Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating book
I got this as a birthday present. An inspired gift because I love the whole lifestyle of finding wood, chopping and storing it, then keeping warm and cosy with it. This guy seems to have real passion and knowledge. I learned a lot too - loads of stuff about wood types - which I didn't know. A great little volume to dip in and out of.
Published on 14 Oct 2012 by OldTimer

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition is very poor
The content appears fine but I bought the iPad Kindle edition. It does not format correctly, you cannot expand the page. If I try to expand the page it just explodes tha paragraph and drops back to tiny writing. Difficult to read without magnifying glass. Very small letters.

If I turn my iPad horizontal the page refusing to go into landscape mode. Very...
Published 19 months ago by M. Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating book, 14 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Wood Fire Handbook (Hardcover)
I got this as a birthday present. An inspired gift because I love the whole lifestyle of finding wood, chopping and storing it, then keeping warm and cosy with it. This guy seems to have real passion and knowledge. I learned a lot too - loads of stuff about wood types - which I didn't know. A great little volume to dip in and out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The passion of a true woodsman, 28 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Wood Fire Handbook (Hardcover)
A very rare book in that it combines the enthusiasm and experience of a man whose lifetime in forestry means he really knows what he is talking about with the background science of combustion and biology of growing wood so we understand all the delights and nuances of a wood fire. Written in a steady, friendly style, it has the manner of a fireside conversation, and is illustrated with excellent photographs and diagrams. A beautifully designed book that goes way beyond just being a manual. This is a good read or an excellent gift even if you live in a high rise block of flats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A superb read!, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Caroline Keen (Loughborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wood Fire Handbook (Hardcover)
Whilst being amused and amazed that someone can fill a book with information about firewood, I found myself both captivated and informed by the contents of this great book. Having had an open fire in my house for 25 years, I am now the proud owner of two wood burners. A friend recommended this book, and I grudgingly succumbed to the notion I could learn more about wood. I have learnt loads and continue to refer to it, particularly concerning the sourcing,buying,storing, and identifying of good seasoned and green wood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you could wish for, 20 Mar 2013
By 
D. Halliday (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wood Fire Handbook (Hardcover)
This is a really nice book in every way. The presentation is beautiful. The information is comprehensive, it goes in to the subject of burning wood as fuel from every angle.

The book is good value for money and good value for time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas present for my son, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wood Fire Handbook (Hardcover)
He has just had a 'real fire' installed in his house. This book was received with delight, and has been found both interesting and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERYTHING YOU NEED, 15 Jun 2013
By 
A. J. Fisher "fish" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wood Fire Handbook (Hardcover)
This is the book you need if you wanna' learn more about the art of fires and running you wood burner to its max potential...all in one hard bound volume. Excellent and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for the woodburners in your life, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wood Fire Handbook (Hardcover)
Found this to be a bible as we stumbled our way through as novices to our woodburning stove - really excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wood Fire Handbook (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book. Brought it for my partner for Christmas and his brother went out and brought a copy for himself. Its in great short, easy o read sections and really informative!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wood Fire Handbook (Hardcover)
Excellent purchase. Very informative. I use it all the time. 3 of my friends are investing in a copy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The science of the drying process of firewood was dealt with in language that could be easily understood by the layman or laywom, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wood Fire Handbook (Hardcover)
From the start, this was a very enjoyable read. It had something for everybody, from the experienced woodsman to the person with little or no knowledge of preparing firewood or tending a woodfire.
The chapters were laid out in a logical order, and the writing style was such that anybody could open a page at random and glean some gem of wisdom, about how to cut down trees safety, or how to prepare, split and stack firewood, or how to make a fire and keep it going.
The science of the drying process of firewood was dealt with in language that could be easily understood by the layman or laywoman. Terms like latent heat, moisture content and the effect of volume and surface area proportions lost their sense of mystery once they were explained in Mr. Thurkettle’s easy comprehensible style of writing.
The hardback cover had an unusually solid feel to it, and the pages could be opened fully in a way that the spine of the book would not suffer any long term damage. For a book that is so reasonably priced it has an expensive look to it, and would take some considerable abuse without losing its good looks.
All in all this was excellent value for money and, in my opinion, obligatory reading for anybody with an interest in the outdoors in general and the maintenance of wood fires in particular.

Michael Kearney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wood Fire Handbook
The Wood Fire Handbook by Vincent Thurkettle (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2012)
£13.49
Usually dispatched within 9 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews