Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful celebration of a true genius., 18 April 2007
By 
Mr. D. Bell "Dan Bell" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Winston Effect: The Art and History of Stan Winston Studio (Hardcover)
This book is a wonderful celebration of the life and work of Stan Winston, one of the most gifted and talented artists to have worked in Hollywood.

There are hundreds of beautiful photos which show Winston's work in painstaking detail. Take for example a double page spread which has Arnold Schwarzenegger as The Terminator on one side, and on the other, Arnold again but this time it is a full scale model of his head. At first glance it is impossible to tell the difference. Spend some time looking and it obvious which is which but in the context of the live action film it is easy to see just why Winston's effects are amongst the best in the world.

The text in the book is just as fascinating as the pictures, and gives a real insight into the life of Stan Winston. Even if you can't be bothered with all the reading, this book is worth buying for some truly amazing behind the scenes pictures of some of the biggest blockbusters from recent memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winstons effect on me, 15 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winston Effect: The Art and History of Stan Winston Studio (Hardcover)
16 years ago as an art student I was studying special effect make up, I had difficulty with an appliance I had an exam due, worried I rang Stan Winston Studio hoping to speak to a technician. Someone answered the phone and asked if they could help, I explained my predicament, for ten minutes I had the technician explain the process and a couple of tips. Really helpful guy so I asked for his name to write and say thanks, He just said Stan, I nearly fell over. My hero talking to me like a friend and helping some poor student.

This book represents this man and his work, community he created and his strengths and weaknesses. This is not a book that reads as a infomercial, it is a history warts and all of a fine art studio. Its explains why he would talk to a young student for nearly half an hour

I could not put this book down.

Last June Stan left us, this book stands as a testament to a great artist.

I thoroughly recommend this book for students, and film connoisseurs this is a valuable tome for any technicians library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of art in every department, 14 Dec 2006
By 
Martin Thomson (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Winston Effect: The Art and History of Stan Winston Studio (Hardcover)
At last, a truly definitive record of one of the true special effects geniuses of our time.

Just one cursory glance through this book was enough to sell it to me. The level of detail in all areas is simply staggering, with some astounding stills reproductions of all his most legendary creatures (Predator, Terminator), as well as the lesser know ones (Leviathan, The Relic). Crucially, the range of stills chosen covers every aspect of the design process, from his beautiful initial sketches and drawings, through the realisation and fabrication of the actual creatures, as well as some fantastic shots of the final, finished works (look out for the full-page still of 'Pumpkinhead'! All are reproduced in stunning clarity, and make the book worth the asking price alone.

Equally importantly, the text is detailed, fascinating and meticulously researched, with a great deal of behind-the-scenes insight.

All in all, a truly stunning book that is undeniably essenial reading for everyone who is interested in Stan Winston's legendary work.

[...]? Cheap at twice the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must have' book...., 22 Mar 2010
By 
An incredible book of work, a must for anybody 'into' Special Effects. Worth every penny, every page has photos and pre production drawings-its a sad loss he is no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant testament to a true master at work, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winston Effect: The Art and History of Stan Winston Studio (Hardcover)
This book does not just show the output of Stan Winston's achievements. It allows the reader more of a personal journey with Stan as he created his body of work.

One story stood out for me, and this was a thank you letter from a student who had rung up the helpline to get support with his coursework. The operator spent 45 minutes helping, advising and coaching. The student discovered he had been speaking to Stan himself who manned the helpline occasionally despite his lofty stature, because he was a true man of the people.

Stan Winston will be sadly missed. A gentleman, a genius and an artisan with both feet on the ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 14 Feb 2014
By 
J. ARCHIBALD (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am very happy with this book, as a signed limited edition it is in excellent condition and the contents are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, very inspiring for people interested in the art behind hollywood movies., 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winston Effect: The Art and History of Stan Winston Studio (Hardcover)
I bought this book earlier this year and found it to be an invaluable source for information on the art behind some of the best Hollywood movies
that Stan Winston studios had been involved with, It is very interesting to see a lot of talented artists and special effects wizards behind the scenes.
I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winston Effect: The Art and History of Stan Winston Studio (Hardcover)
Ordered this as a present ... It was very well received by the recipient .. very interesting. and detailed book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True Genious, 23 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I grew up with the films of Stan Winston films this superb book is a fitting tribute to a sfx god! it's a gift for my daughter who's in her first year of a sxf make-up course I know she will be blown away!
thankyou Stan for three decades of my life! may you rest in peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stan Winston. What a legacy., 9 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winston Effect: The Art and History of Stan Winston Studio (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book about Stan Winston's studio who have produced some amazing characters and creatures over the years. Stan Winston has sadly passed away but this book, written and available before his death highlights his imagination, knowledge and legacy very well.
It has some history about Stan and his life but most importantly the characters his studio produced in glorious pictures and explanitory text. It does not pretend to say that Mr Winston did everything himself, it showcases the talented people he chose for his studio and goes indepth to their talents.
There are also short contributions from directors such as James Cameron and various actors.
It is a luxury book, great glossy pages and a talking point if you show it off to fellow special effects fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Winston Effect: The Art and History of Stan Winston Studio
The Winston Effect: The Art and History of Stan Winston Studio by James Cameron (Hardcover - 24 Nov 2006)
£23.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews