Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last, a book that caters for my sons allergies
This is a brilliant book in my opinion. My little one is allergic to a whole host of things including Milk, Wheat, Eggs and Barley. These 4 alone make buying foods and even finding recipes, particularly for baked goods, rather difficult.

This book seems to be the answer. Cooked 3 things so far and the recipies are easy to follow and have worked. The tastes...
Published on 27 Aug 2010 by Wigs

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Caution - not all receipes are allergen free as stated
The book clearly states that all recipes are gluten-free and contain NO wheat, eggs, dairy, soy, peanuts, fish, treenuts and shellfish. However, after a quick flick through my copy of the book I have identified two (there may be more) recipes which contain some of these allergens. On page 124 - the recipe for Fettucine Alfredo lists ingredients containing gluten, wheat...
Published on 19 Nov 2010 by K


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Caution - not all receipes are allergen free as stated, 19 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Allergy-Free Cookbook for Kids: 150 Recipes That Are Free of the 8 Most Common Allergens (Paperback)
The book clearly states that all recipes are gluten-free and contain NO wheat, eggs, dairy, soy, peanuts, fish, treenuts and shellfish. However, after a quick flick through my copy of the book I have identified two (there may be more) recipes which contain some of these allergens. On page 124 - the recipe for Fettucine Alfredo lists ingredients containing gluten, wheat and dairy and the recipe for Chinese Pork Soup on page 151 lists tamari as an ingredient. Tamari is made from soy (indeed it contains more soy than normal soy sauce).
I am very concerned about errors in this book. This recipe book is designed to help those feeding children with food allergies. Food allergies can cause illness and can even be fatal. People who may be less observant or understand less about food allergies (grandparents/ friends etc) may make these recipes for children with allergies without realising that they could cause them harm.
I will be returning my copy of the book. If you do decide to buy this item then I recommend you read the recipes and check ingredients carefully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last, a book that caters for my sons allergies, 27 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Allergy-Free Cookbook for Kids: 150 Recipes That Are Free of the 8 Most Common Allergens (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book in my opinion. My little one is allergic to a whole host of things including Milk, Wheat, Eggs and Barley. These 4 alone make buying foods and even finding recipes, particularly for baked goods, rather difficult.

This book seems to be the answer. Cooked 3 things so far and the recipies are easy to follow and have worked. The tastes are often different to non allergy varieties but when you don't use eggs, wheat, milk or butter in a recipe that's to be expected. But as my little one has never eaten any of them and has for the first time been able to participate in proper cooking he's been more than willing to eat and has enjoyed everything we've done so far.

I love the variety of snacks, cakes, biscuits in this. My only criticism is that there aren't too many main meals but on the whole I've not had much difficulty coming up with allergy friendly variants, its the baked items that have caused the most difficulty to me.

Well worth it and f you shop around on Amazon you can get it for a very reasonable price for the size of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book needs to be re-written, 3 April 2012
This review is from: The Allergy-Free Cookbook for Kids: 150 Recipes That Are Free of the 8 Most Common Allergens (Paperback)
There are recipes in this book that contain many of the top allergens that are supposed to be left out of this book. The description of the book is wrong, as there are lots, even in the preview pages on amazon. There is no way that you could trust these recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 25 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Allergy-Free Cookbook for Kids: 150 Recipes That Are Free of the 8 Most Common Allergens (Paperback)
Do NOT buy this. A lot of the recipes have wheat, dairy, egg etc. A complete waste of money. A lot of these recipes I would say in my opinion are not nutritionally balanced either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Allergy Free Book, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Allergy-Free Cookbook for Kids: 150 Recipes That Are Free of the 8 Most Common Allergens (Paperback)
My grandson is allergic to dairy including eggs. He is also allergic to the soya which replaces milk, and nuts, so this book has been helpful in sorting some recipes for us to use. As yet I haven't had the opportunity to use many of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars allelrgy free kids cook book, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Allergy-Free Cookbook for Kids: 150 Recipes That Are Free of the 8 Most Common Allergens (Paperback)
A great help to my daughter who prefers home cooking and has a 18 month old allergic to 5 different foods. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars cooking for kids, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Allergy-Free Cookbook for Kids: 150 Recipes That Are Free of the 8 Most Common Allergens (Paperback)
With the every growing problems for children and the allergies. This is a good book to have so you can give your children good food without the risks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for cakes and sweets, 17 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Allergy-Free Cookbook for Kids: 150 Recipes That Are Free of the 8 Most Common Allergens (Paperback)
I've had this book for about 2 years and have tried many of the recipes (my son is allergic to nuts, dairy, egg, gluten/wheat, legumes, sesame & poppyseed etc). At first I found some of the cakes a little sugary for a youngster but now he is nearly 3 i don't mind a little sugar for him and besides they turn out fine with less sugar anyway. I've also given this book to my sons nursery and they have made several recipes. Based on previous reviewers saying some recipes contain the top allergens, I don't mind because I must always be careful at checking ingredients since my son is allergic to more than the top ones. As with anyone with severe allergies you get used to checking everything first! My son loves the choc-chip cookies as well as the wonder-cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9d907dc8)

This product

The Allergy-Free Cookbook for Kids: 150 Recipes That Are Free of the 8 Most Common Allergens
Used & New from: 4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews