Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't get fooled again
Great book, no doubt about it, but beware it's no different then the original "What to eat now".
Different title, different ISBN-number, but no different content.
Published on 9 Sep 2010 by Erix

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Get Past the Meat and Fish Sections and the Veggie Dishes are OK
Sort of watched the TV series, noting that Warner is definitely in the modish "Every Part of the Pig Except the Oink" brigade - i.e. macho cooking of improbably obscure bits and pieces of beast, fish or fowl. Saw the book in a discount store and bought it for next to nothing. Pleasantly surprised to see some decent, innovative recipes for the mushroom and root...
Published 6 months ago by Richard Newbold


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't get fooled again, 9 Sep 2010
This review is from: What to Eat Now: Autumn & Winter (Paperback)
Great book, no doubt about it, but beware it's no different then the original "What to eat now".
Different title, different ISBN-number, but no different content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yum, 4 Oct 2010
By 
B. Day (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Eat Now: Autumn & Winter (Paperback)
I have watched his show on a Saturday morning and have been totally enthralled by his passion for seasonal food. The book is the same as the show - humorous and passionate. The food is easy and have already tried a few with much success. Because its seasonal as well the ingredients are accessible and you can eat the right things at the right time. Love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Warner winner, 10 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Eat Now: Autumn & Winter (Paperback)
Valentine Warner at his best,clear concise and funny. Looking forward to cooking almost everything, actually not true, looking forward to cooking absolutely everything! Even his sketches look good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Get Past the Meat and Fish Sections and the Veggie Dishes are OK, 31 May 2014
By 
Richard Newbold (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: What to Eat Now: Autumn & Winter (Paperback)
Sort of watched the TV series, noting that Warner is definitely in the modish "Every Part of the Pig Except the Oink" brigade - i.e. macho cooking of improbably obscure bits and pieces of beast, fish or fowl. Saw the book in a discount store and bought it for next to nothing. Pleasantly surprised to see some decent, innovative recipes for the mushroom and root vegetable harvest that is definitely seasonal as the title claims (not sure about lentils though - when are they harvested?). So a bit hit and miss for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the book!, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Eat Now: Autumn & Winter (Paperback)
Many of the recipes are so original and exciting I cannot wait to start cooking some of them. Even just an ordinary recipe is given a twist, making one really wanting to try it out to eat it and taste the difference.. Very contented with the thoughts of my enjoying what I can eat that is a little different with my winter cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bemused!, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Eat Now: Autumn & Winter (Paperback)
I bought this recipe book based on the great reviews it received, when what I should have done is looked carefully at the index to see the recipes. Many of the recipes require major ingredients I don't cook with. For example, the chapter called 'Plump Birds' contains only two chicken recipes and a handful of duck recipes. The remainder of the recipes are for partridge, wood pigeon, pheasant and woodcock. These birds are not available in my local supermarket. Living as I do in suburbia, it is almost impossible to obtain them. That being said, the vegetarian dishes look great, so not a complete waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and Earthy, 6 Mar 2012
This review is from: What to Eat Now: Autumn & Winter (Paperback)
Loved the book, evocative recipes that make you want to cook and embrace Autumn and winter. As I live in the country and have plenty of access to many of the ingredients. It makes you just want to get family and friends round for a good old feast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Treating food as it should be treated, 25 Sep 2011
By 
K. von Schenk "KRVS" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Eat Now: Autumn & Winter (Paperback)
Val Warner is so unbelievably UN cheffy - and cooks completely from his heart. They are wonderful books just to read, let alone act on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying., 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Eat Now: Autumn & Winter (Paperback)
Qwerky but good recipes. How ever you do have to read his phrasing carefully to get the correct timings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What to Eat Now: Autumn & Winter
What to Eat Now: Autumn & Winter by Valentine Warner (Paperback - 6 Sep 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews