Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The must have book for the serious wine enthusiast / professional, just got better
I first picked up this book in about 1984 when it was on its second edition and cost about 70 in today's money. Since then, the scope of the Atlas has widened, the number of pages increased and its price has fallen in absolute and relative terms. It is still the essential reference book for the serious wine drinker, collector, enthusiast or trade professional, along with...
Published 8 months ago by Gary White

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some good information, but definitely not a "World Atlas"..
Received as a gift for xmas and greatly appreciated the thought. After casually flicking through the book I have ascertained that the "World" according to the authors includes Europe and North America, with a couple of pages attributed to wines from Japan, South America and Australasia. No mention of rice wine from the Far East or anything more exotic than Malbec...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. J. Virdi


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immense!, 5 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a HUGE book (over 400 pages), filled with every conceivable piece of information the serious wine enthusiast could ever want to know (and a bit more on top). It is most likely wasted on the not-so-serious wine drinker (like myself), but to those who truly care (like my in-laws), it is a treasure trove of information. It is also an attractive volume, filled with full colour photos, illustrations and maps and will (hopefully) make an excellent Xmas gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incomparable, 23 Nov 2013
By 
Lulu (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Endlessly fascinating, stunning in its range and depth and beautifully-presented, a handsome and intelligent (and enormous) guide to be relied on wherever you might want to go in search of the world's wines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous book, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Doug "Doug" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I honestly cannot remember the last time that a book brought me this much pleasure.

The paper is very high quality and makes the photos jump out of the pages, the early pages are a fascinating background to wine, and then the regional pages with maps and associated facts are just wonderful.

I am enjoying having a glass of wine, while reading about the area in this book.

The regional pages really are a total delight with notes about the area, the history of wine making in the region, labels of wines, and wonderful maps to loose oneself in while dreaming of wine based holidays.

This book has already brought me hours of pleasure and I am sure will continue to.

I cannot recommend it strongly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Informative, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Nick Huckle "The Sponge" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This 7th edition of The World Atlas of Wine is a coffee table size tome of some 400 pages, each in colour. Like me you don't need to be an expert on wine to enjoy the book. Its written in a very clear style, suitable for both the laymen and expert alike. Every wine producing country in the world has its own section and each section is further broken down by region. Then within each region there are detailed maps, area photos and images of their wine labels. All in colour. The book is as much a wine encyclopedia as it is an atlas. Because as well as maps there is plenty of information on each region's wine such as history, pests, soil, climate as well of course details on the vines and types of wine produced. The main Atlas area of the book is prefaced with 40 odd pages on how wine is grown, produced stored and bottled. As well as some guidance on the best way to enjoy it. I've been flicking through this book, on and off, for a couple of weeks now and have learn't so much. I also have a very long list of previously unheard of wines I intend to track down and try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worldwide Wine, 12 Nov 2013
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have a copy of the `Book Club Associates' 1979 edition of `The World Atlas of Wine' and over the years it has given great pleasure as I dipped into it. My immediate reaction is that this new edition will do the same for years to come. As for many subjects I appreciate there are massive changes over the decades and this is confirmed for wine with the 7th edition - correctly claimed as `Completely Revised'. Not least of the changes is the presentation of information where previous reliance on classifications, appellations, vintage etc. has shifted to more personal assessments on locality and quality.

There are over 100 extra pages to allow detailed and exhaustive commentaries, necessitated for the numerous additional areas of wine production and a greater range of grape varieties. A quick look at `Contents' indicates newcomers such as China, Japan and New Zealand, and presumably to make room there are some omissions such as `Spirits', but from my own point of view - and taste - I am pleased to note emphasis on French wines - though the title accurately describes the book as `World Atlas'.

The book is beautifully presented in hard back with stitched construction to ensure longevity, and there are 2 marker ribbons. There seems to be an increase in illustrations, maps are more clearly printed than my previous edition, and there is additional use of colour. Printing is clear, text has been revised and layout is attractive. Finally, both the `Index' and the `Gazetteer' are comprehensive and after checking on known facts I confirm veracity. This classic book remains the most authoritative of wine literature for laymen such as myself - and probably for the professional connoisseur - and it fully deserves 5-star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handsome, informative book., 10 Nov 2013
By 
L Weale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a handsome,solid book printed on beautiful paper - which you need as it stuffed full of fabulous maps of wine regions and then local wine areas on top of that. The book is what you would expect from Hugh Johnson and Jancis Robinson - solid, informative and interesting.

It is a World Atlas of Wine and covers: France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Germany, England and Wales (one page, p243 - France gets p46 to p145, Switzerland, Austria, Hungary, The Czech Republic and Slovakia, The Western Balkans, Croatia, Slovenia, Bulgaria, Romania, The Black Sea Region, Georgia, Greece, Turkey, The Eastern Mediterranean, North America (inc. Canada and Mexico) p280-319, South America, Australia p332-354,New Zealand, South Africa and Asia, China and Japan. As well as a useful chat about wine making and tasting as an introduction.

We are told about the soil, the famous wines of the region and other useful information. For instance 'the Santa Ynez River marks the end of intense ocean influence. Soils are a patchwork of sand, silt, and clay. Pinot Noir, with Chardonnay as support, is the principal grape variety here and can be almost Burgundian'.

I'm giving it four stars because it doesn't matter how good you are, it is hard to do justice to such a huge subject in one volume. But is a lovely book and I will be dipping into it happily for sometime to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An established favourite for wine lovers, 6 Nov 2013
By 
Brian R. Martin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the 7th edition of a well-loved book that has established itself as a definitive guide for wine lovers. It starts with a set of informative brief sections, each just a few pages long, describing the history of wine making and how the modern industry has evolved, the structure of vines and the diseases they are subject to, including the notorious phylloxera, the major grape varieties and how the weather and soil type determine what is planted, what happen during the wine making process, and the effect of time on the final product. Finally, there are data on world wine production. Although less than 50 pages in total, I found these fascinating, and even if your interest in wines is only as an occasional drinker, they can be read with pleasure.

The rest of the book, some 350 pages, is devoted to detailed descriptions of the wines of the world structured by country, subdivided in the case of larger producers into regions. The ordering is not alphabetical, so to find your country of choice you will have to use the table of contents at the front of the book. Not surprisingly France has pole position and the largest entry. The structure is similar to those of other countries. Each region in this case has a detailed description of the area and the wines it produces, and sometimes the labels of major producers are illustrated. Notable features are the superb very detailed maps of the areas, with contour lines and vineyards clearly marked. The coverage is extensive, even China and England get a page or two, so the adventurous can take an informed punt on a new wine if they so choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great wine library addition, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Wonderful new edition. Well worth updating, especially from any even earlier editions than the 6th. A real joy. Indispensable. And Xmas is coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best!, 25 Oct 2013
By 
Setter man (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This, the 7th edition, was bought to replace an older edition I've had for some 10+ years and I am not disappointed - it's very well-updated, with even clearer maps (somehow!). As a quality hardback which is well-organised and set out covering the whole world of wine, and at a very good Amazon price, this is THE essential wine atlas. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Coffee Table Book, 24 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
I had an old version of this classic and was intrigued to see how it had changed - completely is the answer.
This is a superb reference to the whole world of wine.
Of course, with such a big subject, everything (except France) is thinly covered - I would have liked some detail on English wines - but I guess they can't fit everything in.
Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition
The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition by Jancis Robinson (Hardcover - 7 Oct 2013)
25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews