Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New title needed
Tailoring: A Step-by-step Guide to Creating Beautiful Customised JACKETS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Although this is a very thorough book, it does only look at how to tailor a jacket, so do not think you get step by step instructions for everything.
However, it does have some very useful information, with photos of every stage.
BUT another point to have is that it does...
Published on 1 Feb 2006 by Louise Hampshire

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Concentrates on women's clothes. I was looking for assistance with men's clothes.
Published 23 days ago by Mr K Matthews


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New title needed, 1 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: Tailoring: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating Beautiful Customised Garments (Paperback)
Tailoring: A Step-by-step Guide to Creating Beautiful Customised JACKETS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Although this is a very thorough book, it does only look at how to tailor a jacket, so do not think you get step by step instructions for everything.
However, it does have some very useful information, with photos of every stage.
BUT another point to have is that it does not tell you how to draw up your own pattern block, rather it just tells you how to adapt a pre-brought pattern instead. Useful but not what i was particularily after.
All in all a rather useful book for a first time jacket maker, giving you the hard and the easy option on things (always useful to have!). Alittle dated looking now, but still worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Model Guide, 15 Feb 2010
This review is from: Tailoring: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating Beautiful Customised Garments (Paperback)
This is a beautifully produced and well thought out guide that takes you step by step through making a woman's tailored jacket or coat - from choosing the fabric to final steaming and pressing. The visual approach shows you exactly what you need to do at each stage, and follows an uncompromising standard of craft work that is a joy in itself. Particularly useful for the beginner, it should still be of interest as a reference work to the more experienced. Although the book concentrates on women's clothing, it does not, as sometimes happens, compromise on quality, fit or comfort. And the garments illustrated do not exhibit a caracatural female shape - rather the opposite, so the techniques used can be transplanted to men's clothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tailoring book, 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: Tailoring: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating Beautiful Customised Garments (Paperback)
i bought this book for my job and it's excellent. the photographs are very helpful, and directions really easy to follow. even for a beginner, my collegue who makes tailored costumes foir a living also agrees this book is straightforward and very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really is a step-by-step guide, 28 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tailoring: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating Beautiful Customised Garments (Paperback)
This book is amazing. I flicked through it with a massive grin on my face. It was recommended by my teacher so I bought it and love it. It will most definitely help when I have to construct a mens blazer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars given as a present, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tailoring: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating Beautiful Customised Garments (Paperback)
I have bought this book before on a reccomendation from dressmaking friend.I found this book invaluable in help and tips for my dressmaking projects.So decided to pass on the favour to another Friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book for the serious sewer, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tailoring: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating Beautiful Customised Garments (Paperback)
this book is very good if you are interested enough in sewing to want to go further into tailoring a jacket or coat its easy to follow and very informative for the already fairly accomplished dressmaker I don't think it would suit a beginner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning to tailor, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tailoring: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating Beautiful Customised Garments (Paperback)
This book is excellent for someone who can use a sewing machine but wants to learn how to tailor jackets or coats professionally it is very precise and easily followed good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great starter book, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tailoring: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating Beautiful Customised Garments (Paperback)
Highly recommended, I'm a fashion student and my teacher recommended this to me. Very comprehensive though layout is a little funny but overall a good price for a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this book if you want to tailor/sew technically, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: Tailoring: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating Beautiful Customised Garments (Paperback)
Easy to follow with little sewing knowledge though you might want to put it hand in hand with a basic how to sew book and 'Home Sewing Couture Techniques' book if you don't know what you are doing though I would recommend the latter anyway to anyone who needs this book too.

This book has basically everything that you need to tailor a suit and associated items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very useful for novices and experienced, 13 July 2014
By 
Miss S. Jones "butterflysue" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tailoring: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating Beautiful Customised Garments (Paperback)
Very, very useful for novices and experienced stitchers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tailoring: A Step-by-Step Guide to Creating Beautiful Customised Garments
Used & New from: 7.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews