Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously Gorgeous
Let me turn my usual review style around and do recommendations first:

This book is for
1) the lovely bookshelf of the chef
2) The candy aficianado
3) somebody wanting to have a go.
4) Somebody running the candy store of your local folk museum.

This is a lovely book to look and savour. The candies jump out and hit you in the eye...
Published 1 month ago by Jack Chakotay

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks sweet, but doesn't taste sweet...
After reading this, and Angel's vintage tea party book I have come to the conclusion that these books showcase style over substance

The pictures are stunning, and I liked the little crafty projects, but the majority of the recipes again fail to appeal to the standard cook. Many of the sweets need specialist equipment, and practically all of the cocktails...
Published 2 months ago by Kirsty


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously Gorgeous, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Jack Chakotay "Ender Brazil" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Vintage Sweets Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Let me turn my usual review style around and do recommendations first:

This book is for
1) the lovely bookshelf of the chef
2) The candy aficianado
3) somebody wanting to have a go.
4) Somebody running the candy store of your local folk museum.

This is a lovely book to look and savour. The candies jump out and hit you in the eye of your memories, making you think, where have I had that before? My kids have never tasted butterscotch and I do occasionally despair. Heck, I haven't had it in probably ten years or so. I blame you, Haribo! The waves of nostalgia that hit me for such a specialist book was unique.

Some of the recipes and the ingredients sourcing aren't meant to be easy, and for something to taste and look this good, I guess it depends on the effort put in. Along with sugar.

I think this is a great book and the results are well worth the effort the author and you put in it together. Insert joke about Willie Wonka here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute and kitsch, 2 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Vintage Sweets Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This isn't your typical sweets and confectionery book in that the presentation is a little unusual The style is very much "vintage scrapbook" and feels like a walk down memory lane for anyone who has a love for childhood sweets.

I don't think this will appeal to the very serious cooks out there but if like me you own lots of cookbooks this is a lovely addition. I see myself dipping into it for special occasions - and when I feel I have the inclination to try something new.

I personally really liked the recipes included and look forward to trying a few of them out. They seem straightforward enough and for those who may not be sure there are useful guidance tips on the skills. Note- some recipe do require a bit more in the way of skill and equipment but I think there is something for everyone in here!

Nice book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Treats, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Donald Thompson "waldo357" (Belfast N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Vintage Sweets Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Do you remember all those jars in the confectioners? Getting a 1/4 of this, or a packet of that? Now you wonder where they went and can you get them anymore? Well now you can, some you can even make yourself! In this colourful and exciting "How To" book everything from Parma Violets to hard core Candy crunchers is included. To make them yourself is not as daunting as it may have once appeared. A little patience, some small skill, and in these woefully health conscious days, lashings of sugar are the main ingredients. A joy to try, a delight to eat, and a wonderful way to rekindle your childhood memories. And a wonderful reminder to all parents that cooking doesn't have to be worthy and healthy all the time, it will even encourage your kids to help in the kitchen. Buy. Make. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Lindsay Ritchie - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Vintage Sweets Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book has the most stunning illustrations I have seen in a recipe book. The layout is very easy to follow. Each recipe uses the minimum amount of tools and ingredients but turns out stunning results each time. The instructions for the non food makes are clear and easy. Even if you never make a single thing from this book you will love having a look through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fab selection of recipes, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only reason I couldn't give this book 5* is because the artwork and craft projects are not to my taste, scary looking fox puppets, why?
Brilliant range of recipes with clear instructions and ideas for packaging. Would suit both novices and the more experienced sweet makers. I bought the mini size version and its not that much smaller than most of the cookbooks on my shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loads of good ideas., 13 Jan 2014
By 
A. Miles (Al Khor, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Vintage Sweets Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book of old-fashioned sweetie recipes is just one aspect of Angel Adorees business flogging '30s retro foodiness- she owns, I believe, a teashop and a business creating Woosteresque corporate events. That may sound unutterably twee, but this book shows a design sensibility that is inarguably charming, with the recipes supported by period scrapbook prints and photographic scenes.

The recipes aren't too challenging - there are only a few basic ways to make sweets - and most of the ingredients are to be found in a decent supermarket. You would need to invest in a few pieces of equipment if you've never made sweets before.

Very useful if you want to make beautifully presented gifts for friends and family, and I can see a few people deciding to launch their own small businesses inspired by this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage sweets book, 12 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Vintage Sweets Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a beautifully presented book, full of mouth-watering pictures of sweets and other confectionery. It starts by telling you about the different stages of heating sugar in order to make different types of sweet such as soft-crack, soft-ball (for fudge), hardball (Nougat and marshmallow) etc., along with the other essential techniques for making your own sweets. The first recipe is a very simple one for sugar mice, with brilliant results as I've made them to my family's great delight - the only trouble I had was getting hold of mice moulds. Beyond that there a recipes for marshmallow, Turkish delight, bon-bons, ice-cream, and even cocktails.
This would make a lovely gift for someone who enjoys cooking as it is a cookery book with a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic talking point, 6 Jan 2014
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Vintage Sweets Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book really came into its own whilst having visitors who were instantly taken by the cut out portion on the front. It was they a case of who remembers and they had a very pleasant time recalling the old fashioned sweets described on each page. What also fascinated was the recipe to make the sweet and really it is the combination of nostalgia and recipe that makes this book such a treat. I can also imagine the recipes being ideal for children to be involved with. Good quality printing and colourful illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vintage Sweets Book (Hardcover)
I Love the book and all of the Angel Adoree series, she truly understands retro. I highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sweet book!, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Another Weasley (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Vintage Sweets Book (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First impressions were that this is a beautiful book to look at, the layout, illustrations and photographs are all extremely attractive - if not always functional. The recipes are a good mixture of old fashioned sweeties, vintage cocktails and craft projects to complete the "party" theme.

The recipes and projects I have attempted so far have been a success. The sugared nuts and toffee slab worked out well following the clear instructions, the cheese safe was a great craft project and the jazzies cocktail was a delight to make.

I do feel the recipes were not separated into clear chapters an its very much a messy mixture of sweets, crafts and drinks. The book would benefit from cleared themed "chapters" or sections. This is my only grumble about this book as overall it is beautiful, fun, informative and would make an excellent gift for someone with a sweet tooth. I look forward to using this book again but meanwhile it will look beautiful on the kitchen shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab69fc3c)

This product

The Vintage Sweets Book
The Vintage Sweets Book by Angel Adoree (Hardcover - 4 Nov 2013)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews