Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tracey Mann, I salute you!
I absolutely love this book. It does not have pages and pages of pictures of finished cakes. It enables you to develop your skills by showing how to carry out a particular task. It has everything for anyone serious about cakes. It is such an easy book to read and the instructions are crystal clear. It's also aimed predominantly at the UK market, which makes sourcing...
Published on 25 Jan. 2012 by Mary Seacole

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cake decorating skills by Tracey Mann
Definitely a book for the beginner very basic (although the instructions are clear and well presented). Not many pictures of finished cakes or recipes. If you already have several books covering the basics of cake decorating I would not bother to purchase this one. If you are a beginner and want something to start you off then this may very well fit the bill.
Published on 26 July 2012 by Karen E. Blunden


Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tracey Mann, I salute you!, 25 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake Decorating Skills (Hardcover)
I absolutely love this book. It does not have pages and pages of pictures of finished cakes. It enables you to develop your skills by showing how to carry out a particular task. It has everything for anyone serious about cakes. It is such an easy book to read and the instructions are crystal clear. It's also aimed predominantly at the UK market, which makes sourcing stuff a lot easier.

It starts right from the beginning as to what tools you need, shaping cakes, recipe for cakes and icing, shaping, using cutters and moulds, colouring icing, tempering chocolate, etc right down to the designing and packaging of cakes. I could go on and on (and on!).

It is split into eight chapters that are each jam-packed with lots of information under the headings: Getting started, covering the cake, piping, colouring, sugarcraft techniques, basic modelling, making flowers, and chocolate.

I make cakes for a living and I've struggled to find an up-to-date book so much information. I'm not a fan of crimped icing, and there's none in this book! I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to a novice and experienced baker alike. An exceptionally modern book at a bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fanstastic book, 8 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake Decorating Skills (Hardcover)
first of all i borrowed this book from the libary and i liked it so much i decided to buy it ,and i found it to be the cheapest on amazon.It shows you some fanstastic skills in a good detail,and they are easy to follow with photos.some of which i have always wondered how they were done and now i know that its easier than you think i generally make cakes for friends and family and i find this book a great help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to make your wife happy, 21 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake Decorating Skills (Hardcover)
For many years now my wife has made and iced cakes, usually for family and friends. I saw this book in a Cake Craft magazine and on Amazon where the latter mentioned chocolate flowers and Kate (the wife) did not have a book that covered that. She has now, this one and she is over the moon with it. Kate is the throes of making a 3 tiered (one on top of the other) wedding cake for our eldest Grandaughter and would you believe,this book gives tips on setting one up. Don't look for too many pictures, the emphasis on what to do and how to do it, all in easy to understand language. Very much a "must have" book for the cake icing ladies (and men)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cake decorating skills by Tracey Mann, 26 July 2012
By 
Karen E. Blunden (hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cake Decorating Skills (Hardcover)
Definitely a book for the beginner very basic (although the instructions are clear and well presented). Not many pictures of finished cakes or recipes. If you already have several books covering the basics of cake decorating I would not bother to purchase this one. If you are a beginner and want something to start you off then this may very well fit the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Little Book!, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake Decorating Skills (Hardcover)
A fantastic book! Well worth getting, especially if like me you are a beginner. I bought this after getting it out of the library because it covered every aspect of cake making/decorating for the beginner. I'm sure you will not regret buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good reference book, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake Decorating Skills (Hardcover)
this book is an excellent reference book for the amateur baker. it arrived well packaged and in good time. well worth getting as gives plenty of inspiration for the amateur baker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab book, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake Decorating Skills (Hardcover)
i loved this book, have quite a few cake decorating skills but this added to them. lovely photos and would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake Decorating Skills (Hardcover)
Great book again got it for a course that the wife is doing and she really gets the most out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cake Decorating Skills
Cake Decorating Skills by Tracey Mann (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2011)
Used & New from: £4.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews