Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly Presented
Over a period of 30+ years the Miller's antiques and collectables publications have become the most popular and trusted definitive price guides of their type, and this latest `Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015' reaches a peak of perfection. It is beautifully presented with thousands of superb illustrations of objects in full colour, neat informative...
Published 14 months ago by D. Elliott

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rich people and high end antique dealers only!
Disappointed. I'm not sure exactly who this book is aimed at. Certainly not your average person who likes to browse antique shops or general collectors. More like rich people who are looking to invest in antiques. This is supposed to be 'the only price guide you will ever need'. Perhaps, if you are a high end antique dealer or a rich collector. At least 90% of the items...
Published 11 months ago by A. Fussey


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly Presented, 3 Oct 2013
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Over a period of 30+ years the Miller's antiques and collectables publications have become the most popular and trusted definitive price guides of their type, and this latest `Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015' reaches a peak of perfection. It is beautifully presented with thousands of superb illustrations of objects in full colour, neat informative text, and division into helpful sections with category headings to supplement an authoritative index. In addition to the wealth of advice and guidance on antiques and price ranges there numerous tips on valuing, dating and confirmation of provenance, with details of designers, consultants, specialists and auctioneers. Obviously this `Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015' is not for reading from cover to cover but it is a marvellous reference book, and it is for the pleasure of dipping into. It is itself a `work of art' and it will take pride of place on any bookshelf - preferably a Georgian or Victorian sécretaire, bureau or breakfront bookcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miller's Antique Handbook, 25 Sep 2013
By 
M. J. Hunter - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Wisden of the antique world Miller's Antiques Handbook seems to have been around forever so I got a bit of shock when I found out that it has only been published since 1979. I have perused a few earlier copies but the 2014-2015 edition is street ahead of it's predecessors.

Fractionally smaller than A4 the book runs to 648 pages and is extremely heavy! It is split into 24 logical divisions each one covering a particular genre of the antique business such as ceramics, clocks etc. In each section examples of items are given with pictures, description and valuation.Essential reference is given highlighting what to look for and how to spot fakes along with a closer look which points out why particular pieces are more desirable.

Although largely compiled and edited by Judith Miller contributions are also given by many more famous valuers, many of them familiar faces thanks to programmes such as the Antiques Roadshow.

Not a book that you would pick up and read from cover to cover but one that can be dipped into or consulted when the need arises. Very enjoyable, very well put together and much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good selection in each category, with detailed pictures, if a little focussed on more expensive pieces, 3 Nov 2013
By 
David Burton "aenikata" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's not really too much of a surprise that a handbook like this would be focussed on more expensive antiques, and that's mostly the case here. There are some more inexpensive pieces in each category, but the main focus is on the well known names and more rare pieces. This seems pretty sensible given that cheaper pieces may well be bought purely for visual appeal rather than long-term value (although if like me you're looking at furnishing a period property and seeing what pieces might be affordable with genuine antique pieces rather than modern alternatives it's not so useful). The pictures are excellent, and show each piece clearly. There isn't too much time spent on pieces, just a brief note about each generally, so it's more of use for identifying which style or origin a piece appears to be rather than being sufficient for being certain about whether a piece is genuine. Given that the book aims to cover everything from pottery to furniture to glassware and more. The author has a solid reputation, so their estimates should pretty reliable.
So, in all, it's a great coffee table piece, and very reasonably priced for the size and print quality, with a good range of items covered. It won't make you an expert, but it will help you to identify styles that you like or pieces that are within your price range to decide which pieces to look out for and what price range to expect. This being the main aim of the book it gets 4 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, but who is it for?, 24 Oct 2013
By 
Glasgow Dreamer (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As an auction house and jumble sale addict, I had always meant to get around to buying a copy of this, just to be sure I wasn't letting any little treasures slip through my fingers.

However, it turns out that this book isn't really for people like me. The vast majority of the pieces shown in the book are highly aspirational in nature. They are so obviously "worth something" that they won't turn up in bargain bins or even in small local auctions. Even allowing for that, I think many of the prices quoted in the book seem to be rather on the optimistically high side - comparing these prices with actual sales online suggests many are priced here well in excess of their actual worth.

I'm not very sure who the guide is aimed at. As mentioned earlier, it's not going to be very helpful for "accidental discoveries", and I would expect people who were dealing in big ticket items, such as those featured in the book, to already be in possession of most of the information provided. For my part, I would have been better served by Miller's Collectables (sic) Handbook, which seems to cover my area of interest a little better. This is no fault of this book, which is very nicely presented, on good heavy glossy paper, with clear text and pictures. A very good book, just not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glass's Guide for antiques?, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Mike France (SW France) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Glass's Guide for antiques?

Glass's Guide for antiques? I don't think so; the subject matter is just too far ranging for it to be possible to provide definitive valuations. Nevertheless, the guide does provide a useful reference point by touching on relevant examples in the categories provided.

Over the years the range of items covered has broadened considerably and the current format is well thought out to provide easy location of any particular item sought. Interestingly, as this volume arrived, I was in the middle of clearing out old books, among them several copies of Millers going back 20 years or so; comparing the Guide today to those earlier tomes you can see how significantly it has improved whilst still maintaining price parity.

Inevitably, given the infinite range of antiques, it is not possible for detailed descriptions to be provided however, `Judith's Picks' does do this in a limited way for selected items. Furthermore, section introductions usefully highlight the current state of the market and contained within each section, `Essential References' provide quick knowledge checks.

An invaluable tool for professionals and amateurs and a great thing to have at hand, to dig into during idle moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, beautifully produced guide, 25 Oct 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a beautifully produced, authoritative guide to antiques, including some more modern items. Each page carries a wealth of photographs of objects and information, including price guides and is a pleasure to browse in as well as being an excellent reference work.

The book is divided into categories and sub-categories (e.g. Scientific Instruments - Globes) for easy reference and has a comprehensive index. Each section begins with a review of the state of the market and Miller also features panels of "Judith Picks" with descriptions of items she finds especially interesting. I've found it very interesting and often extremely useful when sorting out old "junk" (sadly, usually to find out that what I was looking at isn't a real antique).

This is recognised as an authoritative guide to antiques and their prices and is also a lovely book to own and enjoy. Very warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful and interesting..., 25 Oct 2013
By 
Richard Madgin (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love to scout around local charity shops, flea markets, and antique emporiums so this kind of book can come in useful for identifying different makers, marks, and possible values. Whilst it's unlikely you will find exactly the same item in the book as in real-life it at least gives you a starting point, a frame of reference. They obviously couldn't put much more information in because it is already a rather hefty book!

This book is also just great as a coffee-table book. I could spend ages browsing through the glossy pages of interesting items, looking at the pictures and absorbing bits of information. If you've any interest at all in antiques and/or collectables then this is a great book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rich people and high end antique dealers only!, 4 Jan 2014
By 
A. Fussey "Nuks" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015 (Hardcover)
Disappointed. I'm not sure exactly who this book is aimed at. Certainly not your average person who likes to browse antique shops or general collectors. More like rich people who are looking to invest in antiques. This is supposed to be 'the only price guide you will ever need'. Perhaps, if you are a high end antique dealer or a rich collector. At least 90% of the items shown are priced in the thousands and the other 10% probably the mid to high hundreds. Beginners stay away. Also the information is sparse and more useful to dealers in expensive antiques. This will probably preclude even your average town dealer as the prices in this book are so prohibitive. If you want a general guide to antiques that covers a range of prices and items then stay away from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As Good As Always, 16 Nov 2013
By 
Donald Thompson "waldo357" (Belfast N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Judith Millers latest guide, does just what every other edition has done. It delivers the goods on all things antiquey and collectible. Whether it's your 18th Century Refectory Table you want to sell, or a Dinky Toy you want to buy at a car boot sale you'll find a guide price, what to look for, and what to avoid. I know they're essential but the adverts every other page means 4 instead of 5 stars. Just a personal choice. Serious collectors will have more precise guides, amatuers though, and those starting off could hardly find a better place to begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good to have to hand, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Pj Williams (cardiff uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015 (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
a useful book to a degree for getting basic ideas on the value of things, not as small as they used to be, in fact quite a hefty book thesedays. Ive used them over the years and have often found them more useful to identify things rather than pay much attention to the pricing. all in all practical for anyone with an interest in antiques or as a basic guide to work out whats worth collecting and whats not at the given time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015
Miller's Antiques Handbook & Price Guide 2014-2015 by Judith Miller (Hardcover - 2 Sep 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews