Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good and very different
This is an interesting book - a bit of all sorts, from the menu list of Pitt Cue, which started as a superior burger van, of sorts. The recipes are of interest if you have the means to smoke food - get a smoker, or build one - seemingly everyone is doing it: this might seem like a bit of a fad, but the menus for food, drinks, relishes and sauces, etc. are genuinely...
Published 14 months ago by R. J. de Bulat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, awful Kindle edition
Don't waste your money on the Kindle edition, buy that hardcover. In Kindle there is no contents and no index pages. I was so disappointed I had to buy the Hardcover version as well so bought same book twice. Amazon sort out these dreadful Kindle copies, I don't expect to have to buy a book twice.
Published 3 months ago by Trevor Palmer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good and very different, 25 July 2013
By 
R. J. de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pitt Cue Co. - The Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is an interesting book - a bit of all sorts, from the menu list of Pitt Cue, which started as a superior burger van, of sorts. The recipes are of interest if you have the means to smoke food - get a smoker, or build one - seemingly everyone is doing it: this might seem like a bit of a fad, but the menus for food, drinks, relishes and sauces, etc. are genuinely interesting and the book, overall, is novel and a cut above many more conventional cookery books you can buy and reflects the drive and passion of the people who created it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good meat recipes, but cracking theory, sauces and cocktails as well, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pitt Cue Co. - The Cookbook (Hardcover)
After finally deciding to shun gas barbecues in favour of teaching myself how to cook 'low and slow' properly with coals, I plumped for a couple of different books to help get me on my way. If you've been to Pitt Cue Co you'll know what to expect from this - a lot of pork, slightly British takes on proper American BBQ, and a love of vinegary pickles and slaws. The recipes are superb (the pulled pork blows my old recipes out of the water), although be warned that 'low and slow' is just that (slow), there are very few direct grill meat recipes in the book (although the few there are, e.g. the devilled chicken thighs, are sublime).

As good as the food recipes are, the book has three more (arguably as useful) strings to its bow - the theory, the sauces, and the cocktails. The theory of indirect grilling is laid out much clearer for (more or less) beginners than anything else I've read, and vastly improved my slow cooked large joints. The sauces and sides are suitably varied and in some places pretty unique (picked watermelon rind anyone?), and the cocktails will get any fan of whisky cocktails salivating, including various options for the epic pickleback.

Highly recommended for any barbecue fan if you're after something slightly different to the usual faire. I can highly recommend Ray Lampe's "Slow Fire" as an accompanying bible, mainly as it has the greatest dry ribs I've ever experienced...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally hooked on this book., 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pitt Cue Co. - The Cookbook (Hardcover)
Love this book. Everything that I have tried has come out brilliantly.

Gives a good basic background to slow, cooking, smoking and grilling using barbecues and all the recipes I have tried os far just work. The thing that surprised me though was the pickles and sides, they are amazing. We never go without a jar of the bread and butter pickles in the fridge these days. Never mind the barbecue, they are excellent on sandwiches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very creative BBQ'ing, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pitt Cue Co. - The Cookbook (Hardcover)
If you like to be a bit different or cutting edge on technique, then this is the book for you,, there are some fantastic recipes and ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pitt Cue Co. - The Cookbook (Hardcover)
Absolutely love this book. So far I have made several of the sauces and rubs. The chocolate and peanut butter tart is to die for. I have recommended this book to all my Friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, awful Kindle edition, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't waste your money on the Kindle edition, buy that hardcover. In Kindle there is no contents and no index pages. I was so disappointed I had to buy the Hardcover version as well so bought same book twice. Amazon sort out these dreadful Kindle copies, I don't expect to have to buy a book twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pitt cue co, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pitt Cue Co. - The Cookbook (Hardcover)
Have used this book for the first time this week to cater for son's birthday BBQ.
The recipes are quite involved but wow, are they good.

I made the chipotle ketchup, BBQ mayonnaise, barbeque sauce and house rub along with the mother sauce. Then went onto to the pulled pork and chicken wings recipe as drumsticks.

Made the peanut butter icecream. My only mistake was making one quantity of the recipe as I had to make a second it was sooo good.

very little left overs after the BBQ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, but a cook book for proffesionals only., 27 July 2014
By 
Andrew J. Battersby (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pitt Cue Co. - The Cookbook (Hardcover)
Truly a beautiful book to have on your bookshelf. The pictures alone are worth it. However, whilst I found this a great read, I found most of the recipes called for very difficult to get items, with no suggested alternatives. I think if you were in the food industry, it may be easier to find them, but most ordinary folk will struggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pitt Cue Co. - The Cookbook (Hardcover)
Awesome! A massive book of win!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pitt Cue Co. - The Cookbook (Hardcover)
Pleased with item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pitt Cue Co. - The Cookbook
Pitt Cue Co. - The Cookbook by Richard H. Turner (Hardcover - 3 Jun 2013)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews