Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction
This book is informative enough to be worthwhile yet not too detailed to be difficult to read. It is a good introduction to the topic which I would recommend to anyone interested in finding out a little more about the stages of growing, processing, roasting and grinding coffee beans through to making a good cup of coffee. I can recommend it without reservation.
Published on 3 Nov 2009 by Terrence W. Allan

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but very US-centric
This book provides a good basic guide to the history, growing and processing of coffee and an interesting review of coffees from different countries where beans are grown. Readers outside the USA should note that the book is very heavily targeted towards an American audience. There's quite a lot about Starbucks (which many coffee lovers would find it hard to agree with),...
Published on 18 Nov 2010 by Zebrasoma


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction, 3 Nov 2009
By 
Terrence W. Allan (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Connoisseur's Guide to Coffee: Discover the World's Most Exquisite Coffee Beans (Paperback)
This book is informative enough to be worthwhile yet not too detailed to be difficult to read. It is a good introduction to the topic which I would recommend to anyone interested in finding out a little more about the stages of growing, processing, roasting and grinding coffee beans through to making a good cup of coffee. I can recommend it without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but very US-centric, 18 Nov 2010
By 
Zebrasoma - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Connoisseur's Guide to Coffee: Discover the World's Most Exquisite Coffee Beans (Paperback)
This book provides a good basic guide to the history, growing and processing of coffee and an interesting review of coffees from different countries where beans are grown. Readers outside the USA should note that the book is very heavily targeted towards an American audience. There's quite a lot about Starbucks (which many coffee lovers would find it hard to agree with), no mention of the Australian contribution to caffeine culture and such important (to coffee) European countries as Italy, France, Austria and Finland don't get the depth of coverage they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Abook for coffee lovers, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Brian W. Titmarsh (Bexley Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Connoisseur's Guide to Coffee: Discover the World's Most Exquisite Coffee Beans (Paperback)
Very concise and informative although difficult to obtain reccomend to all coffee lovers everywhere great detail to manufacturing processes and tasting expectaitions of world coffee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars making real coffee, 16 July 2011
This review is from: The Connoisseur's Guide to Coffee: Discover the World's Most Exquisite Coffee Beans (Paperback)
I bought this book after buying 2500 coffee machine from italy i have since learnt a lot more about coffee making i have become a snob

i have read the book through an through but still like to refer to it now and again , its the sort of book you keep , order only if you are interested and like coffee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Attractive and informative, 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Connoisseur's Guide to Coffee: Discover the World's Most Exquisite Coffee Beans (Paperback)
A little larger than standard paperback novel page size, it's not a coffee (ho ho) table book. But it's very well printed with many colour illustrations and photos, and filled with facts and information on the history, production, types and preparation choices for a cup of coffee. I have bean (sic) pleasantly surprised by its quality, which at a modest price, will add something new to any coffee afficiando's enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point, 28 Nov 2010
By 
Geoffrey Morley "Geoff M" (Geoff M) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Connoisseur's Guide to Coffee: Discover the World's Most Exquisite Coffee Beans (Paperback)
well-presented book that covers the basics of different varieties of coffee. A good starting point for anyone starting a journey of discovery into the world of high quality coffee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book For a Beginner interested in the art of coffee., 21 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Connoisseur's Guide to Coffee: Discover the World's Most Exquisite Coffee Beans (Paperback)
I realy enjoyed reading this book, it has many pictures and it explain the basic of coffee in a pleasing way. Although it's written with a American viewpoint and he has written a page about starbucks you can't do anything wrong buy purchasing this book. This book is really for beginners who want to start their journey in understanding the art of coffee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awaken your senses with coffee from around the globe, 25 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Connoisseur's Guide to Coffee: Discover the World's Most Exquisite Coffee Beans (Paperback)
This is a wonderful guide to the coffee and processes involved in making your choice of the perfect coffee. It is similar to a guide to fine wines and entertaining in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coffee connoisseur, 24 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Connoisseur's Guide to Coffee: Discover the World's Most Exquisite Coffee Beans (Paperback)
A remarkable publication in its capacity and layout. A wonderful design and an elegant read. Packed with an array of wealth, photos and historical facts abound. A must for any serious coffee head, parlour or coffee house. The book has a nice weight and sits just right upon table or in hand. It makes a womderful gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Connoisseur's Guide to Coffee: Discover the World's Most Exquisite Coffee Beans
10.11
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews