Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who like sketching and starting to explore location drawing, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sketch Your World: Drawing techniques for great results on the go (Paperback)
Length:: 1:18 Mins

Sketching Your World is a book of sketching tips and techniques from London-based artist, journalist and Urban Sketcher James Hobbs.

This book is focused on outdoor sketching, location sketching or even urban sketching as it's becoming popularly known.

There are 176 pages with 12 chapters. Each chapter has several topics with each around two pages. This book is essentially a bundle of tips really, with some techniques mentioned but not really technical. So it's an easy breezy read.

You'll get the most out of it if you already know some basics to drawing.

The book talks about the various aspects of location sketching. It covers things like dealing with onlookers, training your observational skills, provides examples of places where you can draw and how you should approach drawing them, talks about reportage drawing, using digital tools for sketching, and getting active online to either share your work or check out other urban sketchers. Several artist profiles are featured as well.

Each topic is rather brief but there are some interesting ideas and suggestions to work on from reading the tips.

The illustrated examples are nice, nothing too overwhelming or anything that you cannot achieve. It's interesting to look at styles of different artists and how they translate the scenes they see onto paper.

I'll recommend the book to those who like sketching and who are starting to explore location drawing.

(Check out more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Marjorie Allan (Lanarkshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sketch Your World: Drawing techniques for great results on the go (Paperback)
Got so much from just skimming through this book as haven't had a lot of time to go through it in detail, but it has got me started on a brief sketch a day and trying to get on a sketchcrawl. I just have to remember the sketches are for my benefit and it doesn't matter if no-one else sees them or likes them. Best of James Hobbs' books I've looked at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and motivating, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Sue Pownall (05003 Avila, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sketch Your World: Drawing techniques for great results on the go (Paperback)
This book is a great addition to anyone's bookshelf, whether they are have an interest in art, or are a novice or practising artist.

The text is well-written and the choice of accompaning illustrations are superb. Together they provide great inspiration along with the motivation to grab pen & paper and start drawing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, helpful and encouraging., 21 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sketch Your World: Drawing techniques for great results on the go (Paperback)
I have two degrees in fine art but have never been confident about drawing. Now hoping to embark on doctoral study I have decided to try and overcome my inhibitions. I have tried several books without success, but can really recommend James Hobbs' book. It has worked for me - not because I am now producing beautiful representational drawings, but because it has given me the confidence to find my own style and technique (which to my surprise has turned out to be digital drawing). Thank you James.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Encourages you to get out and draw...., 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sketch Your World: Drawing techniques for great results on the go (Paperback)
A good primer for anyone who would like to join the movement to get out in an urban environment and sketch. Not too scary or technical but you probably need to have done some basic drawing first. Shows a range of styles and examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book., 10 Feb 2014
By 
Telmo Bento Ferreira (Ponta Delgada, Azores PT) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sketch Your World: Drawing techniques for great results on the go (Paperback)
It's a nice approach towards the sketching world. It focus not only on nice draings but on diferrent materials and thematics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sketch Your World: Drawing techniques for great results on the go (Paperback)
This book is for people who are more like beginners and less experienced than I am, however I still found a lot of it useful for developing new techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book..., 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sketch Your World: Drawing techniques for great results on the go (Paperback)
I found this book really inspirational and while I'm a complete novice to drawing, this book was not at all intimidating. If anything, it gives you the confidence to just get out there and draw!
The thing I loved most about this book is the selection of sketches, by a selection of different artists. This gives you the confidence to find your own artistic style, as it's not about perfection or having an artistic masterpiece every time, it's about you and your own personal sketchbook.
I can't praise this book enough, simply looking through it without reading anything can be inspirational - Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sketch Your World: Drawing techniques for great results on the go (Paperback)
AOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sketch Your World: Drawing techniques for great results on the go
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews