Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The must have book for the serious wine enthusiast / professional, just got better
I first picked up this book in about 1984 when it was on its second edition and cost about £70 in today's money. Since then, the scope of the Atlas has widened, the number of pages increased and its price has fallen in absolute and relative terms. It is still the essential reference book for the serious wine drinker, collector, enthusiast or trade professional, along with...
Published 18 months ago by Gary White

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New edition, with new images but almost the same ...
New edition, with new images but almost the same text. A lot of redaction work, but content out of recent data.
Published 3 months ago by Ludwik Ryng


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The must have book for the serious wine enthusiast / professional, just got better, 7 Nov. 2013
By 
Gary White "gwhitegeog" (Fulham, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I first picked up this book in about 1984 when it was on its second edition and cost about £70 in today's money. Since then, the scope of the Atlas has widened, the number of pages increased and its price has fallen in absolute and relative terms. It is still the essential reference book for the serious wine drinker, collector, enthusiast or trade professional, along with Jancis Robinson's Oxford Companion to Wine.
Before we discuss the maps, it is important to appreciate that this is an excellent reference book in its own right. There is a host of information on the history of wine, grape varieties, climate, soil, diseases, cellaring and storage, bottling techniques, fermentation, etc. The maps and estate profiles focus heavily on the classic wine regions of the Old and New World - no surprises here - like Bordeaux, Burgundy, Champagne, Rhone, Alsace, Tuscany, Piedmont, Rhineland, Napa, Barossa. But as the wine world has evolved over the last 40 years (since the book was first published), new regions have been added like Central Otago in New Zealand or England. Regions that have undergone a renaissance (such as Sicily or Puglia in Italy) have been expanded. Each region (or sub-region) mapped includes potted estate profiles and domaine / regional descriptions and characteristics. There's a glossary and gazetteer too. Given that this is an erudite work and its scholarship impeccable, the price is a bargain.
I only took off one star due to the fact I am a New World wine enthusiast and the Atlas has always been weaker in this area - e.g. Chile and Argentina. Also as an Old World wine producer, Portugal (outside Douro) is poorly served. As a geography professional and a map specialist (leaving aside my passion for wine) I have always thought some of the cartography could be better but I think these are highly specialised maps - the problem is some of the base topographic mapping that they use is quite old. But these are constructive criticisms in the context of a fine book with a solid pedigree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 18 Dec. 2013
By 
C M Cotton "Chris Cotton" (Europe and USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have reviewed a number of wine books for the Vine programme. Whilst I am not a connoisseur of fine wine, I enjoy drinking it and experimenting with the more unusual wines and vineyards. I have found books to be an invaluable source of information and ideas of what to buy and try.

This book is no exception. It exudes quality, the paper is thick, the photographs are full of colour and the page layout is very clear. The information is extensive and I like how the book divides wine growing into the Regions, as it makes it much easier to follow. The book explains the history, background, vineyards and shows everything on maps of the Regions.....wonderful.

This is a well written wine encyclopedia, with virtually all the information you could need for understanding and buying wine. Everything is clearly written and laid out. Simply put I cannot recommend this book enough.

Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent gift, but buy two because you will want to keep it for yourself!, 11 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
I have many different editions of this book and I have to say this is my favourite up to yet. It has grown in size covering many more regions with clear and easy to view maps and guides. Everything is in here from viti to vini! The book is huge and the printing quality absolutely spot on. The book comes in a sturdy slip case and oozes quality. The pages are bright and clear and include everything you could possibly want to know about the various regions, grape varieties, terroir, classification systems in place by many different countries even tips on storage etc. It even gives tips on what to look out for in the wines and how to taste.

I'd recommend this book for anyone interested in wine, even if you know very little or are a top enthusiast and just want a reference volume. In the internet driven world you'd be forgiven for thinking that everything you need to know is out there on the web. However, this book has it all and it clear maps are a godsend. You can spend an age searching for a decent map of a given region on the web, yet this book has a perfect map for every region right there amongst its pages.

This would make an excellent gift for any wine lover out there and I am sure they'd love you for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully produced, enjoyable and authoritative book, 27 Oct. 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I agree with the chorus of praise for this book. It is beautifully produced and packed with information.

Hugh Johnson and Jancis Robinson are phenomenally knowledgeable, and they have used that to produce a world-class reference work which is also a pleasure to browse in. It has beautiful, detailed maps and interesting, readable text so that opening a page at random is very enjoyable just for a browse, but there is a lot of proper expertise here with an excellent index and in-depth articles on things like the factors which affect the quality of Bordeaux wines and so on. Each country gets a proper introductory overview and detailed (in some cases like Bordeaux, micro-detailed) analysis of regions, all backed up with excellent maps, pictures of labels and the like.

Truly, anything the non-professional would ever need to know about wine is here, and it's plainly used as a reference by professionals, too. It is, therefore, a very substantial volume at nearly 400 large-format pages, and the only slightly negative thing I have to say about it is that it is heavy enough to be a challenge to the wrists after a very short time - but then extensive reference books have to be weighty, and it's fine to read on a table or your lap. I'm delighted with this book and would warmly recommend it to anyone with an interest in wine at any level: it's crammed with authoritative information and a pleasure to read and to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great update on authoritative book, 17 Nov. 2013
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having ordered this tome, I discovered that I had the first edition (from the '70s) stuck at the back of a bookcase... so it is interesting to see how it has changed over the past decades.

The new version has a very similar layout - but the maps look cleaner and better.
There are (obviously) many more and different wines to choose from, but they are in the same order as the original (France first and then in a descending order of something) the rest of the world ending vaguely in New Zealand and other small wine producers.

Lots of useful information at the start about the history and industry of wine, a discussion of the various types of grape etc., but the book is mostly pages and pages of Wine. Which is a Good Thing.

The original is now in a charity shop somewhere in Worthing... and I shall now enjoy this new version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended to me by an experienced wine taster, 6 April 2014
By 
Mr. W. A. Smith (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
It's a really good book. I have been wine tasting for about a year and a half, however I have only started to take it seriously and really want to improve for about 6 months. I asked one of the guys at my wine tasting group who has been wine tasting for a little over 20 years, if he'd recommend any books, he recommended this. I later asked my wine merchant who agreed. I'm not a total novice, but neither am I an expert. I found the tone of the book, and the style of writing really helpful. The book is not so expert I find it hard to enjoy, and not too basic to make it boring. It's pitched very well for someone like me. The first 40 or so pages are general information on wine making, terroir, grapes etc. Then it moves on to the atlas section, with comments on the region, lot's of data and the like. It's a great book and I am enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 'go to' book for non-expert wine lover, 20 Nov. 2013
By 
Robert O. Davidson (glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What a bargain this book is. It is an informative, interesting, educational, pleasurable, unpretentious, beautifully illustrated 400 page tome. It is full of essential facts about the wine regions in all of the significant wine producing countriess of the world and many of the smaller less well known ones too. The descriptions of the various wines and tasting notes are a great guide which allows you to get to know old favourites better and introduces you to new varieties destined to become essential additions to your wine cellar. The tasting notes are also jargon free which is a plus for someone like me who finds wine bores full of pretentious verbal diarrhoea extremely irritating. There are lovely maps and photographs which are an added bonus. If you enjoy wine and would like to discover more this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vino Bible, 15 Jan. 2014
By 
Contributor77 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A beautiful comprehensive hard backed book that'll bring any coffee table to life. This guide and reference book is a great look into some of the wines you didn't know all that much about and specific regions. Photography in this volume is great too.

Whether you're into wine tasting or just enjoy the odd bottle it'll be sure to grow your knowledge and lead to you trying new and more interesting wines along the way. It is quite literally the wine bible. Whilst on that journey through the countries and different wines you'll expand your geography knowledge as I certainly learnt a few things from a few quick browses through. Certainly a book that you will pick up and read a section or two at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow this is one serious book, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
Reviewser - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We have the 5th edition of this book so it was great to have an opportunity to review the new one.

I am pleased to say it hasn't lost any of its charm and really does provide an immense amount of information. This wonderful almanac is a great way to learn more about the wine regions you love!

Surprisingly most of this has been re-written since the 5th edition bringing worthwhile updates throughout.

There is a huge amount of information in this book but you are sure not to get bored.

I'd recommend this to any winelover as it is written in a very approachable manner meaning it can be enjoyed by all.

5 star book without a shadow of a doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Volume, 16 Jan. 2014
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This gorgeous book is an updated version of a volume that's been on many a wine-drinker's bookshelf for a number of years. Frighteningly, there now appear to be more wine drinkers and therefore demand for wine, than producers can cope with. If this trend continues, prices are sure to rocket.

This de facto encyclopedia covers the whole grape-growing world and does so using sensible language that doesn't resort to florid over-expession. And apparently one of its co-writers, Jancis Robinson, gets a bit miffed if you feel you don't need to buy this edition just because you own an earlier one. You wouldn't want to upset the lovely Jancis now, would you?

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition
The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition by Jancis Robinson (Hardcover - 7 Oct. 2013)
£32.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews