Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable book updated!
I bought the previous edition of this book second-hand as I came to my hobby of collecting vintage jewellery only recently. So I was more than pleased to see that it had been revised and updated recently.

This is a well-produced, well-written and informative book with beautiful pictures showing exquisite jewellery. The descriptions and price-guides are useful...
Published on 17 Nov 2010 by Imelda

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars costume jewellery
A bit disappointing as I expected some guide prices as the other Miller books do. A bit too specialist too instead of a good overall guide to costume jewellery - perhaps I should have gone to Smiths and had a good look at it first.
Published on 1 July 2011 by amberfarleigh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable book updated!, 17 Nov 2010
By 
Imelda "Imelda" (a village in Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miller's Costume Jewellery (Hardcover)
I bought the previous edition of this book second-hand as I came to my hobby of collecting vintage jewellery only recently. So I was more than pleased to see that it had been revised and updated recently.

This is a well-produced, well-written and informative book with beautiful pictures showing exquisite jewellery. The descriptions and price-guides are useful but the delightful pictures make this a book to look at again and again.

So far as I am concerned, this book deserves a space on every jewellery aficianado's bookshelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glorious Jewels, 4 May 2011
This review is from: Miller's Costume Jewellery (Hardcover)
This book is a glorious, colourful celebration of the art of decorating women through the ages. The colour photographs are superb, and the study and identification of the different designers is very helpful to the collector. I di dfind that there was not enough actual text, and the balance of the book is upset by having plenty of text for the older eras, up to the modern period, but very few photographs. There must be an abundance of material for illustration? I found this very disappointing and the balance of the book suffered because of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars costume jewellery, 1 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller's Costume Jewellery (Hardcover)
A bit disappointing as I expected some guide prices as the other Miller books do. A bit too specialist too instead of a good overall guide to costume jewellery - perhaps I should have gone to Smiths and had a good look at it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Costume jewellery, 23 Jan 2012
This review is from: Miller's Costume Jewellery (Hardcover)
This is an excellent reference source book for 20th century costume jewellery. Very good photos and descriptions of the manufacturers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Fakes !, 21 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller's Costume Jewellery (Hardcover)
Very well packed costume jewellery survey. The pictures are professional and stunning (all in colour and in pretty big size). The text is concise but thorough and the informations given are enough to make you have an idea
of the evolution of this particular aspect of womens' fashion through the overview of each decade of the last century
(with a brief introduction about the past eras and a quick glimpse on some contemporary designers to look for next).
A real treat for the eyes to help you dream of an affordable luxury (and not make your wallet cry !).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage jewellery book, 13 Dec 2011
This review is from: Miller's Costume Jewellery (Hardcover)
Brilliant ! This is the best book ever ! With historical context and background plus the most beautiful colour photos of examples of what every designer's work looks like . An absolute must for beginners and experts .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Background info on some of the best costume jewellery brands, 27 Nov 2011
This review is from: Miller's Costume Jewellery (Hardcover)
This book gives excellent basic background information on the key costume jewellery brands and designers of the 20th century, through both words and great photos. The editorial for each brand is not in-depth, giving only a max of 4 pages on any one brand inclusive of photos, however it's a sound starting point for those interested in jewellery design. An excellent Xmas present or coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 3 May 2011
This review is from: Miller's Costume Jewellery (Hardcover)
A really enjoyable read for those of us who like our jewellery, the only downside, I want to rush out and buy more pieces!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for info, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller's Costume Jewellery (Hardcover)
I got this for a friend at Christmas, seemed very good with plenty of pictures and information on costume jewellery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller's Costume Jewellery (Hardcover)
I never knew that there was so much history surrounding costume jewellery. I'm really enjoying reading and learning about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miller's Costume Jewellery
Miller's Costume Jewellery by Judith Miller (Hardcover - 4 Oct 2010)
25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews