Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lasting treasure.
This is one of my most treasured books - not just my favourite recipe book.
I bought my copy as a student, and took it with me from place to place over the years. It was always the book I went to when I wanted to cook something truly wonderful for my friends. The recipes are accessible, adventurous in the best way while still reliably producing great results.
It...
Published on 15 Dec. 2012 by A Person

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by design
A strange, intriguing title for a book that sets out to intrigue and enchant, showcasing many dishes from the Middle East, North Africa and Mediterranean. Hopefully you will fall under the food's spell and get cooking for yourself.
Firstly, this is not a book for those with tired, middle-aged eyes (or in other words those with not so-perfect sight). The choice of...
Published on 1 Feb. 2013 by I. Darren


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just looking at the pictures makes me hungry., 13 Jun. 2011
By 
susie (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Packed full of mouth-watering recipes and beautiful pictures, the instructions on how to make "Bulgar Wheat and Spinach Pilaf with Labneh and Chilli Tomatoes" is worth the cover price alone. This is the salad I make if a friend asks me for a contribution to a picnic or barbecue. It looks beautiful, improves with being made a day in advance and is always the subject of many compliments.

This is the book I turn to for inspiration and although not all of the ingredients are easily come by, it is usually worth the effort for a special occasion. I can highly recommend the Greek Lamb and Middle Eastern Orange Cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, lovely, lovely, 28 Mar. 2012
By 
FLB (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Crazy Water, Pickled Lemons: Enchanting dishes from the Middle East, Mediterranean and North Africa (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I adore this kind of cookbook - not too pretentious, not too complicated but full of lovely, mouth watering recipes that make me want to run to the shops for ingredients. I have a relatively new love affair of food from this region and have become addicted to the sweet, salty, fruity tastes of Persian cookery. I am delighted with this cookbook as my only other similar book about Tagines is getting a bit limited now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars middle east cookery, 2 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. Roy Tomkinson (wales-uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first discovered this book in a friends kitchen and found its title interesting. My friend had found this book to contain many wonderful recipes and it does, ranging from the arab world via morrocco to greece spain and portugal.Spicy food ar its best, using easily obtained ingredients and easily followed recipes.Highly reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Feast..., 8 Oct. 2002
By 
fiona thompson (Londpn United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I am not a keen cook, but I do love food, and I am evangelical in my praise for this inspiring, beautifully written book. I devoured it in one sitting - and then went away and tried the recipes, all of which have been delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a great book, 10 Sept. 2010
Not only a brilliant book for filling that sparcely done place between Italian and Middle Eastern cookery, its just a great book in itself. Do buy it - for the recipes, but also the ideas it sparks off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cook book for discerning cooks., 12 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book hit every button for a friend who has a comprehensive library of cook books. Intelligently written, great narratives around the recipes. Just a brilliant read with fantastic recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So inspiring, 7 Jan. 2010
This is a book I turn to again and again for inspiration. I love the flavours of this region and I love Diana Henry's interpretations, writing and recipes. Beautiful pictures that are so evocative too. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not written is a style I like. I like ring bound cookbooks with picture and ..., 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not written is a style I like. I like ring bound cookbooks with picture and tidy list of ingredients. Too chatty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy Water, Pickled Lemons: Enchanting dishes from the Middle East, Mediterranean and North Africa (Hardcover)
OK simply that. There are better books on the subject e.g. Roden, Hartounian etc. etc. ets. Nice illustrations but I bought it to enlarge my knowledge of middle eastern and fusion and it did not achieve this for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crazy Water, Pickled Lemons: Enchanting dishes from the Middle East, Mediterranean and North Africa
Used & New from: £30.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews