Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Readable and entertaining guide to a misunderstood book, 28 Jan 2001
Professor Davis is a marvellously entertaining writer who makes these Old Testament narratives live. Although he has all the technical resources to write an academic(and dull)tome his erudition is not displayed for effect. He also avoids the usual pompous conventions like the third person and the passive voice and concentrates on making his commentary explain. His big theme is that these narratives are not there to tell the stories of Ehud, Gideon and Samson. God is the hero throughout. It is the Lord who continually rescues a people sunk in sin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Window on the Old Testament, 18 Dec 2009
By 
M. A. Macleod - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDGES; SUCH A GREAT SALVATION (Focus on the Bible Commentaries) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book readily accessible to lay people; it emphasises the saving power of an infinitely loving God, the short memory of people whom he has rescued from dire situations and his holiness that cannot tolerate idolatry. The relevance for the 21st century is obvious.
I highly recommend this to everyone who seeks to understand that the God of the Old Testament is exactly the same God revealed in Jesus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you think Judges is boring, think again!, 31 May 2014
This review is from: JUDGES; SUCH A GREAT SALVATION (Focus on the Bible Commentaries) (Paperback)
The book of Judges tends to be a no go area where many modern Christians are concerned. For one there's far too much bloodshed for our modern sensibilities and two it's in the Old Testament which many ill-informed Christians tend to think of as confusing and boring. However, I defy anyone to say the book of Judges is boring after reading Dale Ralph Davis excellent commentary. As a commentary it ticks all the right boxes, the text is well explained and any issues with translation are dealt with. But to stop there would only be giving half the story because this is a lot of fun to read part from the many other issues. As always Dale Ralph Davis's sense of humour shines through but this hardly makes it a lightweight commentary as it never loses sight of God's grace and mercy towards His people even when they are at their worst! I found this incredibly helpful when I was doing a series of Bible studies in the book of Judges at the church I pastor and, as I've said already, it was certainly the most fun out of all the commentaries I had on Judges to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Daniel Pollin (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDGES; SUCH A GREAT SALVATION (Focus on the Bible Commentaries) (Paperback)
Judges is a book that does not lend itself to Sunday School colouring in! Yet there are some powerful redemptive themes flowing through it. D.R.Davis is a gifted commentator and this book is excellent for lay-readers through to Pastors. A clear succinct guide to Judges with useful illustrations that open up the book for preaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gideon, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Marcus McCollum (lisburn, Co. Antrim Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDGES; SUCH A GREAT SALVATION (Focus on the Bible Commentaries) (Paperback)
Very good commentary shedding light on this interesting interaction of God with his people demonstrating His love & patience through his chosen leaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, practical, God-glorifying stuff!, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDGES; SUCH A GREAT SALVATION (Focus on the Bible Commentaries) (Paperback)
Probably the most helpful commentary I've ever read! Really clear and faithful in unpacking the book of Judges and wonderfully practical, helping the reader to engage with Yahweh personally. I can definitely say it has helped to enlarge my view of God and feed my love of our jealously loving Father! Worth every penny and a lot more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars made the book of Judges live, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JUDGES; SUCH A GREAT SALVATION (Focus on the Bible Commentaries) (Paperback)
Brought the book of Judges to life. Made it relevant to present day Christian living. Lucid. Written in an easy to read style without being trite. One of the best books on Judges that I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing Judges to life big time., 22 Oct 2012
By 
Jake Price (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JUDGES; SUCH A GREAT SALVATION (Focus on the Bible Commentaries) (Paperback)
Judges is not a book that should need bringing back to life, in fact no book of the bible should! But in our complacency to truly get to grips with God's word, we often find ourselves ignorant to the wealth of God given lessons in books like Judges.

Dale Ralph Davis' treatment of Judges is absolutely fantastic, just like his book on Joshua did, it has opened my mind and heart to the lessons within that book I never quite got.

What I love about Davis' commentaries are the fact that they are so easy to read, and so approachable, they are very far from the dry and dusty reads I thought such commentaries must be like.

Once again Davis' has done it, an excellent commentary that sheds loads of light on an often misunderstood book. I recommend it highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

JUDGES; SUCH A GREAT SALVATION (Focus on the Bible Commentaries)
JUDGES; SUCH A GREAT SALVATION (Focus on the Bible Commentaries) by DAVIS DALE RALPH (Paperback - 1 Nov 2009)
9.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews