Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Dish cooking pies and tarts.
A lovely, easy to follow well presented book with the odd photograph of the very easy on the eye, Eric Lanlard, just to spicen the book up a little more.
The book opens with a few paragraphs from Mr Lanlard about how he came to have a passion for pasrty and his humble beginnings as a pastry chef. From sweet to savoury Eric seems to have covered the lot.
The...
Published 22 months ago by Deb L

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but poor support for fan ovens
This is, in many ways, an excellent book - the recipes are unfailing attractive, some are simply brilliant, but if you're a fan oven user, surely the norm nowadays, you'll have problems.

If you're making a savoury tart, then you really must blind bake. However, the advice, page 19, to set your fan oven to 160 degrees C, won't work. The pastry will be uncooked...
Published 13 months ago by Roger Dettmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Dish cooking pies and tarts., 24 Jun 2012
This review is from: Tart it Up!: Sweet and Savoury Tarts and Pies (Hardcover)
A lovely, easy to follow well presented book with the odd photograph of the very easy on the eye, Eric Lanlard, just to spicen the book up a little more.
The book opens with a few paragraphs from Mr Lanlard about how he came to have a passion for pasrty and his humble beginnings as a pastry chef. From sweet to savoury Eric seems to have covered the lot.
The introduction leads into a Pastry basics section that covers everything from the most basic shortcrust pastry to the more experimental Brioche and Puff pastry. This section comes with the odd handy little hints and tips sections and easy to follow instructions on how to line a baking tin and Blind Binding, which having read the section discovered that this was a name for a method I was familiar with but didn't know it's name.
Most recipes have end product photographs which I always find very helpful and little tips on what to serve the dish with.
I tried the Calzone recipe first as this was really well photographed and even had individual, step by step photographs. The result - a success proclaimed by the other half!
My only criticism would be that I prefer an end result photograph with every recipe. I am more likely to try a new recipe if I like the look of the end product and a few of these recipes may go untried by me because of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love pie!, 27 Jun 2012
This review is from: Tart it Up!: Sweet and Savoury Tarts and Pies (Hardcover)
I was given this book for my birthday recently and I absolutely love it! I am a huge fan of pastry and pies plus I am a non-meat eater and this book has enough diverse and interesting non-meat recipes to satisfy me, as well as fab savoury ones. The instructions are clear and concise. The pastry turns out beautifully every time - I didn't realise pastry was so easy to make! I have made the Mediterranean tart and the salmon and dill tarts for friends recently and they went down a storm. There's a section at the back on savoury accompaniments which is a nice touch. Would thoroughly recommend it. Great gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I ate all the pies, 30 Jun 2012
This review is from: Tart it Up!: Sweet and Savoury Tarts and Pies (Hardcover)
I was lucky enough to win a copy of this book and so far have made 2 of the tarts, but I will definitely be making more. The book helpfully starts with clear instructions on how to make each kind of pastry. Followed by savoury tarts, then sweet ones. Both the savoury and sweet sections have some suggestions for sides/accompaniments.

We tried the braised little gem tart that Eric helpfully suggests goes well with roast chicken, it was really simple to make, thanks to the very clear step by step instructions on how to make the pastry and how to assemble/prepare the tart for baking. The result was stunning and made a pleasant change from the usual roast dinner, perfect for a warm summer evening. The second tart we tried was the quiche Lorraine. The result was perfect, no soggy bottoms on this tart and I loved the lightness of the dish. We even ate some cold for breakfast.

Both sections seem to have a pie or tart for any season and all occasions, from the simple throw it together in 10 minutes for a quick supper to the more involved West Indies chocolate which is visually stunning and would make a wonderful dinner party dessert.

Over all this book is brilliant, the photographs are beautiful, it has recipes for all abilities, it is laid out well and it is written in a simple unfussy way. My only gripe is that the recipes are often for fairly large numbers, some of the desserts serve 10! I am happy to scale down recipes for our smaller family, but know that friends who do not cook/bake a lot would find it daunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but poor support for fan ovens, 13 Mar 2013
By 
Roger Dettmer (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tart it Up!: Sweet and Savoury Tarts and Pies (Hardcover)
This is, in many ways, an excellent book - the recipes are unfailing attractive, some are simply brilliant, but if you're a fan oven user, surely the norm nowadays, you'll have problems.

If you're making a savoury tart, then you really must blind bake. However, the advice, page 19, to set your fan oven to 160 degrees C, won't work. The pastry will be uncooked in the centre, and the dreaded soggy bottom will be the outcome. Use bottom heat and 180 degrees C, and all will be well.

There's an error on page 112 that could catch the novice cook, i.e. someone like me. If you're going to apply a glaze, do it after the tart has cooked, and cooled, and not before baking - as advised in the recipe. Clearly the publishers have expended a lot of effort making this book look attractive; too bad the budget did stretch to decent proof readers - seemingly a dying breed.

The recipe on page 112, a really lovely blueberry amandine tart, also suffers from the fan oven problem. It doesn't require blind baking, but if you cook it at 160 fan for the stipulated 20-25 minutes, the underside of the pastry won't be cooked in the centre. A, possibly, better approach, if you want to avoid blind banking, is to try 15 minutes of bottom heat at 180 (to get the pastry going) and then switch to bottom heat 160.

Roger Dettmer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tart it Up!: Sweet and Savoury Tarts and Pies (Hardcover)
I love bake tarts, so I was looking for a new recipes. I found a really goog ones in this book, they are great. It has lot of beautiful pictures, almost for every recipe. It's a great book for everyone who loves baking, I recomennd strongly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really lovely mix of French classics and more experimental bakes, 24 Nov 2012
This book really caught my eye because it’s all about pastry which I am rather addicted to.

Eric’s book starts with a memory back to his training ground of Le Grand Patisserie in Quimper where he spent six months learning how to make pastry and a further six how to usepastry. This book is a collection of his favourites both sweet and savoury.

The first section covers pastry basics as you would expect – shortcrust, sweetcrust, almond and chocolate shortcrust followed by brioche and puff.

His savoury section encompasses all the seasons from the Spring Garden Green Tart to the Summer Vegetable Pie and an autumnal Butternut Squash and Mushroom Pie. That raises a good point. Not all the recipes use pastry. For example his Seafood Pie is like a traditional English Fish Pie but the mashed potato is replaced with scalloped potatoes. He also has a mini Scallop and Courgette Crumble Pie which uses a simple herby crumble topping. I have earmarked this one as a dinner parter starter as soon as I find some of the lovely mini copper pans he uses!

The book has a nice mix of international recipes sitting alongside traditional French favourites like his Proper Quiche Lorraine. There is a Curried Chicken Tart, an Iberian Chicken Pie and an inspiring Miso Cod in Brioche Pie.

There are some nice detailed step by step pages for the more complex recipes like his Calzone and Heritage Tomato Tart Tatin as well as a quick bakes and accompaniments summary covering side dishes like Green Beans with Shallots, Fig Chutney and Tabouleh Salad.

The sweet section kicks off with an Apricot, Honey and Pistachio Tart using fill pastry which inspired my Apple and Cobnut version. It was a really nice way of using frangipane with filo.

As you would expect there are some spectacular bakes in this book which photographer Kate Whitaker captures divinely and I love his unusual flavour combinations too. Matcha and Yuzu Tart, Apricot and Saffron, Mango and Green Peppercorn and Chocolate and Earl Grey Tarts with Figs.

There are some simple classics like the Blueberry Amandine Tarts which we made, Tarte au Citron, Pecan Pie and Bread and Butter.

All in all this is a well thought through book for someone just starting to bake with pastry and those with a bit more experience who want to try something dazzling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Savoury treats that show Eric isn't just a sugar star, 27 July 2012
This review is from: Tart it Up!: Sweet and Savoury Tarts and Pies (Hardcover)
In sharp contrast to his last book, the black PVC bound "Cox Cookies and Cake", Tart It Up sees Eric in ethereal, pared down almost Delia How to Cook mode with this fresh book of sweet and savoury tarts and pies. It's a departure from the showy patisserie and glamour puds we know Eric for but still manages to be creative and visually rewarding. All manner of dough crusted concoctions are featured from calzone to filo and brioche pies. If you ever thought quiche was restricted to eggs and bacon you'll enjoy the breadth of fillings Eric brings to his tarts such as Curried Chicken to Belgian endive and Parma ham. Strawberry "tart royal" gets a topping of spun sugar and the humble tarte tatin is reworked as a savoury heirloom tomato version to stock your picnic basket. Tucked amongst the pastries are some more obvious favourites like pecan pie and tarte au citron but on the whole Tart It Up is stuffed with creative pastry fillings you'll want to try at home. Page after page of this book shows food I'd genuinely like to eat, this is my favourite of Eric's books so far and the scope of savoury recipes shows he's not just a sugar star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect pie or tart book!, 21 July 2012
By 
S. A. Broadhurst "SBroadhurst" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tart it Up!: Sweet and Savoury Tarts and Pies (Hardcover)
As seen on Channel 4, this book is an accompaniment to the popular series.

The book starts with a fantastic, easy to follow pastry basics masterclass. There are easy to follow instructions for Shortcrust Pastry; Brioche Pastry; and Puff Pastry, along with instructions on lining a tin and blind baking.

The remainder of the book is in two sections: Savoury Tarts and Pies and Sweet Tarts and Pies. Each section is jam packed with recipe ideas for both vegetarian and meat eaters, and include ideas for any occasion.

The recipes are clearly set out with suggested portions per recipe, average preparation and cooking times. There are comprehensive, yet detailed preparation instructions and often include helpful tips to aid preparation further. The recipes are all accompanied by photographs of the finished dish - these photographs are fuss free and feature just the finished dish, no smiley faces round a table included in this book, which seem to be popular in recipe books lately. These photographs sum up the book perfectly - simply, rustic ideas that would be suitable food for any home.

I think this would make a great addition to any kitchen library and will be one picked up frequently for a meal suggestion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baking lover's book!, 2 July 2012
This review is from: Tart it Up!: Sweet and Savoury Tarts and Pies (Hardcover)
I love baking and was eagerly waiting for this book! Not only because it is a baking book but also this is a book I was expecting to have lots of baked dessert recipes which it definitely does. This is Eric Lanlard's latest book on baking. BTW, I also own his first book Home Bake and I must say that is a fabulous book and a must have if you are into baking.

The recipes in this book of baking mostly involves some kind of pastry, the book is clearly divided in to two parts - Savoury and Sweet, and contains nearly hundred recipes including the accompaniments. The book starts off with the recipe of shortcrust pastry, which is probably the most used one in rest of the recipes listed in the book.

The book is like a box of treasures. It's difficult to choose from, as each and every one is equally tempting. To add to that There are mouth-watering photographs which will not let you close the book.

This is not a book for people who are on diet or planning to loose weight. Also I feel this is a book from where you will cook for special occasions and for someone you care for. If you plan to do a Julie and Julia project with this book and eat them all, you better keep your hospital number in speed dial. The amount of butter used in the pastry which is the base for any of the recipe in the book is just a fraction. for the filling there is similar amount of butter, double cream and sugar. Having said that, all these ingredients are key to the divine taste of the dishes.This book is definitely for the celebrations and the dinner parties you will be hosting in future and not for everyday cooking.

This is a beautifully pictured with step by step recipe given. Along with the textual description, some of the recipes have steps shown in pictures, which I thought is a huge plus point from readers perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric can Tart Me Up ANYTIME!!!!!!!!!, 17 July 2012
This review is from: Tart it Up!: Sweet and Savoury Tarts and Pies (Hardcover)
I'm a keen amateur baker ad i haven't done any savoury baking before.. I just got completely inspired when i recieved the book! I've already made the Iberian Chicken Pie and the Thai Crab Mini Pies for a dinner party and they were a great success!! the recipies worked perfectly and they were really easy to follow.

I'm lookng forward to making the Miso cod in brioche pie!!!!! It will be the first time i made a brioche pastry.

I will reccomend this book to anyone who loves baking, even amateurs like me!

Michela
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb42314a4)

This product

Tart it Up!: Sweet and Savoury Tarts and Pies
Tart it Up!: Sweet and Savoury Tarts and Pies by Eric Lanlard (Hardcover - 1 July 2012)
12.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews