have been with all my purchases via Amazon, to date.
I believe that many of us are fortunate to be living at this moment in history, whereby we can skip the stress of shopping around, by simply clicking a few buttons & having our choice of item delivered safely &
efficiently to our homes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grant Morrison's brilliant epic, 9 Jun 2009
By 
Corstiaans "film nut" (Rotterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Star Superman: v. 1 (Paperback)
All-Star Superman isn't just one of the best Superman-stories of all-time, it's one of the best comics of all-time. Grant Morrison's writing is nothing but brilliant and issue 6 has one of the most emotional endings in a comic book ever! Frank Quitely's art is wonderful too, not for everybody but he has a great eye for detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully written and lovingly illustrated little masterpiece of modern superhero storytelling, 12 Feb 2009
By 
Bob Grist (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: All Star Superman: v. 1 (Paperback)
Wonderful! That's the word to sum up this graphic novel. Absolutely wonderful! It is not a superhero slug-fest - so if that's what you want, please look elsewhere - but a deeply moving and lovingly created exploration of Superman's affect upon the world of mankind and the world of mankind's affect on him as he approaches his death, brought on by a cataclysmic and very cosmic accident.

Each chapter (original issue) deals with Superman's connection with those he both loves (Lois Lane, Jimmy Olsen, etc.) and those he tries not to hate (such as Lex Luthor).

This may well be the greatest Superman graphic novel/comic ever produced, and it is certainly the finest work of art produced by the fabulous team of Grant Morrison (writer) and Frank Quietly (artist). Though I also recommend their other collaborations We3 and JLA: Earth 2.

If you like your superhero storytelling to be somewhat more cerebral and full of compassion and feeling and touching enough to produce a tear or two, then you will utterly love this (and most probably seek out volume 2 as well).

If you want extra clarification on this point, check out the 29 five star reviews on Amazon.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All-Star Superman - Contender for Best Comic Series Ever, 4 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: All Star Superman: v. 1 (Paperback)
Its wonderful. Packing more ideas into a single panel than most comics contain within their entire narrative, All-Star Superman is as near perfect as a comic can be. The sheer wealth of ideas is overwhelming at first, but this is one for the ages. I could read this all day. All week in fact, admiring Quitely's wonderful art and the intricacies of Morrison's plot. Spotting background detail I never noticed before and a passing comment that has more relevance than you could imagine on first reading. Morrison and Quitely (& Jamie Grant) have served up one of the best comics of all time. Buy this and it's second volume or the Absolute edition. You won't be disappointed. This is what comics should be - this is the medium proving its worth in a tour de force unlikely to be topped. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good not Great, 13 Aug 2010
By 
A. Standen (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Star Superman: v. 1 (Paperback)
I did really like this take on the Man of Steel and there are a lot of positives to it but that doesn't mean it wasn't without its flaws. This Superman for example seems, in my opinion, soft. For instance I don't think this version of Superman would ever have a chance of beating a Supervillain in the form of Doomsday for example. He just seems to be missing something.

That said the story of this is very well done, if a little slow in parts, and I look forward to reading volume 2. Morrison should defiantly be congratulated for this and it is a return to form from some of his other work.

The artwork as well is truly phenomenal, it has a very modern feel to it and is coloured very nicely.

All in all I wasn't sure what to expect from All Star Superman but I was pleasantly surprised and this is an essential purchase for all Superman fans, and for one's who are not this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic superman with a twist, 19 Jan 2010
By 
C. SMITH (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Star Superman: v. 1 (Paperback)
All Star Superman takes the best elements we all recognize from classic Superman but sets the story out with the continuity of the DC universe. Morrison is an excellent writer and i'd highly recommend this book to any Superman or comic fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 6 Jan 2010
By 
M. Green - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Star Superman: v. 1 (Paperback)
Very well written and very well drawn. This is a must for any serious fans of Supes or simply comics/graphic novels in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun superman!, 15 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. H. Riyait (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Star Superman: v. 1 (Paperback)
With All-Star Superman, Grant Morrison and Frank Quietly have crafted a fun and imaginative book. The story is very well paced and structured, and keeps the Man of Steel busy with super heroic feats. At times, the story feels more about Superman's supporting character and villain, but that's no bad thing, as Morrison for one makes sure Superman integrates with them well without being overshadowed. Of course this could have been a whole different book without Quietly's amazing artwork He has a way of presenting each panel in a beautifully composed and movie like widescreen presentation. His artwork is reason enough to buy this book.

Why only 4 stars? The whole "book" is split into two books that have to be bought separately. I am sure DC will release an absolute soon, but it's a bit of a pain having one story in two separate books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Star Superman: v. 1
All Star Superman: v. 1 by Frank Quitely (Paperback - 24 Oct 2008)
Used & New from: £2.46
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews