Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous
I have made several recipes from this book and, as with all Levi Roots recipes, they turned out well. I love this book and would recommend it to everyone. The photographs are bright and the recipe instructions are clear and, although it sounds daft, this book makes me feel full of sunshine and joy!
Published on 29 July 2012 by Claire

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did anyone actually test these recipes?
What do you make of a cookbook that goes horribly, horribly wrong with the first recipe you try - and all for want of one further dimension to describe the depth of the baking tin required? Why did Levi Roots fail to say that the baking tin for his Lime Bars should be DEEP?

As a consequence of putting the Lime Bar top layer over the dough base in too shallow a...
Published 19 months ago by Sue Kichenside


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet: Over 100 Fabulocious Recipes for Irresistible Desserts and Drinks, Cakes and Bakes (Hardcover)
I have made several recipes from this book and, as with all Levi Roots recipes, they turned out well. I love this book and would recommend it to everyone. The photographs are bright and the recipe instructions are clear and, although it sounds daft, this book makes me feel full of sunshine and joy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tropical twists, 15 Dec 2012
By 
Marand (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sweet: Over 100 Fabulocious Recipes for Irresistible Desserts and Drinks, Cakes and Bakes (Hardcover)
I got this really cheap as part of an offer - I am a cook book addict and the prospect of getting a nice hard-backed book for a couple of quid meant that it was an easy decision even though I hadn't seen the book before purchase.

The book offers a Caribbean twist on many common sweets & puds. For example, there are gorgeous (& easy) tropical Florentines, or chocolate & lime cake, wondrous billionaires shortbread with a chocolate shortbread, mango tarte tatin, lime bars, chocolate & ginger tiffin, passion fruit & orange soufflé, easy mango & mascarpone fool. There is a whole chapter of barbecue puds and another full of lovely ices - think rum & toffee apple ice cream or stem ginger or mango & lime, passion fruit & orange or pineapple & rosewater sorbet. There are some nice drinks at the end too.

The instructions for the recipes I have tried have been clear and the resulting cakes, puds, etc have been successful. For a book that I bought on the off-chance because it was a cheap extra I have to say I am very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puddings will never be the same again..., 1 July 2012
This review is from: Sweet: Over 100 Fabulocious Recipes for Irresistible Desserts and Drinks, Cakes and Bakes (Hardcover)
This book is a much-needed breath of fresh air - or, more accurately, a soft Carribbean breeze - that reinvigorates the instition of British baking.

Levi Roots again brings us his Sunshine Kit of flavours - ginger, allspice, nutmeg, Scotch Bonnet chillies, coriander, thyme and bay leaves - but this time to reinvent all things sweet. The book includes Cakes, Biscuits & Bars, Pies & Tarts, Creamy Puds, Baked & Steamed Puds, Fresh & Fruity Puds, Barbecued Puds, Ices, Sweets and Drinks; every kind of sweet you could possibly want.

There really is something for every occasion, be it a barbecue with Fire-Roasted Peaches and Mango Bellinis; snuggling down for a movie with Butter Maple Popcorn and Apple Crisps; Banana Pancakes for breakfast; or a fabulocious birthday party with Chocolate and Lime cake, Malteser Milkshakes and Rum & Toffee Apple Ice Cream!

The recipes all seem to balance the element of sweetness with something more exotic and exciting, such as Cardamom and Allspice Brownies, Honey & Tamarind Cake with Lime Icing, Strawberry & Mango Shortcake, Salted Caramel Cheesecake, Mango & Passionfruit Dacquoise, Strawberry & Honey-Pineapple Fruit Lollies, Tamarind Balls, Raspberry & Pineapple Limeade...and so many more.

Levi, who has been cooking Carribbean feasts for his family since being taught by his grandmother as a child, is keen to get children in the kitchen and I think they will definitely enjoy this book! The two recipes that I have tried out so far are wonderfully simple, quick and easy to make - with killer results. I made the Chocolate and Ginger Tiffin - full of flavour, with juicy sultanas, hazelnuts, broken-up ginger biscuits, and the sweetness offset by the bitter dark chocolate topping... so more-ish. I also made the deliciously refreshing Pineapple and Rosewater Sorbet; simply heaven.

There is a focus on fresh fruit; as Levi explains, 'fruit-sweet' was the main source of sweetness growing up in Jamacaica, as wonderful tropical fruit is so abundant and flavourful there, while cream was rare and only used for very special occasions. This is why there's only one chapter in the book for Creamy Puds - the rest pretty much lets the fruit shine through, which is great because it's a lot healthier than most stodgy British puds! At first it would seem that a lot of the recipes are more suited to summer, due to seasonality of fruits - however, a lot of fruits can be found at good markets, or even tinned; I used tinned pineapple for the sorbet and it was just as delicious. There are also many recipes suited to winter, such as the Cardamom and Allspice Brownies - what better way to warm your tastebuds and spirit on a cold day, than with a bit of spice?

I can safely say that once you go Sweet, you won't want to go back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did anyone actually test these recipes?, 11 May 2013
By 
Sue Kichenside - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sweet: Over 100 Fabulocious Recipes for Irresistible Desserts and Drinks, Cakes and Bakes (Hardcover)
What do you make of a cookbook that goes horribly, horribly wrong with the first recipe you try - and all for want of one further dimension to describe the depth of the baking tin required? Why did Levi Roots fail to say that the baking tin for his Lime Bars should be DEEP?

As a consequence of putting the Lime Bar top layer over the dough base in too shallow a baking tin, the very wet mixture poured over the top and all over the kitchen worktop necessitating an epic clear-up operation involving, amongst other things, almost an entire roll of kitchen paper. Then began the herculean task of somehow adding depth to the tin after the event by constructing an outer, upper edge out of silver foil. It didn't work - and still the wet mixture continued to ooze out in every direction. The end result, though edible and indeed very zingy, looked insubstantially flat and unappetising. More Lime Biscuit than Lime Bar.

It would not be fair to review a cookbook on one recipe alone so today I made his Almond Cake with Lime & Cardamom Syrup. Once again, the given quantities do not seem right. The quantity of syrup (which, incidentally, takes an age to reduce and thicken) is far too much for the cake which, as a consequence, became totally sodden. Again, the cake itself is very tasty and is going down well with all the family but I feel it would have been much better - and certainly much cheaper - with half the quantity of the lime and cardamom syrup.

Sadly, my patience and my purse prevent me from trying any more of your recipes, Mr Roots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sunshine on a plate..., 7 April 2013
By 
Kathleen (SCHELDEWINDEKE, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet: Over 100 Fabulocious Recipes for Irresistible Desserts and Drinks, Cakes and Bakes (Hardcover)
This is a sunfilled, joyful book with an attractive, colourful layout and enticing pictures. The recipes are well written, give clear instructions, are simple to achieve and turn out really well. Levi Roots gives a Caribbean twist to wellknown classics (e.g. brownies, dacquoise, bakewell tart, florentines... ) and uses ingredients that are quite easy to come by and that bring a wonderful taste of the exotic. I feel quite mean not rating this book 5-star, but this is only because I had hoped to find a few more authentic Caribbean recipes instead of mostly adaptations of known desserts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reggae Reggae SWEET, 5 Aug 2012
This review is from: Sweet: Over 100 Fabulocious Recipes for Irresistible Desserts and Drinks, Cakes and Bakes (Hardcover)
SWEET bring the tastes and flavours of the caribbean to your kitchen in this indulgent book. SWEET features both new taste experiences and plenty of reggae reggae twists on some old favourites too.
The book has over 215 pages and almost every recipe is illustrated, I enjoy a cookery book that is illustrated so you know what you are aiming for presentation wise, and the book also features numerous other photographs of typical caribbean scences and ingredients.

SWEET brings an instant hit of sunshine to our rainy shores and the majority of the recipes focus on introducing sunshine fruit flavours or warming spicy notes to a vast range of cakes, ices, desserts and even a few cocktails.The book is divided in to cakes, biscuits and bars, pies and tarts, creamy puds, bake and steamed puds, fresh and fruity puds, barbecued puds, ices, sweets and drinks, so all bases are covered.

I throughly enjoyed following some of the recipes from SWEET, I found them easy to follow and comprehensive so that my results where good. The recipes were fun and I loved the retro caribbean styling of the books layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweets, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet: Over 100 Fabulocious Recipes for Irresistible Desserts and Drinks, Cakes and Bakes (Hardcover)
I love this cookery book! I am always looking for different puddings to make and this has a great selection of all sorts. They're easy to make - and more importantly you can get the ingredients easily! I have made a couple of the desserts and drinks for friends of mine and they've gone down very well - especially the cheesecakes.
The best thing is you don't have to be a Michelin starred chef to make any of these as I have found with some chef's cook books - I can burn water as friends will testify - and I made these quite easily. I'd recommend this for anyone 8 - 100 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scrum-diddly-ump-cious, 20 Aug 2012
This review is from: Sweet: Over 100 Fabulocious Recipes for Irresistible Desserts and Drinks, Cakes and Bakes (Hardcover)
A beautifully bound book with photographs to go with individual recipes, always a must in any recipe book I use. Not to forget the odd photograph or two of Levi beaming up from within the book at you.

From the introduction Levi gives us the taste and feel of Jamaica. Giving us snippets of local beer and of course a small slice of Bob Marley. He tells us that for birthdays and Christmas children weren't given presents and toys but that fruit featured very heavily in their lives and boy does this book reflect that. Lots of the recipes are fruit filled, implying to our one track British minds, Summer recipes. Not so, think again. Levi has jammed the book full of recipes for every occasion from Movie nights to big family get togethers.

Tropical florentines were to die for, and easy enough for little hands to help in the preparation.

The Jamaican illustrations that pop up every now and then just seemed to flood the kitchen with Caribbean sunshine and made want to get into the kitchen on a dull, wet summers day in Britain.

Perfect gift for anyone who loves creating something sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet - Levi Roots, 14 Aug 2012
This review is from: Sweet: Over 100 Fabulocious Recipes for Irresistible Desserts and Drinks, Cakes and Bakes (Hardcover)
This book is an absolute delight from start to finish. Not only is it full of fabulous cakes, bakes and puddings, it is also jam packed with gorgeous artwork/illustrations and photography. Don't sit down to read this unless you have something to nibble on as it will make you hungry. The recipes are brilliant, no weird ingredients despite the Caribbean flavour throughout. They are laid out well and the instructions are clear and easy to understand. We've made the lime bars and they were a resounding success in the office, so they will be made again. The hard part now is what to make next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the price, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet: Over 100 Fabulocious Recipes for Irresistible Desserts and Drinks, Cakes and Bakes (Hardcover)
Great book..great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweet: Over 100 Fabulocious Recipes for Irresistible Desserts and Drinks, Cakes and Bakes
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews