Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book
I bought this book 3 years ago when I was applying to study law at University, it is still by far the best book I found and really helped me to understand the LNAT and what the examiner would be looking for. It made the whole process much easier and definitely let me know what to expect. I was one of the first years to take this exam and the whole process seemed very...
Published on 17 Aug 2009 by Ms. E. Smith

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars misleading
Considering how important the LNAT is to admissions processes, its sensible to aim high and attempt practice tests at a higher level than the standard. That being said, this book takes it a bit far and crosses the line between challenging and downright hard. The MCQ's are unnecessarily ambiguous but are explained still in the commentary. Although the advice on the essay...
Published on 29 Oct 2007 by A. Awe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 17 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. E. Smith (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mastering the National Admissions Test for Law (Paperback)
I bought this book 3 years ago when I was applying to study law at University, it is still by far the best book I found and really helped me to understand the LNAT and what the examiner would be looking for. It made the whole process much easier and definitely let me know what to expect. I was one of the first years to take this exam and the whole process seemed very daunting at first, but this book is easy to read and gives a huge number of practice papers making it a very good buy! I have just graduated from Birmingham University Law School and I couldn't have done it without this book helping me through the LNAT. I highly recommend it to anyone considering taking the LNAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars misleading, 29 Oct 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the National Admissions Test for Law (Paperback)
Considering how important the LNAT is to admissions processes, its sensible to aim high and attempt practice tests at a higher level than the standard. That being said, this book takes it a bit far and crosses the line between challenging and downright hard. The MCQ's are unnecessarily ambiguous but are explained still in the commentary. Although the advice on the essay section is helpful, the worked question in the sample tests are slightly pointless. A well researched, 1500 word essay, brimming with statistics as done by the author is hardly feasible in the time set in the exam. Buy this only if you want to be VERY pleasantly surprised in the exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 13 Jan 2008
This review is from: Mastering the National Admissions Test for Law (Paperback)
My daughter has just received an offer from Oxford and this book was invaluable in helping her prepare for the LNAT. When she first thought about applying she was really worried about the prospect of having to sit a test that she hadn't been taught for at school and the first textbook she found wasn't much help, but this one provides a really thorough guide as to what to expect and also has lots of well structured practice tests which otherwise seem quite hard to come by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Good and Bad, 26 Nov 2006
This review is from: Mastering the National Admissions Test for Law (Paperback)
The best bit about this book is the multiple choice questions - there are lots of them, and they do stick quite closely to the style of the LNAT. They are a bit formulaic, they do sometimes seem to put words in your mouth, and clearly they are no substitute for the official sample paper, but they still make for good practice.

The worst bit about this book is everything else. The so-called advice is largely mere grammar and spelling information, and the rest is much too formulaic to be useful when taking the test. Moreover, the sample essays (both questions and answers) are about as far away from the real thing as you can get. If it weren't for the multiple choice questions, I would wonder whether Mr. Shepherd had ever seen an LNAT paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could be much better...., 22 Oct 2006
This review is from: Mastering the National Admissions Test for Law (Paperback)
The amount of detail that this book goes into, along with the excellent essay sections, are what makes this book remotely worthwhile. However, the sample multiple choice questions and practice exams are, to be frank, ridiculously difficult compared to the real LNAT exams. It doesn't help your confidence and could decrease your performance and motivation if you take the difficulty level as featured in the book as being the difficulty level of the actual exam. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this book. The layout and style of writing give it the potential to have been great, but the sample questions - which is the number one thing that I look for in an LNAT book - are far too hard and can give a false perception of what the LNAT is like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for lots of practice, but a bit too difficult, 29 Oct 2008
This review is from: Mastering the National Admissions Test for Law (Paperback)
This is by far the best book on the market in terms of amount of practice. The only way to learn for these critical thinking style tests is to learn the skills and then practice practice practice. Five 2 hour long practice tests is more than ample. The explanations are helpful and the questions challenging.

However I then looked at the LNAT website's own online practice test. The passages were shorter, with more accessible language, and discarded many of the subtle nuances found in the Mastering the LNAT practice tests. While I agree that it is better to over prepare on harder questions and be pleasantly surprised, this is bordering on the ridiculous. By all means buy this book, it's great practice, but if you find it really very difficult, take it with a pinch of salt.

Also to anyone that has it: Practice Test 3, Question 3. Is this mis-worded? I think there is a typo that means both c and e are correct answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying for the practice MCQ tests..., 28 Oct 2009
This review is from: Mastering the National Admissions Test for Law (Paperback)
The five practice MCQ tests in this book are extremely helpful. They are consistent with the real LNAT test, though definitely have a higher proportion of the "harder", or more ambiguous questions. Still, this makes for stronger preparation and maybe even a pleasant surprise on the day of the test. In-depth explanations of the answers to each question are very good and were ideal in helping me to acquire the critical approach required to tackle the vaguer and more inference-based questions.

The other sections of the book, however, are less useful. A frankly patronising section on grammar and general writing could be helpful, but seems a little out of place. The questions themselves are good, but his sample responses, perhaps the most important part for some readers, are unrealistic to point of being useless. Other than to dishearten.

All for writing with the best applicants in mind and encouraging them to aim high, but reading Shepherd's well-researched, statistically rich, impossibly long resonses with the expectation that they will be something to aspire to is initially very depressing, then downright irritating. The LNAT website says that in the 40 minutes allowed candidates should write between 500 and 700 words. Shepherd's essays are closer to 1500.

He puts far too much emphaisis on factual knowledge as fundamental to the best essays, and, granted, for some of the questions that come up a sound knowledge base on the subject is essential, and is yet another way of showing admissions tutors evidence of an interest in the law and related subjects, but what they are actually looking for is clarity of thought and coherent written argument and expression. This can be shown with or without in-depth knowledge of a subject, and Shepherd is therefore quite misleading in suggesting that the best candidates will have a wealth of memorised statistics and Acts of law to their disposal.

As I say, though, the practice MCQ tests in this book are brilliant help in preparing for the LNAT. So long as you are not looking for particular guidance on the essay section, this is a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 2 Sep 2007
By 
A. Shah - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mastering the National Admissions Test for Law (Paperback)
This is an Excellent book! The LNAT is one of the most important exams if your serious about law and this helped me so much! It was the only one I used and I got into my chosen university!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the LNAT textbooks, 21 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Mastering the National Admissions Test for Law (Paperback)
Not sure that any book can really teach you how to prepare for the LNAT, but this one is by far the best of the three textbooks I have tried so far.

There are as many sample tests as you could ever want and full answers are provided for each. The MCQs are fairly difficult (although I'd definitely rather be pleasantly surprised when it comes to the actual test!) but stick well to the pattern of the other sample questions I have seen and are all logically explained.

The rest of the book is well written and easy to understand. All the questions I could think of were covered in detail and the section on writing essays has already proved useful for my History and English A-levels. Would definitely recommend to anyone preparing for the test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Train hard, fight easy (as they say in the Army)., 29 Jan 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering the National Admissions Test for Law (Paperback)
This book contains a lot of practice material. Unusually, it also contains useful information on results, which gives a good guide as to how you compare with other candidates. The questions are slightly harder than you will find on the LNAT itself; but it's probably better to be pleasantly surprised on the big day than thrown by anything more difficult than you've encountered before.

On the down side, there are some errors in editing, especially towards the end of the book; and, in common with similar publications, the advice on grammar is poor - some of it is wrong, some correct but with an inaccurate explanation.

This book won't give you a logical brain if you don't already possess one, nor could it really compensate if you haven't been taught how to read and write reasonably well by the time you apply to university. Preparing with this or similar books doesn't guarantee success; and a good score on the LNAT won't get you into a top university by itself. It shouldn't do you any harm if you use this book sensibly, however, and it might help you practise your technique and thus gain confidence. (I achieved 25/30 - the national average was 16.8 - and got a place at my first choice university.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mastering the National Admissions Test for Law
Mastering the National Admissions Test for Law by Mark Shepherd (Paperback - 14 July 2005)
Used & New from: 16.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews