Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good place to start
This book is perfect for people who are confident with basic kitchen skills and have a little time to invest. The recipes, processes and instructions are all clear, and produce high-quality chocolates. There's a good overview of tempering, working with chocolate, and matching chocolate and flavours.

What this book isn't is a book of shortcuts or quick fixes -...
Published on 10 Sep 2008 by S. Butland

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Product
I bought this book as a beginner to chocolate making but as someone who is fairly good in the kitchen. I opened it and some of the recipes looked brilliant, and the instructions were also good and clear, and helped by illustrations, However It is an American Book and has alot of American names for things, Such as 'Heavy Cream' which is not a problem if you can relate...
Published on 18 Oct 2010 by Jim Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good place to start, 10 Sep 2008
By 
S. Butland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Fine Chocolates: Flavour-infused Chocolates, Truffles and Confections (Paperback)
This book is perfect for people who are confident with basic kitchen skills and have a little time to invest. The recipes, processes and instructions are all clear, and produce high-quality chocolates. There's a good overview of tempering, working with chocolate, and matching chocolate and flavours.

What this book isn't is a book of shortcuts or quick fixes - and none the worse for that in my opinion, but don't buy this if you are looking to go into mass production for the school fete!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good introduction, 3 May 2008
This review is from: Making Fine Chocolates: Flavour-infused Chocolates, Truffles and Confections (Paperback)
This is an excellent introduction to the making of hand-made chocolates, covering the making of truffles, hand-dipped and moulded chocolates. But be aware - it is the same book as the 2007 "Making Artisan Chocolates" by the same author. If you own one book, you own them both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for exciting chocolates, 15 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Fine Chocolates: Flavour-infused Chocolates, Truffles and Confections (Paperback)
This is a great book explaining the precise method for making truffles, filled chocolates and hand dipped chocolates, including a basic ganache filling and several very exotic recipes including Mango, Mint & Coriander (that's all in one chocolate!) and Jasmine Tea.

My only complaint is that I'd probably have liked one or two more classic fillings (i.e. peppermint cream, liquid caramel) so I could start simple. That's probably just a question of taste though, as I am not a fan of boozy, fruity or coffee chocolates, and many of the recipes in this book incorporate one or more of these elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction to Chocolate Making, 16 Jun 2008
This review is from: Making Fine Chocolates: Flavour-infused Chocolates, Truffles and Confections (Paperback)
This book is a great introduction to chocolate making. It has a brief but concise introduction on the process of making chocolate from the bean, the components of dark, milk and white chocolates and also about pairing chocolate with wine/ beer!

I've successfully made several batches of chocolates. The instructions are clear and concise and the book covers truffles, moulded chocolates and hand dipped chocolates. However the recipes are precise, and there are no basic ganache recipes to allow you to develop your own chocolate creations. Overall though a very good starting point
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Product, 18 Oct 2010
This review is from: Making Fine Chocolates: Flavour-infused Chocolates, Truffles and Confections (Paperback)
I bought this book as a beginner to chocolate making but as someone who is fairly good in the kitchen. I opened it and some of the recipes looked brilliant, and the instructions were also good and clear, and helped by illustrations, However It is an American Book and has alot of American names for things, Such as 'Heavy Cream' which is not a problem if you can relate these to English names,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handle with care, 26 Feb 2010
This review is from: Making Fine Chocolates: Flavour-infused Chocolates, Truffles and Confections (Paperback)
Do not under any circumstances buy this bokk if you are on a diet - you will fail.

This book contains some of the best chocolates I have ever tasted and indeed some of the strangest. Getting your head around Sea Salt in chocolates takes a bit of getting used to - but it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Fine Chocolates, 2 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Fine Chocolates: Flavour-infused Chocolates, Truffles and Confections (Paperback)
I had spent ages looking for a book which made "Making Chocolates" both fun and easy. The book titled "Making
Fine Chocoltes" is an excellent book and for those who are considering making unusual, as well as the more familiar chocolates, I strongly recommend this book entitled "Making Fine Chocolates Flavour-Infused Chocolates, Truffles and Confections by Andrew Garrison Shotts"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Fine Chocolates - and they were!!, 4 Mar 2011
This review is from: Making Fine Chocolates: Flavour-infused Chocolates, Truffles and Confections (Paperback)
I first had this book on loan together with some other chocolate recipe books from the library because I wanted to make some good truffles for Christmas presents, but this books recipes were so easy to follow with plenty of pictures, that I just had to buy it. I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone novices and experienced cooks alike. The history of chocolate is interesting too. Oh and the chocolates were so good the recipients said I should go into business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scrummy, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Fine Chocolates: Flavour-infused Chocolates, Truffles and Confections (Paperback)
Brilliant book, goes into great depth about chocolate making. Have made some delicious ones, but they don't last that long!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chocie delicous, 23 April 2011
By 
Tl Fitzwilliam (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Fine Chocolates: Flavour-infused Chocolates, Truffles and Confections (Paperback)
received after a couple of days gives great info on making delicous chocolates will definately try making some mmmmm chocolate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making Fine Chocolates: Flavour-infused Chocolates, Truffles and Confections
Making Fine Chocolates: Flavour-infused Chocolates, Truffles and Confections by Andrew Garrison Shotts (Paperback - 1 Sep 2007)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews