Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Looking forward to Winter with this unique collection
of wintry recipes which celebrate some of the world's most overlooked cuisines by using produce that can be found on our own doorsteps'.

Although winter cooking seems so far from these BBQ days of mid-Summer, at the time of writing, Roast Figs, Sugar Snow: Food to Warm the Soul, to give this super book its full title......really does make one look towards the...
Published on 22 Jun 2006 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great idea but overall disappointing
'Roast Figs Sugar Snow,' is a book for those who love warm, hearty, delicious food on a cold and wintery day. Peppered with anecdotes from Diana Henry's travels (mainly in Western Europe) and quotes about food by a range of different writers, it is a lovingly created and classy collection.

However the main problem with this book is the lack of photos. Or to be...
Published on 26 Nov 2011 by K. Wright


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Looking forward to Winter with this unique collection, 22 Jun 2006
of wintry recipes which celebrate some of the world's most overlooked cuisines by using produce that can be found on our own doorsteps'.

Although winter cooking seems so far from these BBQ days of mid-Summer, at the time of writing, Roast Figs, Sugar Snow: Food to Warm the Soul, to give this super book its full title......really does make one look towards the winter with real log-fire warmth!

The result of five years of travel and research, Ms Henry compiled this book of recipes from colder climates, being originally inspired by childhood memories of 'sugar snow', a 'magic food' from inside a tree that could turn into sweets!

From the author of Crazy Water, Pickled Lemons: Enchanting Dishes from the Middle East, Mediterranean and North Africa, who isn't intrigued to read this equally lovely book of 192 high quality pages, split over 12 chapters, interspersed with Jason Lowe's stunning photography and snatches of wintry poetry?

A little taste of the recipes contained within:-

Beef Pie with Wild Mushrooms & Claret
Pumpkin Tarts with Spinach & Gorgonzola
Alsation Tarte Flambée
Vermont Baked Beans
Celeriac and Potato Mash with Stilton & Grilled Spring Onions
Pecan & Pear Upside-down Cake
Russian Curd Cheese Pancakes
Stuffed Quail with Marmalade & Whisky
Peasant Girls in a Mist
Roast Beetroot Salad
Roast Squash
Seared Scallops
Russian Smoked Fish Pie
Stuffed Quail
Steamed Apple & Marmalade Pudding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very festive and Wintry, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roast Figs, Sugar Snow: Food to Warm the Soul (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a beautiful book. The production standard is high. The pictures are beautiful. The layout is great. It is a delightful thing. The premise of the book is to offer the cook a good selection of hearty, winter recipes from all over the world. There is everything you could want to make your winter,and particularly your festive season, go with a very unusual bang. If you like wintery dishes and you want something new I heartily recommend it. The recipes are easy to follow and the instructions are clear.

The layout is not very intuitive in terms of how the recipes are arranged, and I found myself hunting about for things a few times, but as the book is not enormous this is not too much of a problem and the index is very straightforward, unlike say Nigella Lawson's latest books, which have two indexes just to make it doubly hard to find things.

The book is not for the novice cook, not because it is particularly difficult to follow, although some of the recipes have lots of steps to them and involve a fair amount of marinading and/or waiting around, but none of the recipes are 'safe' or old favourites. It would work wonderfully for an established cook who is looking for something fresh to do.

My one criticism is that quite a few of the recipes call for meat in fairly substantial quantities, and because it is a winter cook book there is a fair amount of game and meats which are not cheap. I made the roast duck breasts which were marinaded in honey with figs and roasted chestnuts and by the time I had made it for my family the dish cost about 25. Great for a treat, but not for every day use. Having said that there are recipes which involve less exalted ingredients and simpler things to try if you want. My family weren't keen because it turns out they don't particularly like things with cranberries and figs and chestnuts etc in, so it's not going to be a firm family favourite in our house, but if you are drawn to these kinds of flavours, this book will be a wonderful experience for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly beautiful, 31 Mar 2007
By 
This cookbook didn't seem to get the recognition it deserved. As Diana Henry isn't of the "celebrity chef" culture, it's no wonder why. A shame, as it's one of the most beautiful cookbooks I've ever seen and one of my personal treasures. In her wonderful recipes and photos she captures New England, and especially the Vermont of my childhood, perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous recipes, lovely photos, 2 Dec 2010
By 
L. Beekar (Abingdon, Oxon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This really is a lovely book. I am a recipe/lifestyle book junky and this is lovely to look at, read and use. If you are a beginner don't bother, but if you love recipes you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winter comforts, 21 Jan 2010
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
For her other two books Crazy Water, Pickled Lemons and Cook Simple (hardback)/Pure Simple Cooking (paperback) Diana Henry took us on a tour of the Mediterranean and the Middle East. For this book she takes us to Northern Europe and North America for "food to warm the soul" when all around is cold and wintry.

Like her other books Ms Henry has gathered recipes which belie their simplicity and ease of preparation in their fabulous combinations of flavours.

A selection of some favourite recipes (plus others I haven't yet made but desperately wish to given the chance) from this book:

Onion and cider soup with melting Camembert (a variation of the common or garden French onion soup with cider replacing the white wine and Camembert instead of Gruyere - unusually Ms Henry does not add any brandy, but my tip is to add Calvados to this recipe to complement the cider, by analogy with the Cognac usually added to standard French onion soup);

Chestnut and Jerusalem artichoke soup;

Salad of pear, hazelnuts and Cashel Blue cheese;

Duck breast with aillade (a delicious garlic and walnut sauce);

Juniper-roast quail with pumpkin matefaims;

Roast pheasant with quince, blackberries and heather honey;

Stuffed quail with marmalade and whisky;

Roast squash with porcini cream;

Salad of smoked duck with farro, red chicory and pomegranates;

Roast figs and plums in vodka with cardamom cream;

Melting leg of lamb with juniper (slow cooked in white wine);

Port and cranberry jellies with port syllabub and frosted berries.

In our age of the celebrity chef, true culinary talents like Diana Henry go unnoticed. Buy this, buy her other books listed above and also check out her The Gastropub Cookbook and The Gastropub Cookbook: Another Helping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roast figs, sugar Snow - curl up, keep warm - enjoy!, 31 Aug 2008
By 
Pompom (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Beautiful book based around winter cookery. Diana Henry spent 5 years travelling around various chilly parts of the globe and has come up with a stunning collection of recipes. Just flicking through the book makes me long for snow filled days and family around the table. All the recipes I've tried out have turned out perfectly and friends have asked for the recipes - what more recommendation do you need?!

Recipes include:

Alsation Tarte Flambee
Celeriac and Potato Mash (with stilton and grilled spring onions)
Russian Curd Cheese Pancakes
Pecan and Pear Upside-down Cake
Pumpkin Tarts (with spinach and gorgonzola)
Vermont Baked Beans
Roast Beetroot Salad (with orange and goat's cheese)
Stuffed Quail (with marmalade and whisky)
Roast Squash (with porcini cream)
Seared Scallops (with bacon and jerusalem artichoke puree)
Russian Smoked Fish Pie
Steamed Apple and Marmalade Pudding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!!, 12 Feb 2006
A fabulous book about the food we want to cook when it's cold outside. The food is from New England, Quebec, Scandinavia, Russia, north-west Europe and other places where the winters can be fiercely cold.
I haven't cooked from it yet, but there are so many things I want to cook from it: Georgian Cheese-pies, Tartiflette, Russian Curd Cheese pancakes, Russian Zakuski, Peasant Girls in a Mist (a cake with apples/cinnamon; originally Scandinavian), The Dartmoor Inn's apple bread, Beef Pie with wild mushrooms and claret....in fact, I want to cook everything in this book - which is rare for me! Not only does it all sound delicious, but the recipes seem easy and straightforward, the kind of food you actually cook at home.
The book is beautiful lay-outed, many pretty pictures, and lots of text introducing each chapter makes it a good bed-read!
I can highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roast figs, sugar Snow - curl up, keep warm - enjoy!, 4 Jan 2010
By 
Pompom (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Beautiful book based around winter cookery. Diana Henry spent 5 years travelling around various chilly parts of the globe and has come up with a stunning collection of recipes. Just flicking through the book makes me long for snow filled days and family around the table. All the recipes I've tried out have turned out perfectly and friends have asked for the recipes - what more recommendation do you need?!

Recipes include:

Alsation Tarte Flambee
Celeriac and Potato Mash (with stilton and grilled spring onions)
Russian Curd Cheese Pancakes
Pecan and Pear Upside-down Cake
Pumpkin Tarts (with spinach and gorgonzola)
Vermont Baked Beans
Roast Beetroot Salad (with orange and goat's cheese)
Stuffed Quail (with marmalade and whisky)
Roast Squash (with porcini cream)
Seared Scallops (with bacon and jerusalem artichoke puree)
Russian Smoked Fish Pie
Steamed Apple and Marmalade Pudding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are not many books that I would cook a whole dinner party from without doing a trial run. This is the only one I can think of. I totally respect Diana Henry for her brilliant, beautiful book and her delicious recipes. Really she is far more reliable than Jamie Oliver and Nigella Lawson, and in fact surpasses Delia Smith too in my opinion. Absolutely delicious. Try the roast squash with porcini cream. Very, very easy, sublimely delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warming comfort food, 1 May 2012
By 
Mrs. T. SALMON "upstreamers" (streatham london) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roast Figs, Sugar Snow: Food to Warm the Soul (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Good warming comfort food, melting oozing cheese. Sweet scrumptious deserts . Definately soul warming food, I will not go into huge details as the other critics have also described all the good points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roast Figs, Sugar Snow: Food to Warm the Soul
Roast Figs, Sugar Snow: Food to Warm the Soul by Diana Henry (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2011)
Used & New from: 16.04
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews