Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An illustrated history of Hammer Horror, 26 Sep 2004
By 
Mr. N. J. Voice "neil_voice" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hammer Story (Hardcover)
This well written book tells the history of one of Britains most prolific film studios,from their humble beginnings as a small distribution company to the studio that won the queens award for industry.
From The Quatermass Xperiment in 1955 and then Curse of Frankenstein and Dracula through to their later "campier" films such as Vampire Lovers and Captain Kronos this is an informative read.
Lavishly illustrated with colour stills and film posters from each production with information on Peter Cushing,Christopher Lee,Hammer Glamour,Bray studios and some of the non gothic films they produced.
Even if you are like me and have read a great deal on Hammer this is still worth a read.Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of information on all the popular Hammer horror films, 25 Oct 2010
By 
zx50 (Next to Consett, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hammer Story: The Authorised History of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
They really have done very well with this book. Nice balance between the amount of text and images as well. Sections are as follows ...

Reanimation 1955 -- 1964
From The Quatermass Xperiment to The Curse of the Mummy's Tomb

Fresh Blood 1965 -- 1969
From She to Taste The Blood of Dracula

Setting Son 1970 -- 1975
From The Vampire Lovers to To The Devil a Daughter

Life After Death 1975 Onwards

That's about it, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the Hammer Film buff!, 10 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hammer Story (Paperback)
Alan Barnes and Marcus Hearn have presented a first rate look at the well remembered Hammer Films. A film by film study with absolutely splendid lesser known photographs. Brilliant for the beginner who just wants an overview of Hammer Film Studios output, but with much to interest the know alls as well. Worth adding to any Hammer collection. This is the same team of authors who produced the absolutely brilliant Bond study - Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, also highly recommended. Get both of these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 7 Nov 2007
By 
Steven Dyer (Bromsgrove, Worcs Eng) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hammer Story: The Authorised History of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
As a lover of Hammer horror films since i was a little boy - when my mom would let me stay up late on a Saturday night and be scared to death by Christopher Lee baring his fangs as Dracula this book brought back a lot of happy memories. All the films are mentioned and there are some unique photos of the films in question. A must for all British horror lovers especially as Hammer is about to rise again. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer book review, 29 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Hammer Story: The Authorised History of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book immensly. A very detailed story of Hammers films from about 1955 right through to the television series in the eighties. The detail about each film is fantastic. The book includes familiar films such as DRACULA and THE MUMMY, as well as including unkowns like THE UGLY DUCKLING and THE KISS OF THE VAMPIRE.An excellent read, I extremely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book! The best I've seen on Hammer Films yet., 11 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hammer Story (Paperback)
Buy this book. The authors have done a phenominal job with this fascinating film studio and it's legacy. The layout and artwork are remarkable. Highly recommended to any horror film fanatic and British film fan. In the words of my fellow Chicagoians, Siskel & Ebert, "two thumbs up, way up".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable insight to the production of not only Hammer, but film making itself, 2 Nov 2008
By 
J. Taylor "Jan and Alan" (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hammer Story: The Authorised History of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
I rented this book out of the library and just flicked through it and thought nothing of it, but when I started to actually read it, I instantly gave it 5 stars. It is well researched and well written book that offers a valuable insight to the production of not only Hammer, but film making itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for Hammer fans, 12 Jun 2012
By 
V. Denham "Ice Queen" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hammer Story: The Authorised History of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
These books by Marcus Hearn are superb. Each page printed on glossy stock is in sharp high definition colour. There are many posters, photos and never before seen ephemera alongside well written information on the films in chronological order. I bought all 4 of these Hammer books,because they are full of such great pictures. The only thing that I thought was a shame was the fact that the books are not shrink wrapped. All 4 of my books were scratched, either by moving about in the box that they are posted in or in storage. The covers are very dark with the exception of the white dust jacket on "The Art of Hammer". The result of not being shrink wrapped is that the dust jackets are marked with scratches. These books are so nice that they deserve to be packaged properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book !, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hammer Story: The Authorised History of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
A Comprehensive guide ! A book full of insightful facts and interesting features,a must have for any Horror Film Fan !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Hammer Films enthusiasts, 14 Mar 2014
By 
R. G. Archer (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hammer Story: The Authorised History of Hammer Films (Hardcover)
This book is a must for those enthusiasts who want to delight in learning more about one of the Great British studios. From humble beginnings to world wide fame. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hammer Story: The Authorised History of Hammer Films
The Hammer Story: The Authorised History of Hammer Films by Alan Barnes (Hardcover - 26 Oct 2007)
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews