Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars79
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£22.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2013
Diana Henry's book is an excellent guide- both in terms of recipes and tips - for the novice in smoking and pickling, but is also an enjoyable read- almost poetic at times, evoking smells, tastes and scenes of a bucolic english countryside, or a table laid with zakuski in Russia, or with eastern and middle-eastern delicacies. The recipes are easy to follow and the end-result amzingly good.
Things such as these bring back fond memories and are an integral part of what good life should be.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
Now that Autumn is drawing in this is just the perfect book to curl up with. With the hedgerows starting to bear their fruit I intend to get started on some serious jam making starting with the blackberry and Pinot noir jam - sounds delicious and wonderfully easy to make. The fig and pomegranate jam is another seasonal jam I would love to make and with figs so plentiful in the shops right now, it's the perfect time to try it. I'm also inspired to do a bit of home smoking - the hot oak-smoked salmon served with roast beets, buttermilk dressing and warn waxy potatoes tossed with dill looks and sounds just fantastic! I've already made the tapenade and the Georgian plum sauce both of which tasted wonderful - the perfect balance of flavours.
This book is a little gem, with so many delightful and exotic flavoured jellies, jams and chutneys - everyone will be getting my homemade preserves this Christmas or a copy of Diana Henry's gorgeous book!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
You really must try the maple & bourbon glazed smoked chicken.............some of the nicest chicken we've EVER had (we've had a lot of chicken).
Also the smoked chicken & mango salad.............
[NB - we have had an Anuka electric Smoker for years & it's been worth every penny (it was about £100)].

Beautiful looking & feeling book & everything we've tried has scored top marks.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The age of the sleb chef has still not waned it seems, and while it lasts, outstanding food writers with unmatched understanding of flavours such as Diana Henry are not getting the attention they really deserve. If you don't have her previous books, rush forth immediately and demand copies now. This new book covering preserved foods is of the same high standard as her previous oeuvre, collecting dishes to truly delight the tastebuds.

"Salt, Sugar, Smoke" showcases recipes gathered from a wide geographical range, and which cross a spectrum from the entirely familiar to the truly exotic. They are arranged by sections as follows:

Jam
Jellies, curds and fruit cheeses
Sauces, pastes, mustards and vinegars
Under oil
Smoked
Cordials, alcohols, fruits and spoon sweets
Salted, cured and potted
Chutneys, relishes and pickles

It's well presented with excellently styled photography accompanying a majority of the recipes. Instructions are clear and uncomplicated, and ingredient lists are often quite short. Ms Henry's unaffected enthusiasm for the food in her notes which accompany recipes and introduce each section is infectious.

My only issue really with this book, causing me regretfully to drop a star, is that quite a few of the recipes in all probability you are never, ever going to make because of prohibitive cost or availability of ingredients, thus making the book edge into the territory of food porn. For example in the splendid recipe for purple fig and pomegranate jam, Ms Henry notes, apparently with no irony whatsoever, that "if you are making it in Spain, Italy or Portugal" - don't we all, dahling, don't we all? - "you'll be able to get [the requisite quantity of figs] more cheaply".
44 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
A splendid book, Diana Henry has a great way of putting windfalls, free food, and fabulous fruit, veg and in-season produce to tasty use. Especially impressed with her creative recipes using juicy brambles, sloes and aromatic rosehips - just the excuse we need to go out and appreciate the great outdoor larder on our doorstep.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
Fascinating book, interesting recipes. Tasty food! We've gone down the salt and sugar routes so far and had plenty of use out of the book. Not yet smoked anything.

Wonderful gift for yourself or anyone you think might be interested in this sort of thing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
I deliberated over buying this book as I have so many cook books but I have not been diappointed with this> I have already tried the whiskey and sugar cured gravdlax salmon for our Christmas lunch & everyone loved it-delicious and am now going on to try the hot smoked salmon. I can`t wait for this years excess fruit & veg to try the jams etc. The author very helpfully suggests what to use the recipes and what best accompanies them.Delighted with yhis book and looking forward to using it more and more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Diana Henry is a great cook, that's what makes this book so wonderful. She isn't a chef but she loves to cook and she is able to share that enthusiasm with the reader so that you want to run out and buy the ingredients. If you like making jams, pickles and home made booze from your own ingredients get this book. The recipes are unusual, tasty (so far) and she gives you different ways to use the end product. Whenever I read a recipe in a magazine and want to tear it out it is invariably one of hers
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2012
I bought this on a bit of a whim (bad habit of mine where cookery books are concerned) and I am so glad I did. I hardly knew where to start but went first for the maple brined pork chops after seeing brining done on an American programme. What a glorious revelation it was, moist and flavoured through out. If they all turn out this well I am going to need a bigger cupboard and a good diet book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
this author has reinvigorated my enthusiasm for trying new foods and recipes, I have made my own bacon and smoked my own salmon using her methods and with great success. All her recipes are practical and they work! I wish I'd found her books sooner I can't praise her highly enough. this is a must-buy if you are interested in real food and trying new foods and in new ways
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse