Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FAMILIAR AND EVER COMFORTING FAVOURITE
I first started buying copies of The Fireside Book for my Mum, Mum-in-law, and a friend way back around 1976. It became as much a part of their Christmas stocking as chocolates and perfume - but lasted the entire year and beyond, as they all treasured their copies.

I loved the books so much that as well as browsing my Mum's copy I'd pick up old editions in...
Published 15 months ago by HEY JUDE

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fireside book !
Lovely poems,lovely water colour illustrations,came in good time,good condition- the person I got it for seems happy.A bit pricey though.
Published 10 months ago by peter roger moore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FAMILIAR AND EVER COMFORTING FAVOURITE, 12 Sep 2013
This review is from: Fireside Book 2014 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
I first started buying copies of The Fireside Book for my Mum, Mum-in-law, and a friend way back around 1976. It became as much a part of their Christmas stocking as chocolates and perfume - but lasted the entire year and beyond, as they all treasured their copies.

I loved the books so much that as well as browsing my Mum's copy I'd pick up old editions in charity shops!

The inspirational and uplifting verses, thoughtful stories and gorgeous illustrations to reflect on in this cheery annual are definitely a welcome comfort throughout the entire year.

Last year was the first year The Fireside Book became The People's Friend Fireside Book, and while the book has become larger, the format has changed little. The Country Calendar feature with information related to each season, accompanied by beautiful photographs, is a welcome addition to the contents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fireside book !, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireside Book 2014 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
Lovely poems,lovely water colour illustrations,came in good time,good condition- the person I got it for seems happy.A bit pricey though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireside Book 2014 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
very good read, very satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps my mother occupied, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireside Book 2014 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
Not my taste, but my mother loves theses stories and content and this kept her very happy for a few hours. She will certainly be looking for me to get another one next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fireside Book, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireside Book 2014 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
Bought for a friend for Christmas. There was a lot more poetry than I was expecting. Hoping that she will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a friend...she loved it., 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireside Book 2014 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
An elderly friend is an avid reader of the People's Friend magazine and I thought she would like this. She hasn't stopped thanking me since getting it so I'm taking that as a positive sign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Stanley Parry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireside Book 2014 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
I do not wish to spend my time writing on items. In the main it is something I wish to have & no more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fireside Book., 12 Jan 2014
By 
Mountain Gal (Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireside Book 2014 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
Bought as gift for a friend who was pleased with it. No other comment because being a gift I did not read it myself of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Seagull (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireside Book 2014 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
The Fireside Book is indeed the perfect book for fireside reading, being a mixture of poems, reflections and snippets of countryside lore. My mum used to have one every year, and I'm carrying on the tradition - from choice, not just sentiment. And the illustrations are absolutely gorgeous - a perfect complement to the lovely poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good as ever, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Vixx H "vixx811" (Cannock, Staffs) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fireside Book 2014 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover)
I have been buying this book every year since 1976 for my Mum. She would be very disappointed if she didn't receive a copy for Christmas. She's even pleased with the new layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fireside Book 2014 (Annuals 2014)
Fireside Book 2014 (Annuals 2014) (Hardcover - 5 July 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews