Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, but some could really do with being better written
As a fan of chocolate this book supplied me with numerous new ways to enjoy it. My only issue is that some of the less common procedures required to create some of the ingredients are fairly badly explained, or just not explained. The 'flagship' recipe from the front cover is a good example of this. A little testing of these recipes on less experienced bakers would have...
Published 15 months ago by Ben

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fancy chocolate recipes
This book is not quite what I expected as I was looking for super but homemade cakes, too many recipes are very involved
Published 7 months ago by Edna Bradley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, but some could really do with being better written, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chocolat: Seductive Recipes for Bakes, Desserts, Truffles and Other Treats (Hardcover)
As a fan of chocolate this book supplied me with numerous new ways to enjoy it. My only issue is that some of the less common procedures required to create some of the ingredients are fairly badly explained, or just not explained. The 'flagship' recipe from the front cover is a good example of this. A little testing of these recipes on less experienced bakers would have made it a 5 star book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring collection from a Master Pātissier!, 12 Aug 2013
This review is from: Chocolat: Seductive Recipes for Bakes, Desserts, Truffles and Other Treats (Hardcover)
Eric Lanlard, veteran of Baking Mad and Glamour Puds television series, has compiled an indulgent compendium for his most loved baking ingredient: chocolate. Lanlard's fascination with chocolate is firmly rooted in his childhood, and his enthusiasm for the precious commodity is infectious.

The book begins with A Brief History of Chocolate: a concise insight into its ancient beginnings (uses varied widely from aphrodisiac to currency). The following introductory chapters, Know Your Chocolate and Working with Chocolate, cover essential techniques for selecting, storing and manipulating chocolate.

Having covered the basics, Lanlard gets down to some serious baking; the recipes are split across four chapters, with clear instructions (handy lines split the recipes into sections for easy reading), insightful tips and tantalising photographs from Kate Whitaker.

From the Bakery covers humble buns, nibbles and bling cakes. My favourites are the decedent Salted Butter Caramel Cake and nutty Chocolate and Pistachio Biscotti.

Desserts & Puddings is comprised of show-stopping recipes that are guaranteed to impress, Chocolate and Banana Tarte Tatin is surprisingly easy and deeply satisfying, whilst the White Chocolate and Passion Fruit Cheesecake is bursting with flavour and colour.

Truffles & Treats is packed with chocolates and sweats from the traditional to more experimental (see Lapsang-Souchong Pralines) that, wrapped up in a smart box or jar, would make fantastic presents. Lanlard finishes off the book with Drinks, Spreads & Sauces, which features the ancient Spicy `Aztec' Hot Chocolate, laced with nutmeg and cinnamon, it is the perfect restorative at the end of long day, and rich enough to satisfy even the most ardent chocoholic.

No matter how much I have eaten, I can always find room for chocolate. Lanlard's Chocolat is an inspiring collection from a Master Pātissier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boom baby!, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chocolat: Seductive Recipes for Bakes, Desserts, Truffles and Other Treats (Hardcover)
Nom! This book is called chocolate, so if I wasn't already sold (which I was), to make it better, it has lots of tasty choccie treats for you to make!
Women rejoice!! Menstruation need not be the devil!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best chocolate cake ever, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Brian Solomons "beesol" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chocolat: Seductive Recipes for Bakes, Desserts, Truffles and Other Treats (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book. The recipes are all easy to follow and produce amazing results. My wife says that the chocolate and salted caramel cake I made is the best cake she's ever tasted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very happy., 19 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chocolat: Seductive Recipes for Bakes, Desserts, Truffles and Other Treats (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift for my sister who loves to cook, she loves it and so do we as she shares her baking :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chocolat: Seductive Recipes for Bakes, Desserts, Truffles and Other Treats (Hardcover)
Well when it's one of your favourite chefs you normally like anything they do. This fit in with the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful recipes, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chocolat: Seductive Recipes for Bakes, Desserts, Truffles and Other Treats (Hardcover)
The photos are beautiful and the recipes delicious.
Eric Lanlard is an artist and explains really well the whole process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE IT, THANK YOU ERIC., 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: Chocolat: Seductive Recipes for Bakes, Desserts, Truffles and Other Treats (Hardcover)
Another brilliant book by Eric Lanlard, I received this book last week as a gift and boy am I pleased with my gift, even the cover of this book oozes quality, I have already made the Lemon & White chocolate madeleine's, the mixture does make 36 and as I only have one madeleine tray that makes 12 it had to go in the oven 3 times but they do only take 10 minutes. None the less they were lovely as all Eric's recipes are and I can't wait to get started on the rest. I recommend this book to one and all and at the price Amazon is currently selling it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars chocoholics delight, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chocolat: Seductive Recipes for Bakes, Desserts, Truffles and Other Treats (Hardcover)
A great book no one who likes chocolate should be without , with easy to follow recipes and pictures, arrived sooner than expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fabulous book by Eric, 12 July 2013
This review is from: Chocolat: Seductive Recipes for Bakes, Desserts, Truffles and Other Treats (Hardcover)
Lovely recipes i have reviewed the book from cover to cover many times and i want to try them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chocolat: Seductive Recipes for Bakes, Desserts, Truffles and Other Treats
£16.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews