Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not quite what I was expecting
Whilst this is informative and does give some interesting historical notes on featured plants it was not quite as I expected, which was a break down or root (no pun intended) of the plant names ie Sempervivum - latin semper meaning always and vivus meaning alive = to live forever. On some 'featured' plants it does this, but generally it doesn't, which I found...
Published on 22 Oct 2012 by Sweet Chestnut

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars short on detail
Like many other RHS publications, this is a beautifully produced book, with a lovely cloth binding, decorative endpapers, and oodles of coloured engravings and paintings. The RHS has cornered the market in this type of book, a combination of serious reference work and coffee-table browser.

By the way, I'm a huge fan of the RHS and all the work they do in...
Published on 6 Dec 2012 by AndrewL94


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not quite what I was expecting, 22 Oct 2012
This review is from: RHS Latin for Gardeners: Over 3,000 plant names explained and explored (Hardcover)
Whilst this is informative and does give some interesting historical notes on featured plants it was not quite as I expected, which was a break down or root (no pun intended) of the plant names ie Sempervivum - latin semper meaning always and vivus meaning alive = to live forever. On some 'featured' plants it does this, but generally it doesn't, which I found disappointing, but then I do have a particular fascination with word origins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars short on detail, 6 Dec 2012
By 
AndrewL94 (Plymouth, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Latin for Gardeners: Over 3,000 plant names explained and explored (Hardcover)
Like many other RHS publications, this is a beautifully produced book, with a lovely cloth binding, decorative endpapers, and oodles of coloured engravings and paintings. The RHS has cornered the market in this type of book, a combination of serious reference work and coffee-table browser.

By the way, I'm a huge fan of the RHS and all the work they do in promoting horticulture in the UK. I'm constantly visiting their online Plant Selector. And the two-volume A-Z encyclopedia of garden plants should be on every gardener's bookshelf.

My quibble is with the content of this particular volume, which is quite limited. It claims to explain over 3,000 plant names. However it is restricted to extremely brief explanations of the second part of the Latin binomial (the double name given to every species). I was hoping for a comprehesive reference work fully describing both elements of a plant's latin name. For instance, I was researching ''Hacquetia epipactis'', and wondering about the source of the name. Sure enough, the book comes up with an explanation of ''epipactis'' (plants thought to curdle milk). But unfortunately there is nothing about ''Hacquetia'' and I'm still in the dark about the derivation of this intriguing name.

It looks as if I will have to invest in something weightier, drier and duller, to satisfy my quest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't do what it says on the tin, 22 Mar 2013
This review is from: RHS Latin for Gardeners: Over 3,000 plant names explained and explored (Hardcover)
Gussied up for the gift shop market, Edwardian Lady style, this will no doubt sell well. But anyone who actually bought it because they are curious about the origins of plant names will be consistently frustrated. Here's a few I just tried to look up and found not included: potentilla, clivia, ranunculus. A great deal of space is taken up listing rather obvious terms such as Clarkei, or indeed ranunculoides, while rather common plants are ignored. There is some interesting information contained in this book but as a work of reference it will disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Latin for Gardeners: Over 3,000 plant names explained and explored (Hardcover)
Excellent book - full of detail and extra snippets of information on why plants are named the way they are, The RHS can always be trusted to give reliable information with a wealth of experience and resources behind them to back up all their publications. It is the sort of book you may move on to from other more user friendly books of similar ilk as it is written in a more field specific way, a very good source of reference material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Latin for Gardeners: Over 3,000 plant names explained and explored (Hardcover)
Very interesting - explains how plants got their names and links plant families to other ones with the same roots. Excellent for people who like flowers called by their proper names!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots missing, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Latin for Gardeners: Over 3,000 plant names explained and explored (Hardcover)
This book leaves out a lot of commonly used plants. Some of the pronunciations are laughable. The layout is not easy to use either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite!, 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Latin for Gardeners: Over 3,000 plant names explained and explored (Hardcover)
Beautifully illustrated and superbly bound, this book is a sheer delight both to hold and to behold - even a ribbon attached to the binding dispenses with the need for a potentially damaging bookmark. Used with care, this book would become a beloved heirloom!
The typeface and design is well-chosen for comfortable reading, and the layout of the content is clearly illustrated and explained.
The author's style is clear, precise and very engaging, and demonstrates a thorough knowledge of her subject.
The content is exactly as described above. This delightful book is both a door that opens onto a beautiful garden, and a guide that gently and easily leads us through the now fascinating, but hitherto labyrinthine, subject of plant nomenclature.
Thank you to all involved in its production!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RHS Latin for Gardeners, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Latin for Gardeners: Over 3,000 plant names explained and explored (Hardcover)
This was bought as a present for my daughter in law but it is something I would have enjoyed browsing through as I did Latin at school and so know some latin plant names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book for garden lovers who want to know more., 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Latin for Gardeners: Over 3,000 plant names explained and explored (Hardcover)
This book is beautifully presented in that it is hardback, the print is clear and the illustrations most attractive. The contents are very informative and interesting, and it is also a great pleasure to read. It is therefore fantastic value for money. I gave this book as a present to a friend (a gardening fan) and she loved it equally. It is such an excellent book that I want to get another copy for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good reference, 25 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Latin for Gardeners: Over 3,000 plant names explained and explored (Hardcover)
was a christmas present for my gardener wife.
however, I did Latin, so can positively review the book.
I will still have to be the purist and correct her onnpronunciation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RHS Latin for Gardeners: Over 3,000 plant names explained and explored
RHS Latin for Gardeners: Over 3,000 plant names explained and explored by The Royal Horticultural Society (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2012)
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews