Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever, subtle and funny!, 5 April 2010
By 
Bob's Mum (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Miss (Paperback)
A lovely book for school aged children (probably 7+ bearing in mind the theme of school and tests!).

It tells the story of a new school year beginning, through the medium of letters from the school to Michael, and from him back again. Needless to say Michael does not relish the thought of returning to school (and the tests!!) and sends back a series of more and more fanciful letters with his 'reasons' for not returning! Very clever, funny and with a very clever final reply from his teacher - you understand Michael's feeling's without them ever being overtly stated.

It is a funny, colourful and inventive book - from the envelope opening of the book flap, to the vertical (like a calendar) layout of each page. Super illustrations and handwritten comments on each page.

A brilliant hidden gem - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Miss (Paperback)
A really useful teaching tool. The children in my class loved it and used it for great discussion and to write their own letters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: Dear Miss (Paperback)
I absolutely adore this book, such a lovely, whimsical dialogue from a little boy trying to avoid a maths exam etc. to his teacher. Makes me laugh and children love it particularly the pictures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, well done., 6 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Miss (Paperback)
Discovered this through the local library service, and loved it. Great for use in school (I'm a primary school teacher), and also for reading at home. High levels of creativity, and good understanding of children's imagination, and nice touches with the illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dear miss book, 24 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dear Miss (Paperback)
xmas pressie but looks interesting from front cover wanting to be read, sure my granddaughter will love it but I want her to be the first to open it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a cracker!, 14 July 2010
This review is from: Dear Miss (Paperback)
Such a fantastic book for kids - we loved it.

Imaginative, witty and beautifully presented, the author captures the essence of a child's imagination and delivers it in an accessible and colourful style.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book!, 18 Jun 2010
By 
J. Whiteman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dear Miss (Paperback)
This book is fantastic! It contains many letters, postcards, telegrams etc written by a little boy to his teacher. The text is humorous and the illustrations delightful! This is a book that could engage every reluctant reader and can be dipped into as you wish. It could be used to teach letter writing skills in the classroom as well as for pleasurable reading. A very welcome addition to my library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dear Miss
Dear Miss by Amy Husband (Paperback - 30 April 2009)
Used & New from: 11.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews