Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cooking is Cool
I have a large collection of cookbooks, some mainstream and some very much the opposite. I must admit I hadn't heard anything about this book before I bought it, it was an impulse buy from Sainsbury's (sorry Amazon.) I actually bought it purely on the strength of the design and the fact that I'm a man who occasionally reads GQ.

Anyway, flipping through I was...
Published 12 months ago by Aaron KD Bourn

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you're really into cooking...
This book is a collection of 'male orientated' recipes from many of today's top chefs - aimed at men of seriously good taste. Therefore, it possibly owes more to art than to putting a satisfying meal on the table! Many of the recipes include hard to find ingredients, which may well put people off (eg chancaca and maca root powder in the organic coffee ice cream recipe)...
Published 10 months ago by Sue C.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cooking is Cool, 2 Sep 2013
This review is from: GQ Eats: The cookbook for men of seriously good taste (Hardcover)
I have a large collection of cookbooks, some mainstream and some very much the opposite. I must admit I hadn't heard anything about this book before I bought it, it was an impulse buy from Sainsbury's (sorry Amazon.) I actually bought it purely on the strength of the design and the fact that I'm a man who occasionally reads GQ.

Anyway, flipping through I was pleasantly surprised to find there's something for everyone here. Obviously it's aimed at men because it's by GQ, but that's not to say you shouldn't buy it if you are a lady who wants it. All the recipes are very very good, most of them by established and/or 'famous' chefs. The photography is fantastic; I've spent a lot more than 10 on cookbooks based solely on the quality of the photography so to have, on the whole, manageable, achievable and affordable recipes to go with them is brilliant.

Probably the best cookbook released so far this year at this price point (10). Not many cookbooks out there are 'must buy' but this one comes pretty close. For a tenner you absolutely cannot go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, slightly pretentious, 13 Nov 2013
By 
J.R.Hartley (NW England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: GQ Eats: The cookbook for men of seriously good taste (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a cookbook, it's very good and provides a large variety of classy looking dishes for people who want to show off. This is not a what-are-we-having-for-tea-tonight-mum? type book but more of I-am-going-to-win-at-Come-Dine-With-Me tome. The recipes are easy to follow, there are clear pictures of what it should look like and the dishes are very varied. As the arbiter of fine dining experiences and good taste, I'd say it needs to take itself a little less seriously but don't let that spoil your appetite. Tuck in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrible title, great book!, 1 Sep 2013
This review is from: GQ Eats: The cookbook for men of seriously good taste (Hardcover)
Don't be put off by the title or the daft notion this is a cookbook just for men. This is a great collection of recipes by many of the UK's top Chefs. From breakfast to roasts everything is approachable for the semi experienced cook. No real fancy ingredients, no water baths and no need to have a sous chef for the day to pull a superb meal together. I was very presently surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So far so good. The foreword of the book is written by ..., 17 July 2014
By 
Shelley Wood "shelleybirduk" (Blackpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: GQ Eats: The cookbook for men of seriously good taste (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Firstly let me start by saying I have never read GQ. My knowlege of the magazine does not extend further than ogling the cover star in the local WH Smith. I am aware after a bit of a google that it is an aspirational lifestyle magazine for men and this is its cookbook.

So far so good.

The foreword of the book is written by Heston he talks a little bit about himself and a little bit about the evolution of cookery and just a smidgeon about how GQ taught him the best things in life are Brioni.

The book itself contains a number of recipes divided into sections such as Breakfast, Boy's night in, Pub food favourites and the strangely titled "rock and roll roasts" Each recipe is set out in a clear no nonsense format in a palette of white, black and oh so chic olive with a mouth wateringly large photo taking up the facing page. Some pages are randomly green, I'm not sure why they are not vegetarian as much as I am tempted to believe it is a secret "man code" for something it probably just adds to the appeal of the design.

The recipes vary in complexity from relatively simple to "book a day off work fella" complex but be warned Jamie Oliver does not grace the pages of this book with a 15 minute meal. Each recipe has clear instructions and a chef's tip with surprisngly down to Earth hints and tips. Fans of Masterchef and the Great British Menu will recognize many of the names in here and some of Britains finest chefs are well represented.

I've read this book through a few times and it has grown on me enormously. The first read through left me thinking it was a "little bit poncey". The second time was after watching Masterchef and left me thinking "hmmm" by the third read I was wondering if I could find pigeon in Blackpool without breaking out the shotgun.

Regular readers of GQ will find no surprises in this book but for those who enjoy Masterchef and similar shows this will make an entertaining and inspiring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Presented With Some Great Recipes, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: GQ Eats: The cookbook for men of seriously good taste (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very nicely presented book which looks like a quality product from the predominantly black cover to the high quality glossy pages and the carefully constructed photographs. The format is that the book is divided into ten sections, examples of which are Brilliant Breakfasts, Health Conscious Classics and Michelin Star Meals. Hence there is quite a wide selection of dishes, each from a well known chef. Among the better known contributors are Heston Blumenthal, Raymond Blanc and Gordon Ramsey, so this is quite a roll call of the great and the good in cookery.

The recipes themselves encompass a good selection as would befit the wide range of authors. Many of them look delicious. The methodology in each case is very carefully laid out, stage by stage. The ingredients are clearly listed and, almost invariably, should not be too difficult to source from your local supermarket although you may have to work a bit to find, for example, a haunch of wild boar for your alternative Christmas dinner. The aforesaid haunch of wild boar, duck kebab and Robert Wright's version of fish pie and many others look very tempting and there are reworkings of old favourites such as shepherds pie and chicken and chips.

This is a book which will be welcomed as a gift by any aspiring chef. It is beautifully produced and will not look out of place as a coffee table volume. It is, however, stuffed with tempting but practical recipes so is not just pretty, but is a very practical and useful addition to any cookbook collection. Although billed as `the cookbook for men of seriously good taste' there is no sex bias here and this will be just as good for the ladies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge Selection of World Class Recipes, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GQ Eats: The cookbook for men of seriously good taste (Hardcover)
If you want top restaurant recipes from our world class chefs this is the book for you. Some cooking experience is required to understand terminology, but you will cope if you cross reference on google. Its is also excellent value, I have paid 5 times this amount for books like this with half the amount of recipes. My new favourite recipe book and I have had 100's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent recipes, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GQ Eats: The cookbook for men of seriously good taste (Hardcover)
Bought this for my son for an extra Christmas present and have had the pleasure of eating a few of the recipes he cooked for us. Very good value, an excellent present, stylish and week laid out presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the boys!, 18 Jun 2014
This review is from: GQ Eats: The cookbook for men of seriously good taste (Hardcover)
Bought this as a Father's Day gift, Dad was delighted and couldn't wait to try out the recipes.
Arrived promptly and well packaged. Great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously good, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GQ Eats: The cookbook for men of seriously good taste (Hardcover)
Excellent quality and the recipes are varied and gorgeous-looking forward to working our way through and trying them all! Overall very impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GQ Eats, 29 May 2014
By 
Mrs Lydia Scott (Minster, Ramsgate, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delicious recipes, especially like the fish pie and chicken curry. Simple to follow instructions with excellent results. highly recommend, not just for men!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GQ Eats: The cookbook for men of seriously good taste
GQ Eats: The cookbook for men of seriously good taste by CONDE NAST INDEPENDENT MAGAZIN (Hardcover - 3 Sep 2013)
18.60
Usually dispatched within 9 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews