Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The must have book for the serious wine enthusiast / professional, just got better
I first picked up this book in about 1984 when it was on its second edition and cost about 70 in today's money. Since then, the scope of the Atlas has widened, the number of pages increased and its price has fallen in absolute and relative terms. It is still the essential reference book for the serious wine drinker, collector, enthusiast or trade professional, along with...
Published 5 months ago by Gary White

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some good information, but definitely not a "World Atlas"..
Received as a gift for xmas and greatly appreciated the thought. After casually flicking through the book I have ascertained that the "World" according to the authors includes Europe and North America, with a couple of pages attributed to wines from Japan, South America and Australasia. No mention of rice wine from the Far East or anything more exotic than Malbec...
Published 3 months ago by Mr. J. Virdi


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The must have book for the serious wine enthusiast / professional, just got better, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Gary White "gwhitegeog" (Fulham, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I first picked up this book in about 1984 when it was on its second edition and cost about 70 in today's money. Since then, the scope of the Atlas has widened, the number of pages increased and its price has fallen in absolute and relative terms. It is still the essential reference book for the serious wine drinker, collector, enthusiast or trade professional, along with Jancis Robinson's Oxford Companion to Wine.
Before we discuss the maps, it is important to appreciate that this is an excellent reference book in its own right. There is a host of information on the history of wine, grape varieties, climate, soil, diseases, cellaring and storage, bottling techniques, fermentation, etc. The maps and estate profiles focus heavily on the classic wine regions of the Old and New World - no surprises here - like Bordeaux, Burgundy, Champagne, Rhone, Alsace, Tuscany, Piedmont, Rhineland, Napa, Barossa. But as the wine world has evolved over the last 40 years (since the book was first published), new regions have been added like Central Otago in New Zealand or England. Regions that have undergone a renaissance (such as Sicily or Puglia in Italy) have been expanded. Each region (or sub-region) mapped includes potted estate profiles and domaine / regional descriptions and characteristics. There's a glossary and gazetteer too. Given that this is an erudite work and its scholarship impeccable, the price is a bargain.
I only took off one star due to the fact I am a New World wine enthusiast and the Atlas has always been weaker in this area - e.g. Chile and Argentina. Also as an Old World wine producer, Portugal (outside Douro) is poorly served. As a geography professional and a map specialist (leaving aside my passion for wine) I have always thought some of the cartography could be better but I think these are highly specialised maps - the problem is some of the base topographic mapping that they use is quite old. But these are constructive criticisms in the context of a fine book with a solid pedigree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully produced, enjoyable and authoritative book, 27 Oct 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I agree with the chorus of praise for this book. It is beautifully produced and packed with information.

Hugh Johnson and Jancis Robinson are phenomenally knowledgeable, and they have used that to produce a world-class reference work which is also a pleasure to browse in. It has beautiful, detailed maps and interesting, readable text so that opening a page at random is very enjoyable just for a browse, but there is a lot of proper expertise here with an excellent index and in-depth articles on things like the factors which affect the quality of Bordeaux wines and so on. Each country gets a proper introductory overview and detailed (in some cases like Bordeaux, micro-detailed) analysis of regions, all backed up with excellent maps, pictures of labels and the like.

Truly, anything the non-professional would ever need to know about wine is here, and it's plainly used as a reference by professionals, too. It is, therefore, a very substantial volume at nearly 400 large-format pages, and the only slightly negative thing I have to say about it is that it is heavy enough to be a challenge to the wrists after a very short time - but then extensive reference books have to be weighty, and it's fine to read on a table or your lap. I'm delighted with this book and would warmly recommend it to anyone with an interest in wine at any level: it's crammed with authoritative information and a pleasure to read and to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive and concise, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Dr. J. Buchan (N.E. Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
if you only have one book on wine - - this is it
comprehensive, knowledgeable and concise with suitable emphasis on the 'New World' offerings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book at very good discount, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Really wanted this book but very expensive at full price. This promptly despatched new copy at 25% of the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thirsty work, reading..., 16 Jan 2014
By 
stylepuppy (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What a delicious book! You always hope, when choosing these big coffee table books, that they'll live up to expectations but too often they're all style and no substance. This book, which is co-authored by renowned wine expert Jancis Robinson and Hugh Johnson, author of The Pocket Wine Guide (11m copies sold!) is thankfully full of substance and presents it all with real flair. It's like the wine equivalent of one of those wishful travel books that's full of fascinating locations you'll probably never visit, except with this book you never have to leave the armchair and the glitzy locations come to visit you inside well-travelled bottles - unfortunately you'll probably still have to pay their fare. The introductory chapters cover the ways and means of wine production as well as bringing you up to date with what's happening across the wine world as new wine-growing locations come on stream. Then it's off around the world, region by region, with each section breaking down its featured country into regions and detailing the grape varieties that thrive in each and the unique characteristics of wine produced in that location. There are lots of maps to peruse, so you really get an understanding of exactly where your chosen tipple has travelled from - but they'd be equally useful if you were travelling to a particular region and wanted to arrive already informed on the local wines.

One of the most interesting aspects of the book, especially if you've got an earlier edition, is seeing the new vineyards that are now appearing in Asia and other parts of the world - some of these only now possible because of a warming climate. You don't have to be a real wine buff to appreciate or enjoy the book, it's a delight even if (like me) you'd just like to browse an off-license or supermarket shelf and know some more about what you're actually looking at. It also makes an ideal partner to Hugh Johnson's diminutive tome The Pocket Wine Book - keep one on the coffee table for browsing and the other in the glove compartment for shopping and you might never waste good money on bad wine again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great purchase for the wine enthusiast!, 27 Oct 2013
By 
S. J. Williams "stevejw2" (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a perfect book for those with a developing interest in wine. Introductory chapters cover historical aspects, the vine, grape varieties, terroir etc with some tips on enjoying wine. This section is just over 30pp. However, the real nature of the book is readily apparent in its title: it is, essentially, an atlas, full of national and then regional maps covering the world of wine. These maps are superb: admirably clear, sensibly colour coded so that adjacent areas are clearly differentiated by an appropriate colour contrast, in a scale which allows sufficient detail to sit comfortably with the size available for the map. The text adjacent to each map explores the characteristics of the wine of that region and gives information about growing conditions, grape varieties, fermentation etc. There is interesting explanatory information, too, about the classification systems in place within the countries/regions covered. Obviously this is important in 'reading' the wine label and getting to grips with what is on offer on the shelf, so to speak. A gazetteer enables the reader to identify the most notable chateaux, quintas and vineyards on the maps, though it goes without saying that only the most prestigious get any real mention in the text.

Predictably, the country with the largest entry is France with 102pp, followed by North America with 40pp. Australia manages only 24pp. Important regions within these national sections have a section devoted to them: Bordeaux, on its own gets 30pp, subdivided into the specific appellations of Margaux, Pauillac etc. This makes the book a particularly good choice for those beginning to explore wine beyond the level of simply enjoying drinking whatever is available: pretty much everything is covered, as far as I can see, in a degree of depth. (I bought my previous copy about 40 years ago and for some time this was constantly dipped into and prompted numerous experimental purchases. It's a perfect companion piece to Hugh Johnson's annual Pocket Wine Guide.)

I suspect that this aspect of the book might be the one most likely to disappoint more seasoned purchasers: if one's interest is fairly focussed, say Rhone or Australian wines, then one is buying a lot of book for relatively few pages and the depth within those pages is not as good as a regional enthusiast might like. For the serious wine nut I would go for the Oxford Companion to Wine, but be warned that that tome is not really a casual browse as it has a level of detail and inclusiveness which borders on the academic and is quite specialised. Those of us with more obsessive interest should pester Faber to reissue and update their excellent series of wine monographs from the eighties which covered a number of regional and national wine areas. And it would be wonderful to have Penning-Rowsell's and Learmonth's revered tomes on Bordeaux and the Rhone updated and reprinted. The Wines of Bordeaux (Penguin Handbooks), The Wines of the Northern Rhone

Recommended, though I doubt that owners of the 5th or 6th editions need rush out to replace it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Serious Wine Enthusiast, 1 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. R. J. Wyndham (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have a copy of the 1973 1st edition of the wine atlas, so it was time, to update my library!

Over the past 40 years the wine world has changed, and this is reflected in the growth from 272 pages to 400. However I note that French coverage has increased from 72 pages to 97 - so I conclude that the latest edition generally contains more data, rather than just adding details of new wine areas.

The maps are very clear, and the quality of layout remains very good. So this is an excellent first call to reference wine queries, although it is in fact quite readable, if you want to dip in and read up on a particular country.

However despite its size, if you want real detail on an area - for example we were recently in Alicante - you are better off finding a specialist wine book for a country or district.

But, as per my title to this review, I think this book is essential to a wine enthusiast's library. I won't wait 40 years before getting the next update.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Christmas present, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Recommend to others - yes. If you love wine an excellent guide to wine and what to choose - very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended to me by an experienced wine taster, 6 April 2014
By 
Mr. W. A. Smith (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
It's a really good book. I have been wine tasting for about a year and a half, however I have only started to take it seriously and really want to improve for about 6 months. I asked one of the guys at my wine tasting group who has been wine tasting for a little over 20 years, if he'd recommend any books, he recommended this. I later asked my wine merchant who agreed. I'm not a total novice, but neither am I an expert. I found the tone of the book, and the style of writing really helpful. The book is not so expert I find it hard to enjoy, and not too basic to make it boring. It's pitched very well for someone like me. The first 40 or so pages are general information on wine making, terroir, grapes etc. Then it moves on to the atlas section, with comments on the region, lot's of data and the like. It's a great book and I am enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars World Atlas of wine, 19 Mar 2014
This review is from: The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition (Hardcover)
Has been updated and is easy to use. Good as a reference book as it includes most varieties of wine produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa063f78)

This product

The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition
The World Atlas of Wine, 7th Edition by Jancis Robinson (Hardcover - 7 Oct 2013)
24.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews