Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic
I just love this book! I've already spent a few happy hours armchair gardening. You can choose a favourite plant and find suggestions for others that harmonise or provide contrast but importantly flower at the same time and prefer similar conditions of light, shade, soil moisture and pH etc. You can then look up the entries for these plants for another set of suggested...
Published on 22 April 2008 by Blue eyed stranger

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
What a great idea for a book!
Sadly it is not a great book - in fact it is a total con!
This is written by Tony Lord with photographs by Andrew Lawson but which came first?
Have the photographs been taken to illustrate the text or has the text been written to make the best of the photographs?
I can't help thinking it is the latter.
Many of the...
Published 14 months ago by Truman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love this book! I've already spent a few happy hours armchair gardening. You can choose a favourite plant and find suggestions for others that harmonise or provide contrast but importantly flower at the same time and prefer similar conditions of light, shade, soil moisture and pH etc. You can then look up the entries for these plants for another set of suggested neighbours and so on... You can play a form of "Mornington Crescent" by seeing how many times you repeat this process before you come across "Verbena bonariensis". Maybe I should get out more and put my plans into action!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your combinations sorted, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Not a surprise to find an RHS publication that 'does what is says on the cover'. A pleasure to use, for both novice and professional.

What appears initially to be just another book of beautiful photographs, turns out to be a comprehensive tome bursting with ideas. All right, by the very nature of things not all those ideas are new, but, having read the 'How to use the Book' section you can hardly go wrong. The impressive amount of detail ensures whatever idea takes you fancy, you will be given exact instructions on its suitabilty for your site. Not just for your climate zone, but water and light requirements, suitability of soil type, colour combinations , time year for flowering of each item in the combination, plant heights, plus variations on the basic planting combinations.

I am thinking of buying a second copy as one is bound to be soiled by constantly being outside working with(for) me.

Just Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 17 May 2012
By 
Paulina D. Swierzy (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Planting Combinations: Over 4,000 Achievable Planting Schemes (Paperback)
Really helpful when planning garden; combined plants not only grow well together but also look fantastic.a must have
book for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Planting Combinations: Over 4,000 Achievable Planting Schemes (Paperback)
What a great idea for a book!
Sadly it is not a great book - in fact it is a total con!
This is written by Tony Lord with photographs by Andrew Lawson but which came first?
Have the photographs been taken to illustrate the text or has the text been written to make the best of the photographs?
I can't help thinking it is the latter.
Many of the `plant combinations' are far from great - bordering on the mundane.
The range and selection of combinations really does suggest that Mr Lawson is giving as many pics in his photographic library an airing rather than the pair of them really offering up a genuinely interesting and helpful work.
The lists of `other plants to use' for each combination illustrated are quite banal - seemingly plucked out of the air perhaps in haste - perhaps by Lawson rather than Lord.
It is quite shocking that the RHS has endorsed this shoddy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly visionary and not really an encyclopedia, 6 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am disappointed with this book. I have found the other rhs guides very useful and have learnt a lot from them, but this seems to me to be more of a coffee table book. I find the planting suggestions uninspiring and unoriginal - honeysuckle with ivy for example. The photos seem underexposed, and have poor detail, as if the colours have bled. It is also difficult to use if you want to search for a particular plant. It is not organised in a simple A -Z fashion like an encyclopedia. It is split into strangely grouped sections. There are often many page references for one plant, because of the way the book is organised, and some that I would think quite ordinary aren't listed. I was surprised to find no section on ferns and grasses, yet there are large sections on roses and hostas, outside of the section on perennials. It is illogically organised. I find the section at the front about design unnecessary. The same goes for the advice about what colour and shape goes with what in the descriptions of the plants. I was hoping for an encyclopedia simply listing plant combinations, not a design book. It's ok if you have a lot of money, and are just beginning, and have no sense of colour or design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book for armchair detectives., 10 Sep 2013
This review is from: RHS Encyclopedia of Planting Combinations: Over 4,000 Achievable Planting Schemes (Paperback)
The book opens by stating it's not meant to be a series of recipes for perfect planting.... Unfortunately, a recipe book was exactly what I was hoping for! This book is laid out in the conventional sections of trees & shrubs, perennials, annuals, bulbs etc, with expanded sections for certain plants, e. g. roses. Each plant is then described and photographed with a handy guide to the range of conditions it will tolerate. A list of possible companions is then provided and this is where the trouble starts. The companion plants cover the entire range of the conditions the first plant tolerates, so you find a nice plant that will tolerate your partially shaded alkaline flower bed and then have to eliminate all the possible companions that need full sun or acid soil. And just to make to job more long winded, not all of the companions are actually featured in the book, so you have to go to an outside resource to find out they're not suitable for your conditions. Very frustrating!

I would much prefer a book which is divided by conditions, deep shade, partial shade, etc and then subdivided by moist or dry soil, acid to alkaline, exposed to sheltered and so on. I might only end up with only one recommendation for my difficult border, but at least it would form a solid base that would thrive and look good that I could get started on.

This book is enjoyable for browsing, does contain useful information and has lots of nice photos to look at (although the photographs do tend to emphasise contrasting schemes, rather than complimentary schemes, which I prefer.) I have spent many hours nosing through the book and I've enjoyed it, but it hasn't helped me to replant my difficult front border.

It's definitely a book for the armchair detectives who want to do a lot of extra research and careful planning. It's not a book for people who want a simple solution, to get their hands dirty and see a result.

Finally, the photographs are nearly all close ups of two or three plants together to show flower colour, leaf shape etc in close proximity. But this doesn't give an impression of what they would actually look like in a border, which is generally viewed from several feet away!

This book will work for some people, and it's as enjoyable as browsing through plant catalogues, but it's not a recipe book of planting schemes, so if that's what you're seeking or have a problem area to solve, you may be better off with something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RHSEncyclopaedia of Planting Combinations, 15 April 2009
By 
Mrs. J. Turner (Wrexham, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent book for someone on a horticultural course. I purchased it for my son who's aim is to be a landscape architect and he finds it an excellent reference tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated, 10 Mar 2009
The title says it all. It is suitable for both the enthusiastic inexperienced & knowledgeable gardener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide to harmonious planting, 17 Dec 2008
By 
Wiltshire Bookworm (Chippenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is one of the most well-thumbed books in my garden book collection. It's a comprehensive guide to plants, but with a twist. Select a plant you're interested in and you'll find a number of suggestions of plants which combine with it well. A lot of gardening magazines suggest the same combinations time after time. Use this guide instead and you'll not only have a garden that's different from the rest, you'll have a garden that hangs together.

One word of warning - it won't prevent those impulse buys at the garden centre, but it will tell you which plants to buy to go with them at your next visit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and inspiring, 13 Feb 2010
By 
Suzie (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot imagine anyone who loves plants and gardening not loving this book. It is gorgeous and provides plenty of inspiration for unusual combinations, some of which are stunningly simple.

It's divided into sections covering groups of plants from small trees and shrubs, through climbing plants and roses, to perennials, bulbs and annuals. There's a useful introductory section that explains how to use the book and briefly explores the various factors to be considered when choosing plants to complement others - texture, habit, size, season etc - and offers a brief description of the styles of renowned gardeners such as Rosemary Verey or Christopher Lloyd.

The photographs are beautiful, as would be expected from Andrew Lawson, but for each combination shown there are alternative suggestions that would work equally well. In each section, the featured plants are listed in alphabetical order with basic cultural requirements such as aspect, hardiness, preferred soil pH, etc but the book doesn't purport to provide detailed cultural instructions and recommends being used in conjunction with an encyclopaedia of plants. This would certainly be useful for a beginner, or where you're not familiar with the genera discussed or with the variety of cultivars that could be tried instead.

All in all, it's a superb book to browse from an armchair by the fire, but it's also an inspiration to get outside to start planting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6b86684)

This product

RHS Encyclopedia of Planting Combinations: Over 4,000 Achievable Planting Schemes
16.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews