Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Motyer Classic, 26 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. K. D. Mcilroy (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Isaiah By Day (Daily Readings) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent devotional guide and a perfect companion to Motyer's more technical work on the book of Isaiah ('TOTC' and 'The Prophecy of Isaiah'). You get Motyer's own translation of the Hebrew text with some notes in the margins related to language and occasion. A short introduction helps to guide the reader in how to get the most out of the book and gives the reader an idea of the structure of the book (as Motyer sees it). He divides the book into four main sections:

Chapters 1-5. Isaiah's preface
Chapters 6-37. The Book of the King
Chapters 38-55. The Book of the Servant
Chapters 56-66. The Book of the Conqueror

Anyone familiar with his larger commentary will recognise the structure above. Probably the most interesting section for the general reader will be the 'Thought for the day' that ends each daily section. These show a keen awareness of how Isaiah works within the whole biblical canon and they also give a practical challenge to greater devotion to Isaiah's LORD. Well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating reading, 9 Dec 2012
By 
D. Huddlestone "Bookworm" (Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isaiah By Day (Daily Readings) (Hardcover)
Easy to read, with brilliant up to date insights on this fascinating book of the Bible. I would recommend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent study guide giving opportunity to absorb content in daily study, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isaiah By Day (Daily Readings) (Hardcover)
This study of Isaiah has opened up new understanding to an older reader which has been easy to absorb and remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isaiah By The Day, 23 Aug 2012
By 
D. Cranston (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isaiah By Day (Daily Readings) (Hardcover)
A really great commentary by an outstanding author who was Principal of Trinity Theological College and an outstanding Hebrew scholar. Apart from the thought for the day after every passage, the footnotes which give the Hebrew meaning are very helpful. The translation is his, but he justifies it by explaining the meaning of the Hebrew words. Can be used as a daily devotional or for Bible study or for sermon preparation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, this was a second copy I bought ..., 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isaiah By Day (Daily Readings) (Hardcover)
Fantastic book, this was a second copy I bought for someone. Isaiah is such a key book in Scripture, but a challenge to tackle by any accounts. This book has really brought it to life for me, and having it in daily very manageable chunks makes Isaiah seem a much less daunting challenge. I highly recommended this book to everyone, from someone who is not an avid reader to the very experienced Pastor. Through this provider, it comes at a great price. Grab a bargain and benefit from the hard work and gift God has given Alec in compacting and yet opening out Isaiah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isaiah By Day (Daily Readings) (Hardcover)
it's very good daily devortion book Hewbrew commentary is bit disracting for devortional useneed extra time to go deeper if you like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best "Devotional" I've read!, 4 April 2013
This review is from: Isaiah By Day (Daily Readings) (Hardcover)
So simple, yet so profound. I imagine this must be like the experience of those first reading the Puritan's Geneva Bible before the King James version appeared, ie, it is simply annotated notes alongside the Scripture, but what notes! Alec Motyer puts his many years of preaching and teaching the book of Isaiah, to good use.

The translation is his own, not necessarily "better" than NASB, ESV, NKJV or NIV, but certainly fresh, and as he says "as close to being a literal translation as the language allows whilst remaining readable".
Yes, there are some idiosyncracies of language that I wasn't as comfortable with as in the aforementioned translations, God's "exasperation" for his anger, for instance, but Motyer always explains his reasons for using these, and they certainly made me think more.

With such a complex book as Isaiah, it is very helpful to have the breakdown into four sections that Motyer suggests: Chs 1-5, Isaiah's preface; Chs 6-37, The Book of the King; Chs 38-55, The Book of the Servant; and Chs 56-66, The Book of the Conqueror. He of course expands this helpful outline. His depth of insight is profound.

His "Thoughts for the day" are not at all trite (as in so many devotionals), but always very helpful and relevant in understanding and applying the section covered.

My only caveats would be that we need to remember that these are man's notes and not Scripture! We always need to check everything and realise that there are other Scripturally valid interpretations for some sections. However I still award this five stars for the wonderful depth my quiet times have taken whilst reading it. I only hope he will do more, of the same style, for other books of the Prophets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Isaiah By Day (Daily Readings)
Isaiah By Day (Daily Readings) by Motyer Alec (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2011)
12.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews