Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good food made from the plentiful, the seasonal and the leftover - with over 300 recipes, none of them extravagant
I quote from the book 'Leftovers are at the heart of this book. For example, you'll find delicious roast dinners followed by an abundance of ideas for things to do with the cold meat the next day. Diana's delicious recipes from all over the world, from Sicily to the Sahara, turn 'going without' on its head and make it a pleasure.'

This book is about taking...
Published on 31 Aug 2010 by Pompom

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Not designed for the Kindle. What's with the advertising on each & every page?
This book would be a culinary textbook Bible if it wasn't' bogged down with advertising on each and every page. The recipes are to die for and the pictures are beautiful, but this double grey strip on every page is seriously off-putting. This advertising interferes with the recipes and the ability to highlight the recipe titles.There is another issue being that the font...
Published 4 months ago by ReshmiZulphay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good food made from the plentiful, the seasonal and the leftover - with over 300 recipes, none of them extravagant, 31 Aug 2010
By 
Pompom (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Food From Plenty: Good food made from the plentiful, the seasonal and the leftover. With over 300 recipes, none of them extravagant (Hardcover)
I quote from the book 'Leftovers are at the heart of this book. For example, you'll find delicious roast dinners followed by an abundance of ideas for things to do with the cold meat the next day. Diana's delicious recipes from all over the world, from Sicily to the Sahara, turn 'going without' on its head and make it a pleasure.'

This book is about taking more notice of our approach to food, how we use and how we waste it, and doing it in a delicious way. Diana has a lovely writing style; approachable and not at all preachy. Diana starts with an interesting introduction, encouraging us all to approach food in a caring, thoughtful way which can only serve to increase the pleasure we get from it. I feel I have an idea of what she's getting at here; there is a distinct satisfaction in having a roast dinner, turning the remains into a soothing risotto and boiling the carcass for soup. Don't start thinking that the book is all about eking the last bit of nutrition out of every potato peeling though, plenty of the recipes are standalone, and none of them feel overtly frugal. For me the recipes draw on influences all ready present in Diana's previous books - Moroccan, English, French, Asian - this really is a book that takes a bite of world cuisine. Virtually all the recipes come with at least 2 thorough variations.

Chapters and a few recipes are:

The roast and 'les restes':

Simple roast chicken with herbs - and 7 variations on roast chicken from Corfu roast chicken with sweet potatoes and cayenne, to Malaysian roast chicken. Recipes follow on chicken leftovers - Restorative chicken and parsley risotto, Vietnamese chicken with Nuoc Cham (a sauce), Chiang Mai chicken noodles, West Country chicken and ham pie; Greek chicken, pumpkin and feta pie; Chicken and toasted bread salad with raisins, pine nuts and capers, and Chicken, wild rice and bluberry salad. There is a similar theme through the other roasting meats.

Vegetable love - Herbed ricotta with summer veg; Courgettes with raisins, pine nuts and mint; Turkish carrots and lentils with herbs, Moroccan spiced roast squash and chiokpeas with minted onions, Sicilian braised vegetables with saffron pine ntus, raisins and capers.

Racing pulses - Lentil, redppeper and goats cheese salad, Spanish white beans with black pudding and chorizo, Split pea puree with Greek lemon and oregano chicken.

Good grains - Persian herb chialu; Sausage, radicchio and red wine risotto, Coconut rice pudding with candied limes, Spanish rice with pork and spinach.

Fine fish - Spanish baked bream, Fish pie with leek mash, Gurnard on crushed potatoes with olives, parlsey and lemon, Moroccan fish cakes, minted cucumber salad and hot sauce; roast mackerel on potatoes, lemon, garlic and thyme; Baked salmon with Scandinavian cucumber.

Choice cuts - Thorough descriptions of which cuts are best for which style of cooking. Lamb, black pudding and mustard hot pot, Crispy pork belly with potatoes, eggs and gribiche dressing; Mexican tinga poblana, Ham hock with parsley sauce and cabbage.

Soup, beautiful soup - Ethiopian spiced pumpkin soup, Parsnip and smoked haddock soup, Swedish spinach soup with egg butterballs.

Where the wild things are - Pheasant with beer, carrots and honey, Rabbit with mustard and tarrago, Elderflower and berry jellies, Blackberry and brown sugar loaf.

Sweet fruitfulness - Strawberry and lemon curd cake, Cherry and almond croutes, Gooseberry pots, Gooseberry meringue pie, Pear, almond and red wine cake.

Crusts and crumbs - Southern Italian cauliflower with dried breadcrumbs, capers and anchovies; Spring panzanella, Brown bread and whisky ice cream, wine-soaked autumn pudding.

Eggs is eggs - Alpine souffles, Menemen, Smoked cheddar and apple omelette, Peach and lavendar honey clafoutis.

Littered throughout with beautiful non-gloss pictures, this book is as much of a delight to read as the recipes are to cook. Dinner tonight was smoked haddock brandade with spinach and poached egg - delicious! Thank you Diana for another lovely book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very well researched cookery book., 7 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food From Plenty: Good food made from the plentiful, the seasonal and the leftover. With over 300 recipes, none of them extravagant (Hardcover)
"Food from Plenty" is a veritable mangnum opus, a compendium of recipes "made from the plentiful, the seasonal and the leftover". This weighty, beautiful book contains over 300 recipes, and we are reassured that none of them are extravagant.Diana Henry is best known for her Sunday missives in the food section of the "Stella" Telegraph magazine.She has a philosophy of cooking which I share with all the students at the cookery schools I teach at, and, also, in my own home. Leftovers are sacrosanct, they should be used up the next day, and Diana gives us several examples of how each recipe can then be turned into something else. Parsimony is the new holy grail, so buy quality meat and fish, for example, but lesser quantities. Stock, both chicken and vegetable, is so simple to make and so very vital for soups, risotto, sauces and many, many recipes. Diana does not preach nor admonish, albeit pointing out the many sustainability, wastage and health problems facing a nation that needs to re-connect with food, its provenance, preparation and enjoyment.

This book transcends the general genre of "cookery book", as it is didactic in so many ways. Within its pages you will travel on the flight of Air Simple Gastronomy. You have arrived in Vietnam with Chicken with Nuoc Cham, a sauce made out of garlic, chilli, salt, lime juice, fish sauce and a little sugar. Next, you are sitting in an Italian garden, feasting on Pinzimonio vegetables, maybe dipped in a herby ricotta and olive dip. Mind the heat in your Mexican foray, with spicy Tinga Poblana. Diana has done a great deal of research, and her references are not just drawn from different cultures, but also across history. Ribollita, my favourite bean, cabbage and bread soup is a recipe as old as the Tuscan hills themselves, but "Scottish pear and raspberry trifle" seems to me a bang-up-to-date rendition of its more traditional cousin. There is a 1929 cookbook recipe, "Dorothy Allhusen's Cherry Salad", taken from "A book of scents and dishes". "Paradise Jelly", taken from an old American cookbook, is this season's winning recipe: a crimson jewel quince, apple and cranberry jelly that looks as good as its name implies. The very first recipe I am going to try has to be "Barley, parsley and pomegranate salad", it looks so enticing, minutely pretty and crunchy.

The styling and composition is homely, rustic and warm, featuring the best needlework linens and crackle ware pottery I have ever seen. Home cooks have had enough of the endless stream of transient celebrity cooks who are plugged into the oxygen tank of hype, fame and tweets. It is so life-affirming to read the work of a professional, serious, Mamma cookery writer who has stood the test of time by putting really good, conscientious dinners on the table, by caring about cooking and taking pleasure in its comfort. Her words ring timely and true: "What it boils down to is taking more care. We need to value our planet, our bodies, the people who produce our food, the animals who provide it, and those we feed every day. It makes for a much happier life".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars when you need no more cookery books - buy this one, 30 Oct 2011
This review is from: Food From Plenty: Good food made from the plentiful, the seasonal and the leftover. With over 300 recipes, none of them extravagant (Hardcover)
I already own and love Diana Henry's previous books but have sworn that I must stop adding to the groaning shelves of my kitchen library. This one, however, sounded worth making an exception for, and how right I was. My children thought I was mad when we embarked on a 4 hour car journey with my new book opened on my lap, but by the time we reached home I was itching to get cooking as these recipes sounded so vibrant, simple and delicious. No hard to find ingredients, no special equipment required - a one stop shop enabled me to get to work with a chicken roasted with preserved lemon, garlic and bay, and a fantastic pilaf based around carrot, orange, pistachios and coriander. The only sadness was these provoked such greed there are no leftovers! The book is joyously written, the photos are enticing and chimes with my own beliefs about food without sacrificing anything to frugality. I know it's about to join my list of favourites (along with Simon Hopkinson, Madhur Jaffrey,Ottolenghi, Nigel Slater and the Greens Cookbook amongst others). So, when you need no more cook books - buy this one. Seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly wonderful cookbook, 29 Sep 2010
This review is from: Food From Plenty: Good food made from the plentiful, the seasonal and the leftover. With over 300 recipes, none of them extravagant (Hardcover)
I have all Diana Henry's books - as well as a few hundred by other cookery writers - and this is already one of my favourites. It is a wonderful book; full of ideas, full of things that you want to cook, full of suggestions for food that you may already have - that leftover chicken or those cooking apples from the neighbour's tree. For the last three weeks I have insisted on roast chicken on Sunday just so I can cook the Vietnamese chicken with Nouc Cham or the chicken and parsley risotto for supper on Monday. The family will catch on soon...Diana Henry is a fantastic writer with an easy yet passionate and descriptive style so this is also the kind of book you can take to bed with you and read. The recipes are not overly complicated, but they are exciting - full of influences from all over the world, and combinations of ingredients and flavours that sound so delicious you are inspired to try them - so far none have disappointed. The book is beautifully produced, stunning photography, lovely paper...there is no more to say except that I have already given three copies to delighted friends and will be giving away quite a few more at Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Diana Henry - Plenty of Ideas, 26 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food From Plenty: Good food made from the plentiful, the seasonal and the leftover. With over 300 recipes, none of them extravagant (Hardcover)
I'm going to have to disagree with the previous reviewer, this new one is a classic Diana Henry book in both writing and recipes. It's in a different format shape wise, but it is without a doubt Diana in style and content. It is about getting the most that you can from the seasonal ingredients that you buy (or grow), cooking and eating, and crucially not wasting food to be better from both your pocket and the world we live in. This is not a cheap food book, it goes deeper than that into the whole ethos of buying and using food.

The chapters are driven by an ingredient or type of cooking eg. Racing Pulses, The Roast and `les restes', Soup, Beautiful Soup or Sweet Fruitfulness - to name but four of eleven chapters. Plenty of Pictures too.

Here is a taster of some of the recipes I fancy trying:

Malaysian Roast Chicken.
Chicken. Wild Rice and Blueberry Salad.
Lamb Pilaf with Figs, Pomegranate, Feta and Pistachios.
Middle Eastern Shepherd's Pie with Spiced Parsnip Crust.
Pork, Roast Squash, Apple and Chestnut Salad.
A side dish for meat of Peas, Broad Beans and Chorizo with Mint.
Turkish Carrots and Lentils with Herbs.
Fillet of Salmon with Sweet-sour Beetroot and Dill Crème Fraiche.
Smoked Haddock Stovies with Fried Egg and Mustard Sauce.
Summer Soup au Pistou.
Cold Weather Soup au Pistou.
Cardamon, Honey and Orange Roast Apricots.
Butter and Brown Sugar Roast Apples.

If I had a criticism it's that there is very little for the cake tin or to have with a cup of tea or coffee. Still, I'm going to give this book a 5 because I think it's a good book with good food for feeding family or casual get togethers for friends. Lots of main courses and fruity puddings. I'm off to do the roast apples now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have cookery book, 26 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food From Plenty: Good food made from the plentiful, the seasonal and the leftover. With over 300 recipes, none of them extravagant (Hardcover)
This is a very attractive looking book and beautifully illustrated. The recipes are excellent and unusual using easily obtainable ingredients. I also like at the bottom of the page suggestions for other ways of using the same ingredients. There is also a lot to learn from this book eg about grains. I love the ideas for leftovers and for learning what is in season. An excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Not designed for the Kindle. What's with the advertising on each & every page?, 14 April 2014
This book would be a culinary textbook Bible if it wasn't' bogged down with advertising on each and every page. The recipes are to die for and the pictures are beautiful, but this double grey strip on every page is seriously off-putting. This advertising interferes with the recipes and the ability to highlight the recipe titles.There is another issue being that the font is too small. There is a zoom option on the Kindle but it seems to have bugs which slows the reading down. In addition there are some pages where the writing is a blur? I've never experienced a formatting issue like that before. I can see it being very difficult to use on a practical basis in the kitchen.

Please, please please update this book and remove this interfering advertising as it not only makes life difficult for the reader-it cheapens the book. For the price I paid for it for my Kindle Fire HD-I am very annoyed. I am contemplating returning the book and purchasing a paperback copy instead.

I will change my rating to 5 Stars if the publishers remove this eyesore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yum yum, 15 Jan 2014
This review is from: Food From Plenty: Good food made from the plentiful, the seasonal and the leftover. With over 300 recipes, none of them extravagant (Hardcover)
Excellent with very easy and super tasty receipices. I like how it is sectioned into grains, fish etc...for vegetable it s fantastic. I have yet to find one that doesn't work. Together with the Yotam Ottolenghi I think we have a great year of feast ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute joy!!!!, 5 Nov 2010
This review is from: Food From Plenty: Good food made from the plentiful, the seasonal and the leftover. With over 300 recipes, none of them extravagant (Hardcover)
This has to be one of the best books I have seen in a long time. Unlike some of the higher profile glam cookery writers ( yes, that's YOU, Ms Lawson!!), I do feel that what you get with Di, is the real thing. Her writing is ( as ever), beautiful and the recipes look fantastic; don't know where to start cooking from.

ang x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best cookbook in the world ..., 13 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food From Plenty: Good food made from the plentiful, the seasonal and the leftover. With over 300 recipes, none of them extravagant (Hardcover)
I love cookery books and my shelves groan under the weight of Delia, Nigella, Jamie, Nigel Slater et al. But if I could only keep one of my cookbooks it would inevitably be by Diana Henry, because her books are full of inventive, interesting and delicious food. She has lots of Wow! dishes for when you are cooking for friends and want to give them something fantastic, but where she reigns absolutely supreme is as a writer for the everyday cook, who has to put food on the table day in, day out. Food From Plenty is the perfect companion when you are looking for something different to cook - a twist on an old favourite, a completely new dish, or an interesting way of using leftovers. You will want to reach for it every day, because it is overflowing with inspirational ideas that take the grind out of everyday cooking. It is beautifully laid out with gorgeous pictures. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews