Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


135 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute essential for all fledgling jewellery makers
Whilst the "Search Inside" option gave some indication as to the quality of this book, I was blown away by the sheer depth of information and guidance.

The book is split down into 34 units with 6 practical projects that cross reference with the techniques taught. The units take you through the complete process, from finding inspiration, evaluating &...
Published on 22 Oct 2008 by Mrs Bad Crumble

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more silversmithing than beading
I found this book rather daunting and had more techniques than I wished. If you are a beginner with little formal tuition thena book describing beading and gems to start with was more what I had in mind, which I did manage to source. This book describes expensive equipment more the sort of thing for a business than I had in mind, but that's just me I needed a more basic...
Published on 7 Jan 2012 by rosyred


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

135 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute essential for all fledgling jewellery makers, 22 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jewellery Making: A Complete Course for Beginners (Hardcover)
Whilst the "Search Inside" option gave some indication as to the quality of this book, I was blown away by the sheer depth of information and guidance.

The book is split down into 34 units with 6 practical projects that cross reference with the techniques taught. The units take you through the complete process, from finding inspiration, evaluating & translating ideas through to transferring patterns, piercing, annealing, soldering, filing and many much more. Everything is laid out in an uncluttered fashion with lots of photos so you can be sure you are following correctly whilst the text is written at just the right level - neither patronizing or too advanced.

I must confess I am only a beginner so cannot really comment on what it offers those slightly more advanced, however it does seem to have so much information that even once my confidence and skill grows I'll still be referring back to this.

A beautiful, informative book that I would highly recommend to all would-be jewellery designers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gain confidence with jewellery making, 15 Nov 2008
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jewellery Making: A Complete Course for Beginners (Hardcover)
With its attractive cover, I know you will pick this book up off the bookshop shelf if you are the least bit interested in jewellery making. From design ideas and inspiration, this book aims to take the jewellery maker through the whole process from start to finish. Comprehensive chapters include setting up a studio, materials, tools and techniques. Although it covers some of the same area as Elizabeth Olver's book Jewellery Making Techniques, the two books do not overlap too much and complement one another perfectly. The projects are laid out in easy to follow steps and the finished samples and steps are clearly photographed. You could easily use it as a week by week course. This practical book will be very useful to all jewellery makers. It's great value for money. This book would have been more rounded and complete if it had included more sources of inspiration and a good sources listing, however it does mention just a few magazines, books and website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book but caution!, 18 Dec 2009
This review is from: Jewellery Making: A Complete Course for Beginners (Hardcover)
This book is great as it is described by others. However DON'T order both this and the "Start Making Jewellery: Make Your Own Beautiful Jewellery by Nicola Hurst", because however they are from different authors, they are from the same editor and they are very similar in structure, they even have some pictures the same. They are so similar that i can't tell you now that i ve just looked at them which is better,they are both great. I will leave the same comment review to the other book too, in order to prwvent others from buying so similar books together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 23 May 2009
This review is from: Jewellery Making: A Complete Course for Beginners (Hardcover)
As a hobbyist who attends evening classes for silversmithing I can honestly say this book is ideal for the beginner. The beginning was particularly useful to me as I have to produce a workbook for an accredited course - it deals with inspiration and how to come up with sketches and ideas - which was great for me. The rest of the book covers both the tools you might choose to purchase (ranking these in importance, which I thought was a good idea) and then basically covers every technique you could possibly think of. Each section provides a very clear list of items needed and is set out in a very clear, easily accessible way. The projects at the back are all do-able and draw upon the explanations given throughout the book. The illustrations also provide some interesting examples of jewellery which certainly gave me some inspiration. It is one of the better examples of its kind, in my humble opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow !!!, 26 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jewellery Making: A Complete Course for Beginners (Hardcover)
Jewellery Making: A Complete Course for Beginners

Wow! That was my reaction when I opened this book. It's visually stimulating as well as informative. My head is spinning with new creative ideas, ready to design. I'm curently attending a Jewellery Making Class at college & this book will greatly enhance my knowledge & techniques on the subject. It covers skills & techniques I've been taught & also many more that are new to me. This " little Gem" is great Value from Amazon, as it's being sold at a higher price in shops on the Highstreet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jewellery Making by Jinks McGrath, 19 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Jewellery Making: A Complete Course for Beginners (Hardcover)
Good book for beginners and beyond. Informative and nicely displayed pages. Each Unit has great advice which is well set out and easily understood. All the lessons and projects are achieveable. This is a great starting place, to build on and a great reference guide for any student. It is a good investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 9 July 2009
This review is from: Jewellery Making: A Complete Course for Beginners (Hardcover)
Really nice book for anyone interested in making Jewellery. I am taking a class and found it to be a great addition to my classes as it gave me more ideas to ask my teacher about. The pictures are nice and I would recommend to anyone interested in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for all fledgling jewellery makers, but watch out, is same book as The Complete Jewelry Making Course: Principles..., 7 Dec 2009
This review is from: Jewellery Making: A Complete Course for Beginners (Hardcover)
A must-have for all fledgling jewellery makers, but watch out, "Jewellery Making: A Complete Course for Beginners" by Jinks McGrath is exactly the same book as "The Complete Jewelry Making Course: Principles, Practice and Techniques: A Beginner's Course for Aspiring Jewelry Makers" by Jinks McGrath (Paperback - Nov 2007).

I made the mistake of buying both books at the bookfair in college in the summer. In fact I have two duplicate sets of jewellery books bought at the same bookfair. The other set is "Jewellery Materials Sourcebook" by Anastasia Young and its American twin "Jewelry Techniques: The Essential Guide to Choosing and Using Materials, Stones, and Settings" by Anastasia Young. Seems that there exists a custom of altering book titles either side of the Atlantic. - I also have a set of twin basketry books by one of our tutors here at City Lit, London!

All this aside, buy one or the other of Jinks McGrath's beginners jewellery books: an excellent and beautifully presented resource for the budding jeweller!

(And I will continue to give the two words their UK spelling, with two 'l's and three 'e's, in spite of what the spell-check says!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 5 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Jewellery Making: A Complete Course for Beginners (Hardcover)
One for the would-be jeweller of the future,(again on the to-do list when I retire) well illustrated. Quality in content and construct, just what a beginner needs as a useful spring board into more advanced attempts in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 16 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Jewellery Making: A Complete Course for Beginners (Hardcover)
Just started a silversmithing course and this book has it all. It is simple, beautifully laid out, filled with design ideas and the technical part is broken down into section for easy referencing. You simply can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jewellery Making: A Complete Course for Beginners
Jewellery Making: A Complete Course for Beginners by Jinks McGrath (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2007)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews