Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings fantastic Caribbean flavours to the kitchen
I love both of Levi Roots two previous books and I love this one too. But this latest offering is perhaps my favourite. While his other books concentrated on Caribbean cooking,in this book the emphasis is on adding a Caribbean flavour to food.

This is a collection of great-tasting, uncomplicated recipes written with Levi Roots' usual flair. Since the accent is...
Published on 16 July 2010 by isabel in the kitchen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK!
I like Levi and Caribbean cooking is a regular activity, but I felt this book was lacking and too tame. My British Mum was also disappointed with it.
Published 6 months ago by Nicola Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All I wished for., 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Levi Roots Food for Friends: 100 Simple Dishes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
This cookery book is good fun.
The recipes are easy; yet different from others.
I have had really good fun trying them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 18 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Levi Roots Food for Friends: 100 Simple Dishes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
I bought this book simply becasue my Son made one of the dishes from his copy and I was so impressed I ordered a copy for myself. The recipies are delicious.
We now have "Roots" evenings. We both choose two dishes each and then have a great family meal. You do have to be very careful with the amount of chillis and peppers though as they can blow your head off. Not being a massive chilli, pepper fan I just cut the quantities down to suit my person taste.
A must have cook book for any Kitchen.
Mary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cookbook, 22 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Levi Roots Food for Friends: 100 Simple Dishes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
Love the recipes. This book shows how to enhance the flavour of every day cooking.I am not a gourmet but Ilove no frills tasty food
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Levi Roots Food for Friends 100 Simple Dishes for Every Occasion, 8 Oct 2010
This review is from: Levi Roots Food for Friends: 100 Simple Dishes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
A very good Caribbean cookery book with a western / fusion twist. A great follow up since Levi's last cookery book (Caribbean Food Made Easy). This new book has inspiring recipes which will entertain and impress friends and family a like.

I've tried a few of the recipes, e.g. Crispy Corn Bread, Chicken Pepper & Squash Curry with great results. My children love the Sweetcorn Fritoritos and the Chocolate & Orange Spice Cake (yum).

A good buy cookery book well worth the investment. Definitely a fan, here's to Levi's next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Includes dishes for everyone, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. D. N. Mcqueen "davmcq4" (Nottingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Levi Roots Food for Friends: 100 Simple Dishes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
Agree with the review above, a much more accessible book of recipes with a caribbean twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Levi Roots, 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: Levi Roots Food for Friends: 100 Simple Dishes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband who is a fantastic cook. No problem there! I'm not such a wonderful cook but with the easy to follow recipes and loads of pics even i enjoyed this book. I'd recommend the 'Lime Drizzle Cake'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars levi roots, 9 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Levi Roots Food for Friends: 100 Simple Dishes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
Bought as a present and was very enthusiastically received. Lovely recipes, some unusual ones, all simple to prepare. Nice to see some different recipes for a change. Thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars levi roots book, 21 Feb 2011
This review is from: Levi Roots Food for Friends: 100 Simple Dishes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
Levi roots new cookbook is excellent there are loads of great recipes, and easy to cook too. Well worth buying one if you like caribbean food
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A small taste of the west indies, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Levi Roots Food for Friends: 100 Simple Dishes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
Love Love it. Good price. Got it in three days. Glad there there wasn t a dust cover.Use it all the time. .

Grandson uses it when he comes round.

Wicked. Don;t ask for a lend get your own or gift it.

Try his other titles. Just as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sunshine in the kitchen, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Levi Roots Food for Friends: 100 Simple Dishes for Every Occasion (Hardcover)
liove this book easy to follow fun recepies everything i have tried tastes good, crank up the volume whilst cooking and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Levi Roots Food for Friends: 100 Simple Dishes for Every Occasion
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews