Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for those starting out or an old experienced hand!
I am a huge chutney fan and decided that it was time I learned to make my own! Not knowing where to start I decided a couple of books would be a good investment.

This is a great book for a novice!

The book starts with an introduction section to jars, sterilizing, basic techniques, fruit/veg/spices. The section is easy to read, informative and not too...
Published on 10 Sep 2009 by ratscat13

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great recipes...
My first attempt at chutneys and pickles and this book had some great ideas. A couple of recipes I've had to fiddle around with but that can make it more fun if you have the confidence to do it. I would have liked more recipes and less info at the beginning...
Published 14 months ago by Yvette Kay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for those starting out or an old experienced hand!, 10 Sep 2009
By 
ratscat13 "ratscat13" (North East Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pickles, Relishes & Chutneys: Step-by-Step Recipes for Home Preserving (Hardcover)
I am a huge chutney fan and decided that it was time I learned to make my own! Not knowing where to start I decided a couple of books would be a good investment.

This is a great book for a novice!

The book starts with an introduction section to jars, sterilizing, basic techniques, fruit/veg/spices. The section is easy to read, informative and not too advanced or condescending to most readers. It is also not too long that people who have been making pickles and chutneys for years won't feel they have lost valuable recipe space. Plus there are a few extra recipes snuck in here too!

The main section of the book is split into sections on pickles, chutneys, relishes etc and the recipes are simply explained and easy to follow.

I have become a mad chutney maker as a result of the book reading up on what to make next!

This is a must for all chutney fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good all rounder, 18 Dec 2009
By 
philip davies (newport United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pickles, Relishes & Chutneys: Step-by-Step Recipes for Home Preserving (Hardcover)
Although my wife is an excellent cook and I'm no mean shakes myself when she lets me loose, neither of us have done much by way of making our own pickles. We bought this book as we thought it would provide a good introduction to the various techniques and so it has proved. There is a generous amount of information to get you started, which is easy to follow and well illustrated. The recipe section contains a sufficiently broad cross-section to cater for just about everyone's tastes, and again, although we've yet to try many of them, the instructions look pretty clear and straightforward. It's just what we were looking for but, if you're already an accomplished pickler, it may be a tad basic for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must, 27 Aug 2010
This review is from: Pickles, Relishes & Chutneys: Step-by-Step Recipes for Home Preserving (Hardcover)
For me this book was fantastic. I had never made chutneys or jelly preserve and it was so clear that I had no problem following the instructions. I'm hooked! A must for anyone starting out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous for your health!, 5 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Pickles, Relishes & Chutneys: Step-by-Step Recipes for Home Preserving (Hardcover)
I bought this for my partner. She has never used any cookery book so heavily and we have found some of the recipes fascinating to make and the results wonderful to eat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very attractive recipe book, 28 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pickles, Relishes & Chutneys: Step-by-Step Recipes for Home Preserving (Hardcover)
Having suddenly become interested in making relishes and chutneys I sent off for two recipe books. Both arrived but I was drawn more to Catherine Atkinson's Step-by-step.Recipes for Home Preserving. Its a hardback and every page is colour illustrated with the step by step instructions and the final result. The recipes look lovely for the categories of home preserving it covers. As I say I'm interested more in chutneys at the moment. I can recommend this book for beginners especially, but anyone of any ability will find it a nice book to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ab Fab!!, 6 Nov 2011
By 
Cheshire Cat (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pickles, Relishes & Chutneys: Step-by-Step Recipes for Home Preserving (Hardcover)
As Craig Revel-Horwood would say, this book is 'fab...u...LUSS darling'!! Inspirational, and excellent information with each recipe and elsewhere, which makes it great for the experienced cook but also for the beginner :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chutney book, 4 Oct 2010
This review is from: Pickles, Relishes & Chutneys: Step-by-Step Recipes for Home Preserving (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book, easy to go by if your a beginner, have already made all the chutney's we need for the rest of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Malcolm H. Smith "Mal" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pickles, Relishes & Chutneys: Step-by-Step Recipes for Home Preserving (Hardcover)
This item arrived so quickly I almost had to beat the flames off the packaging when it arrived!. The book is great full of great photography and helpful hints and tips not to mention the varied recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: Pickles, Relishes & Chutneys: Step-by-Step Recipes for Home Preserving (Hardcover)
This book on home preserving was bought as a gift and was well received. It contains useful tips and recipes. I was a little disappointed in that it was a small paper back, which I hadn't realised from the description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pickles and chutneys, 14 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pickles, Relishes & Chutneys: Step-by-Step Recipes for Home Preserving (Hardcover)
~While this book is an attractive additionto my bookshelf, I was a bit disappointed to find there is nothing new inside.Having said that, I will say, the recipes do work, and the results are tasty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pickles, Relishes & Chutneys: Step-by-Step Recipes for Home Preserving
Pickles, Relishes & Chutneys: Step-by-Step Recipes for Home Preserving by Catherine Atkinson (Hardcover - 29 Aug 2008)
Used & New from: £4.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews