Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2010
Important to note the book also covers Canoes (Open tops) too.

This book was exactly what I needed to guide me through the kayak learning process. It begins with equipment an clothing basics, providing good information on how to select what's right for you. It thenproceeds step by step through other basics of kayak ownership, different paddle strokes, rolls, safety and rescues. Excellent photographs illustrate everything perfectly

This book ought to be text book for anyone taking their One star BCU Kayak course - it covers it all and its is interesting to read too.

I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who's considering buying a kayak or just starting out with one.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2010
Why am I sitting here typing into the computer, when I could be out kayaking ???
Loved the book, very clearly explained, comprehensive, good illustrations and photos.
Totally inspiring ! Makes you want to head out to the nearest stretch of water !
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Don't get caught out like me by judging this book by its cover !

This is a nice little book in hard back. Its content & photograph instruction is clear & exactly what I was after. Excellent, I can't fault it.
However, What does grate me is that this book is in disguise & is already out there cheaper. If you are after its content for instruction then get Kayaking and Canoeing for Beginners by Bill Mattos. It is the EXACT same book only with a different cover & title, is softback, bigger but more importantly half the price.

I unfortunately have two books the same because Amazon did not highlight the fact that this is one & the same book with a name change & cover change.

Happy Paddling everyone, Boon.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
The book sets out to explain in text and pictures exactly what you need to know, and how to do it.
It is excellently written and illustrated.
A very good intro, to a great sport or pastime.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
Having had 1 lesson and buying my first kayak, I found this book covered all the areas in my lesson, which is great to have at hand to read just to keep it in your head.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
I bought a touring kayak last year, so I bought this book and the Haynes Kayaking Manual to help get me started. They are both similar, and although the Haynes Manual contains more detail, I preferred this one as an initial starting point. It is more matter of fact and told me all the basics without overwhelming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Bought for £1 in Salvation Army. 128 pages, 400+ colour photos. Hardback w/dustcover. Printed in Egypt. The font size used throughout this book is the smallest I have ever seen, or rather NOT seen. I'm 65 and use 3x reading glasses, but still had to read this with a magnifying glass.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
As a Level 3 Coach I am always looking for new material to use especially at entry level kayaking/canoeing this book is really good with plenty of good quality photographs easy to follow dialogue. The book is better than some other Manuals.
Phil Edwards Coach level 3
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Just bought my first yak at the ripe old age of forty-ish. This book is a great source of hints, tips and instruction.

Definitely worth a look if you are new to Kayaking (also has section on canoeing).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2010
The book is well written with good illustrations and pictures.
I was not expecting stuff on open canoes in the book though, the title leads you to believe it is kayaks we are dealing with. A bit more meat in the technique sections would be good.
It is a good enough read for someone totally new to the sport and will give them the basics.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)