Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars27
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
27
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£23.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 18 April 2007
This book is a wonderful celebration of the life and work of Stan Winston, one of the most gifted and talented artists to have worked in Hollywood.

There are hundreds of beautiful photos which show Winston's work in painstaking detail. Take for example a double page spread which has Arnold Schwarzenegger as The Terminator on one side, and on the other, Arnold again but this time it is a full scale model of his head. At first glance it is impossible to tell the difference. Spend some time looking and it obvious which is which but in the context of the live action film it is easy to see just why Winston's effects are amongst the best in the world.

The text in the book is just as fascinating as the pictures, and gives a real insight into the life of Stan Winston. Even if you can't be bothered with all the reading, this book is worth buying for some truly amazing behind the scenes pictures of some of the biggest blockbusters from recent memory.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2009
16 years ago as an art student I was studying special effect make up, I had difficulty with an appliance I had an exam due, worried I rang Stan Winston Studio hoping to speak to a technician. Someone answered the phone and asked if they could help, I explained my predicament, for ten minutes I had the technician explain the process and a couple of tips. Really helpful guy so I asked for his name to write and say thanks, He just said Stan, I nearly fell over. My hero talking to me like a friend and helping some poor student.

This book represents this man and his work, community he created and his strengths and weaknesses. This is not a book that reads as a infomercial, it is a history warts and all of a fine art studio. Its explains why he would talk to a young student for nearly half an hour

I could not put this book down.

Last June Stan left us, this book stands as a testament to a great artist.

I thoroughly recommend this book for students, and film connoisseurs this is a valuable tome for any technicians library.
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2006
At last, a truly definitive record of one of the true special effects geniuses of our time.

Just one cursory glance through this book was enough to sell it to me. The level of detail in all areas is simply staggering, with some astounding stills reproductions of all his most legendary creatures (Predator, Terminator), as well as the lesser know ones (Leviathan, The Relic). Crucially, the range of stills chosen covers every aspect of the design process, from his beautiful initial sketches and drawings, through the realisation and fabrication of the actual creatures, as well as some fantastic shots of the final, finished works (look out for the full-page still of 'Pumpkinhead'! All are reproduced in stunning clarity, and make the book worth the asking price alone.

Equally importantly, the text is detailed, fascinating and meticulously researched, with a great deal of behind-the-scenes insight.

All in all, a truly stunning book that is undeniably essenial reading for everyone who is interested in Stan Winston's legendary work.

[...]? Cheap at twice the price!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
This book does not just show the output of Stan Winston's achievements. It allows the reader more of a personal journey with Stan as he created his body of work.

One story stood out for me, and this was a thank you letter from a student who had rung up the helpline to get support with his coursework. The operator spent 45 minutes helping, advising and coaching. The student discovered he had been speaking to Stan himself who manned the helpline occasionally despite his lofty stature, because he was a true man of the people.

Stan Winston will be sadly missed. A gentleman, a genius and an artisan with both feet on the ground.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2010
An incredible book of work, a must for anybody 'into' Special Effects. Worth every penny, every page has photos and pre production drawings-its a sad loss he is no longer with us.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
An in depth look into all of the major film monsters and their creations by creator stan winston. Brilliant pictures and in depth detail to fans in how effects were achieved! A must for anyone interested in movie effects in scifi fantasy! Bargain price is also an added bonus!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
This is a fantastic book about Stan Winston's studio who have produced some amazing characters and creatures over the years. Stan Winston has sadly passed away but this book, written and available before his death highlights his imagination, knowledge and legacy very well.
It has some history about Stan and his life but most importantly the characters his studio produced in glorious pictures and explanitory text. It does not pretend to say that Mr Winston did everything himself, it showcases the talented people he chose for his studio and goes indepth to their talents.
There are also short contributions from directors such as James Cameron and various actors.
It is a luxury book, great glossy pages and a talking point if you show it off to fellow special effects fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2010
I've been reading this book on and off for 2 years now and it still excites me every time I turn the pages. Invaluable source of material for anyone remotely interested in sci-fi/horror films and creature building. Makes a great coffee table addition as someone else pointed out, and is full of high quality photos and gives an interesting insight into, in my opinion the greatest character creator in cinema history. Cannot recommend this book highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
This is a really worthwhile purchase. Well illustrated, with very informative text, the book reveals all the technology, hard work and human invention that has gone in to creating a very wide range of special effects for the film industry. Most instructive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
An amazing book for anyone who loves monsters, props, prosthetics and film - I bought it as a present for someone in the makeup industry and he loved it, I had a quick flick through and am thinking of getting it for myself!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)