Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!
This is a beautiful book full of pictures, interviews and interesting stuff, it's a must for every fans of this show! There are every words of every episode with scripts of deleted scenes!
Published on 30 April 2009 by Emanuele Disco

versus
26 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
After the lacklustre Serenity movie companion, we were promised a much better attempt but this Firefly book sadly goes in completely the wrong direction. Those looking for more background on the firefly universe, on artwork, spaceship designs, history of the 'verse and of the planets and technology won't find any of that here. What you do get is about 5 pages of original...
Published on 4 Oct 2006 by timlondon02


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 30 April 2009
By 
Emanuele Disco (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One: 1 (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book full of pictures, interviews and interesting stuff, it's a must for every fans of this show! There are every words of every episode with scripts of deleted scenes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent historical background to the show, 16 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One: 1 (Paperback)
The very point of getting this book is to have the scripts (timlondon02 please note) for which there are many reasons apart from re-enacting the episodes -- such as interest, for one, or picking up words you can't catch from the DVDs. Background information about spaceship designs and the verse are available in the RPG book and on the web.

The additional material in this book includes many shiny photos and side-boxes about design, production and the sets, including anecdotes about making the series. There are page-long interviews with the cast describing their early feelings about the show and first impressions of meeting everyone else. Some of the photos are often-reproduced publicity shots and a bit dated now, but after all this book is about the early episodes and the genesis of the show. It's big and glossy and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shiny!, 8 Sep 2006
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One: 1 (Paperback)
This book is full of shiny stuff for a Firefly fan! There are interviews with the cast & crew and photos from episodes and behind the scenes, costume design sketches and loads more. The majority of the book covers the scripts from the first seven episodes - so if you're not interested in pages of dialogue it's probably not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shiny, 1 April 2011
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One: 1 (Paperback)
With the exception of what look like some screen grabs from the DVD, the quality of the photos, sketches, and writing in this book is very good. The paper is glossy and shiny. I particularly like the atmospheric but rather casual way some of the scenes are described in the scripts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying!, 24 Sep 2010
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One: 1 (Paperback)
Beautiful book! Many ship pictures and photos from the series, interesting interviews with the cast and scripts : )))) A must have for every Firefly fan! : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Series since DeadWood, 12 Jun 2010
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One: 1 (Paperback)
Funny and great stories. Acting is to standard and I've watched it about 3 times all through since I bought it... guess I must like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as expected., 5 Nov 2013
By 
ronin (tallinn, estonia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One: 1 (Paperback)
My girlfriend and I have been Firefly fans for a while. I ordered this and vol. 2 for her birthday knowing full well what these books have and what they do not. She absolutely loves them. She is happy = I am happy. Therefore, good books with nice pictures and a bit of new things to read about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best sci-fi series ever, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Maxine (DONCASTER, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One: 1 (Paperback)
I love this series, and it was sadly cut short by some over paid *+^*. Watch the 13 episodes before watching the movie. It works better in that order. The movie seems to be a wrap up of the series, answering all the questions that have arisen through the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Tight Pants, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One: 1 (Paperback)
If you love firefly you will love this.
I am obsessed, even 10 years since it aired on tv I love it. I regularly stick the boxset on whilst sewing. I am so sad it was only 1 season and a movie, but what a season. Firefly is something you either love or hate and those who love can not be without.
I decided to buy this and volume 2 because I had recently watched again and wanted to make Zoe's vest for a costume party.
This volume is excellent. It provides insight to the making and production of the series as well as every script written down. It is more than I expected!
thank you Joss for the wonderful "verse" you gave us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 4 Oct 2006
This review is from: Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One: 1 (Paperback)
After the lacklustre Serenity movie companion, we were promised a much better attempt but this Firefly book sadly goes in completely the wrong direction. Those looking for more background on the firefly universe, on artwork, spaceship designs, history of the 'verse and of the planets and technology won't find any of that here. What you do get is about 5 pages of original material (mostly costume concept art), and the rest of the book is filler, specifically, its 6 scripts from the TV series, reprinted in double space text, in full (including both parts of the 'Serenity' pilot episode).

Not at all recommended unless you want to act out your own version of the episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One: 1
Firefly: The Official Companion: Volume One: 1 by et al. (Paperback - 25 Aug 2006)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews