Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Millers Collectables
I already have purchased former editions of this book and it is of the same high standard. If you (like me) had to clear a relatives house this book is very useful in sorting out many items that you may want to establish trhe value of. It details prices that the layman (or women) may want to finsd out.
Published on 17 April 2012 by Gleeson

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review of 2012-2013 millers collectables handbook
I have to say that this is possibly the most disappointing book of the collection so far. Maybe because it seems to move away from the everyday collectables such as wade, beswick and wedgewood jasperware for example.
I just did not find it as useful has previous editions
Published on 5 Jan. 2013 by Stuart Moir


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review of 2012-2013 millers collectables handbook, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller's Collectables Handbook 2012-2013 (Miller's Collectables Price Guide) (Paperback)
I have to say that this is possibly the most disappointing book of the collection so far. Maybe because it seems to move away from the everyday collectables such as wade, beswick and wedgewood jasperware for example.
I just did not find it as useful has previous editions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Millers Collectables, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller's Collectables Handbook 2012-2013 (Miller's Collectables Price Guide) (Paperback)
I already have purchased former editions of this book and it is of the same high standard. If you (like me) had to clear a relatives house this book is very useful in sorting out many items that you may want to establish trhe value of. It details prices that the layman (or women) may want to finsd out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money book, 15 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Miller's Collectables Handbook 2012-2013 (Miller's Collectables Price Guide) (Paperback)
This is such a great book for collectors or dealers alike. It is set out in a clear and colourful style and is informative and very useful. Also the paperback is just as good as the hardback and much more reasonable price. Great :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as interesting as earlier books, 9 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller's Collectables Handbook 2012-2013 (Miller's Collectables Price Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this book on recommendation from a relative, they have a 2003 book which I found facinating.

However, I found this later version disappointing. The content seems mainly focusing on ceramics (the ceramics section takes up a good percentage of the book) with very little details in other sections. There are a lot of modern collectors items included and not enough focus on those of vintage or antique value. There was so much I hoped to find in this book, but it was not included - for example little was mentioned regarding kitchen/domestic memorabilia, toys were only included on a few pages.

I only hope that future issues may include a more varied collection of items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Super and up to date Collectables Guide., 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller's Collectables Handbook 2012-2013 (Miller's Collectables Price Guide) (Paperback)
A super and up to date Collectables Guide, with excellent illustrations. It is one of those books I feel I can pick up and browse through numerous times, as I become more familiar with the value of collectable items. It makes me more determined than ever to spot a bargain.Packed with useful advice and tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guide, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller's Collectables Handbook 2012-2013 (Miller's Collectables Price Guide) (Paperback)
I an a fan of Antiques Roadshow. As for the other books in this series they are fascinating looking through and wishing and hoping you owned something that appears. Excellent reading when the weather is bad. I am keeping my fingers crossed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miller's Collectables, 3 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller's Collectables Handbook 2012-2013 (Miller's Collectables Price Guide) (Paperback)
Great collection of items, very informative and helpful in identifying certain marks and types of collectible. would recommend it to a friend - this book as well as the many others cited for the budding collector. Good series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick guide, 16 Dec. 2012
By 
J. Cunningham (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller's Collectables Handbook 2012-2013 (Miller's Collectables Price Guide) (Paperback)
Collectables is a rather useful "quick guide" to prices you may have to consider when browsing Antique Fairs. Of course these things are always subjective and dependent on other factors and so on, but it gives a general "ball park" figure.
Because it covers such a wide range (and it is huge) it cannot be specialist, though it seems obvious that many stall holders probably use this as a guide themselves to marking up their prices.
It gives the buyer a very good idea if they are being overcharged and offered over-valued items.

As said, not specialist, but very useful indeed and a good book especially in this handy softback form, to have in your bag on your Antique hunt travels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars PLAGIRISM MUST PAY IT SEEMS, 13 Jan. 2013
By 
John Redmond "JOCK" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller's Collectables Handbook 2012-2013 (Miller's Collectables Price Guide) (Paperback)
This new book by Millers on Collectables is mostly ceramics and collectables of other items are sparce, its amazing how many books can be made by plagirising items all from the Millers book on Antiques which appear each year, i would suggest its better just to buy the main book on Antiques instead of a copy of all the rest,I have never seen any books produced of real collectables of at least 100 years old, often wonder what Millers know about Victoriana for that I generally return to Lyles Reviews, who have been existing longer although their photos are B/W there is more of items that the man or woman in street will come accross more than Millers whom I think is for benefit of antique shop owners, another thing I suggest is refrain from buying Millers books brand new as seconds on Amazon are always first class condition and half the price if you look.

Come on Millers if you must produce books on collectables make it cover all collectables not just whats in your previous books and Ceramics and glass,, as for producing with others whose taste of collectables dont leave much to desire.plus pointless quoting values that are obtained in London auctions there is more auction houses in rest of Britain,example Wemyss ware in Scotland and America gets high prices whilst in parts of England it doesnt. same with English items,,what about African,Indian, Afghanistan, Iraq, Cyprus collectables, places that most British soldiers have been and brought back antiques and collectables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting., 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller's Collectables Handbook 2012-2013 (Miller's Collectables Price Guide) (Paperback)
Highly recommend to any one, it could make you a few bob and have fun doing it. It might not make me a million but i will enjoy trying to look for collectables and sell them on. Cheers. June.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miller's Collectables Handbook 2012-2013 (Miller's Collectables Price Guide)
Used & New from: £1.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews