Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for someone with a new interest in wine!
I have never had a wine book before, but having developed an interest in what wine I'm drinking I'm delighted with this handy guide! At first I looked on it with bemusement, as I opened it to a series of names and descriptions..note to anyone new..do read page 10 - the how to use guide! I found the book easy to use, especially the charts at the front - great for 'what to...
Published on 27 Oct 2011 by Mrs Goriami

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wine Guide
I purchased this as a stocking filler for my husband. It is informative, but we don't consider the layout very good. It is not easy to find what you are looking for. The countries are not in alphabetical order, rather in world areas.
Published on 28 Dec 2011 by Joannie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for someone with a new interest in wine!, 27 Oct 2011
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2012 (Hardcover)
I have never had a wine book before, but having developed an interest in what wine I'm drinking I'm delighted with this handy guide! At first I looked on it with bemusement, as I opened it to a series of names and descriptions..note to anyone new..do read page 10 - the how to use guide! I found the book easy to use, especially the charts at the front - great for 'what to avoid!'. There are also tips on the best temp to serve certain wines, and a brief references to the relevance of regions. Ideal for anyone interested in learning a bit more about what they're drinking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At 35 ...going from strength to strength, 14 Nov 2011
By 
Werner Morf (Wallisellen, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2012 (Hardcover)
If there is a collection that I feel proud of apart from the bottles in my cellar, it is the 35 issues of Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book. Year after year, it provides joy and pleasure, and it is obvious that I can hardly await the latest of the slim booklets. Over the years, I have also made good use of it as a present to friends and colleagues.

I find it fascinating that year after year, Hugh Johnson and his team find treasures in old and new places, well-known and half-forgotten grape varieties. His personal favourites provide an inspiration and information on pairing food and wine prevent potential mishaps when facing the choice.

I look forward to many more issues of the small and essential guide to the enjoyment of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same as usual - very good, 4 Nov 2011
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2012 (Hardcover)
I always buy this book, & transfer all my little 'pencil marks' and notes from the old one to the new edition. This is a handy guide to those who wish to know more about wine. It's great that he includes the little producers along with the great & good. The Cave de Buxy in the Burgundy area is a really great place to buy wine from that area by the way...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive to European wine guide, 1 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2012 (Hardcover)
This small guide contains endless information about wine, from styles to quality to food matching. It's perfect for a novice like me. I used this book the other day to buy wine for a particular dinner party we went to. Perfect match! The guide also suggests to the reader an alternative to wines we enjoy drinking. It's divided into countries and regions. Includes fortified wines, sparkling and champagnes. It also explains the more technical words. This guide is oriented mostly to European, Mediterranean and African wines. There's a very small mention on Brazilian and other South American wines, maybe that could be expanded? All in all great read and very informative. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More sense than Parker, 24 Oct 2011
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2012 (Hardcover)
I am a keen inbiber especially of Bordeaux wines, so as a general rule buy Hugh Johnson's pocket guide every year, or receive it as a gift. It is not of course a perfect guide (nothing is), but Johnson is far more practical in his evaluation of wines and a welcome counterweight to the growing influence of Parker whose obsession with fruit and alcohol strength risks ruining the delicacy of great Bordeaux cru which really don't have to be more powerful than 12.5% to be enjoyed, and don't have to exchange their chalky tannin tug on the palate for a rush of concentrated Ribena!

Johnson (or his editor) do actually revise their assessments in each edition. I bought on spec a Ch. Valandraud last spring in the excellent cave at LeClerc in Saumur.Hugh's 2011 edition was a bit offhand about this, an overpriced vanilla concoction from the leading garagiste etc etc. I found it excactly to my taste not vanille but subtle tannin tug. In the 2012 guide I see with great pleasure that Hugh has softened his tone a bit on Valandraud.

If you love wine and appreciate good advice on new experiences then the pocket guide is well worth a regular update.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A picket book full on details of wines, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2012 (Hardcover)
These little books cone out every year and I buy them for both my husband and father and are read from cover to cover each Christmas.
I am not sure how big Hugh Johnson thinks people's pockets are but they don't change from year to year!
This little book gives an in slight into that years wine, it is informative on the wine, region, details and when the drink etc. it gives ideas on new wines to try and ones to avoid.
A must for both the beginner and the expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile finding space for this in your pocket, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2012 (Hardcover)
I find this small guide particularly helpful when travelling abroad. Mr Johnson has a traditional English wine appreciation palate, and as such tends to advise a later drinking `window' for age worthy wines; very helpful if you have similar tastes and a cellar.

The tasting notes are very concise providing key headlines for the wine. His rating system is very simple and is what separates his analysis from other notable wine writers who use more complicated and detailed scoring systems.

Unfortunately, his dislike for Robert Parker's taste and influence is subtlety (and at times less so!) apparent throughout the guide. The massive irony about this is that Mr Johnson has at times savagely attacked Mr Parker, referring to him as the "...dictator of taste". BUT Johnson goes to great length in his guide to tell people what to specifically drink with different types of food, going as far as to state not to add sugar to Ceylon tea! If you like wine, can get over the hypocrisy and bitter note of envy in his writings, then this will be a useful filling to your Christmas stocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wines, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Brian Neale (heusden belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2012 (Hardcover)
a very handy book on Wines, Red and White well reccomended and fits in ones bag very ncely a bit to big for the pocket Length wise other wise very handy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wine book, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2012 (Hardcover)
This is a useful little book, small enough to tuck into your handbag or pocket if you are going off to a wine shop to buy some bin ends which I love doing from time to time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2012, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2012 (Hardcover)
An extremely informative and useful book about wine. Anyone intending to buy wine should have it in hand as a ready reference point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2012
Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2012 by Hugh Johnson (Hardcover - 5 Sep 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews