Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually about making pasta
Unlike many books that claim to be about making pasta, and turn out to be mostly recipes for dishes using pasta, this book actually is about making fresh pasta. And not just italian pasta, but other similar "pastas" from all over the world, such as Udon noodles, gnocchi, dumplings from Europe and Asia, which adds a new level to the book beyond what you might expect of a...
Published 17 months ago by M C

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Expensive and really only for those serious about pasta making
Published 9 days ago by Sue Tunnicliffe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually about making pasta, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Fresh Pasta: Delicious Handmade, Homemade Recipes (Paperback)
Unlike many books that claim to be about making pasta, and turn out to be mostly recipes for dishes using pasta, this book actually is about making fresh pasta. And not just italian pasta, but other similar "pastas" from all over the world, such as Udon noodles, gnocchi, dumplings from Europe and Asia, which adds a new level to the book beyond what you might expect of a normal pasta book.

The book describes how to use a pasta machine, and it often will make your life easier to use one, but it is only required for maybe one recipe for squid ink pasta.

As another reviewer has mentioned, this book goes by the name of Making Artisan Pasta in the US. Bizzarely this book is now listed on amazon in the UK, even though it's the same, for a higher price - although it does also have a kindle edition. From that product's page you can use the look inside this book feature to read some of the first section of the book. As you can see it goes into a decent level of detail about types of flour and the effect they have on your pasta, egg sizes and everything

The author introduces her own pasta flour mix including things like semolina, unbleached flour, italian 00 flour etc. I have been perfectly happy with bread flour so haven't tried her mix, but may give this a try to see the difference.
Edit: I now use Sainsbury's "taste the difference" pasta flour which is so much easier to work with than bread flour, and the cheapest such flour I can find

The book then goes on to list a wide variety of ways to colour (and mildly flavour) pasta, for example beetroot pasta, red pepper, spinach.

After this, there are sections for making different shapes and styles of pasta. Noodle style, shapes, sheets, dumplings and stuffed pastas.

There are a few basic recipes for sauce on one page. For the stuffed pasta, the steps for making the pasta also include the steps for the stuffing that is suggested to go inside them. I would have liked to see a few different stuffing recipes listed separately as well as obviously there is plenty of freedom to put in a different stuffing.

There are a number of tools and techniques employed in the book. From the simple fluted pastry / pasta wheel, the ravioli tray and stamp, to the more specialist machines. The latter are interesting, but I can't really see myself buying a machine just to curl pasta into one specific shape (and you will probably have difficulty trying to source such a contraption for a reasonable price)

The style of writing in the book does show through as being a little Americanised and targeted at the American audience, but it doesn't really matter. Clearly the author has spent a lot of time in Italy, although it would be interesting to hear what an 'authentic Italian Nonna' would make of some of the suggestions - I really don't know and it's probably not that important. I think making pasta in this day and age is more about the enjoyment of making it and whether or not you enjoy the end result rather than sticking to tradition.

All of the measurements are provided in grams and oz, although I would like to see some more round numbers of grams which would make the recipes easier to recall. Although I feel when you get into making pasta properly the recipe can only ever be a guide and you tend to feel the way the dough reacts rather than needing to measure all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Pasta Lovers, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Fresh Pasta: Delicious Handmade, Homemade Recipes (Paperback)
If you want a book about making pasta sauces, this is not for you , but if you want a book detailing how to make different types of pasta, from Lasagna to Tortellini, Gnocchi to Caramelle this book is a MUST buy.
From what I can see this book is very similar to Making Artisan Pasta by Aliza Green (I think 'Making Artisan Pasta' is the American version of this excellent book.)
Although this is predominately a book about making pasta, there are also recipes for suitable sauce for different types of pasta.
In conclusion this is a great book, one that I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Fresh Pasta: Delicious Handmade, Homemade Recipes (Paperback)
Great book for making pasta from scratch. Tells you everything you need to know and much more. Some very exciting different types of pasta that I have never seen or heard about. If you are planning on making your own pasta then get this book great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For pasta lovers, 18 Feb 2012
This review is from: Making Fresh Pasta: Delicious Handmade, Homemade Recipes (Paperback)
Perfect for pasta lovers who want to make the pasta dough themselves. Full of pictures and recipes you wouldn't even expect to find in a pasta book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pasta cookbook, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Fresh Pasta: Delicious Handmade, Homemade Recipes (Paperback)
This seems to be an excellent book for what I want which is for a complete novice learning to make my own pasta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making Fresh Past, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Fresh Pasta: Delicious Handmade, Homemade Recipes (Paperback)
Helpful book which was a present to my daughter. She was interested by the fact that pasta can be made with vegetables for different colours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Fresh Pasta: Delicious Handmade, Homemade Recipes (Paperback)
super gift - bought it for my cousin, he is delighted - a geeks guide to pasta making! all i have to do now is get him all the gadgets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful pasta making book., 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Fresh Pasta: Delicious Handmade, Homemade Recipes (Paperback)
Quite a good, easy to follow, pasta recipe book. Good value for money and although quite small, it is informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full of ideas!, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Fresh Pasta: Delicious Handmade, Homemade Recipes (Paperback)
for everyone that never thought they would have been capable of making delicious pasta dishes! this book is very inspiring and full of ideas to make delicious pasta!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Fresh Pasta: Delicious Handmade, Homemade Recipes (Paperback)
I bought this book as a present for my son who already makes his own pasta. He loved the different ideas and is enjoying using the easy to follow recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making Fresh Pasta: Delicious Handmade, Homemade Recipes
Making Fresh Pasta: Delicious Handmade, Homemade Recipes by Aliza Green (Paperback - 1 Jan 2012)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews