Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best wine tasting book I've encountered, 8 Dec 2010
This review is from: Essential Winetasting: The Complete Practical Winetasting Course (Paperback)
Michael Schuster does and excellent (and methodical) job of explaining the art of wine tasting. Nothing is assumed as the reader is taken through the correct process of tasting wine. This methodical approach is tremendously important and, as a matter of technique, it its application is equally useful to both the novice and the professional.

Michael employs a great specificity of language that will help readers understand exactly how oak, climate, grape variety, soil, and other factors influences the wine. This in turn can raise the readers' awareness, appreciation and enjoyment of wine.

This book has helped me understand wine better, and improved my ability to describe and write about wine. I am a professional Sommelier and a wine writer, and this book has unequivocally helped me in passing blind-tasting exams as well.

I see this book as an essential resource both for wine lovers and for wine professionals, and I recommend it whole-heartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for true lovers of wine, 27 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Winetasting (Hardcover)
For anyone not lucky enough to have attended one of Michael's courses, this serves as an excellent alternative.
Schuster brings his customary eloquence to the printed page and goes further than others toward pinning down some of the less obvious nuances of wines. Reading this book and following its spirit will help anyone to get the most from wine - from Blue Nun to Cheval Blanc. Debunks many widely held myths and misconceptions and encourages objectivity in tasting - a sadly underestimated skill. The tutored tastings are a remarkably effective innovation - how can one resist the urge to reach for that corkscrew?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real wine knowledge by 'hands on' tastings, 7 May 2002
This review is from: Essential Winetasting (Hardcover)
Without a doubt the best wine book I have seen. Superbly laid out with easy to follow references. This book teaches practical knowledge on every page which comes to life in step by step tasting experiences. Michael Schuster has a great knack of bringing enjoyment to this art. The first book I have read that explains why a certain wine matches a certain food. I just want to read, learn and taste more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a course, not a guide, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: Essential Winetasting: The Complete Practical Winetasting Course (Paperback)
Bought this for my brother-in-law. Was highly recommended on Amazon but I was initially a bit disappointed when I received it because it's not a glossy guide you can particularly dip in and out. However, looking more closely it is a wonderful book if you want to actually learn to taste wine, rather than dip in and out. Effectively it's a bit of a course in wine tasting. What is nice is that it suggests wines to purchase with the details of tasting, and would be great for organising your own wine tasting parties!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book. Informative, instructive, and fun, 26 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Essential Winetasting (Hardcover)
You really don't need to be knowledgeable about wine to be inspired by this book - you just need to enjoy the taste of it! Essential Winetasting is an inspirational read, half way through which you'll be (well I was) tempted to ring up your friends, issue instructions on which wine to bring, and organise an impromptu tasting.
The book educates and informs with a style that's by turns absorbing, entertaining, and hugely educational - importantly, even as a 'novice', I never felt patronised or confused. It's beautifully illustrated throughout - particularly in the section on step by step guided tastings. It's this superb section which 'makes' the book; it allows you to put the knowledge you've just aquired into a practical, tutored context - which in turn ensures that the learning process becomes fun, instinctive and effortless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 4 July 2012
By 
Ms Victoria Ritchie (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Winetasting: The Complete Practical Winetasting Course (Paperback)
This book is very well laid out, easy to read and very informative. If you are a beginner, this book is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars To Learn More about wines!, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. B. Miller (Kendal, Cumbria Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Winetasting: The Complete Practical Winetasting Course (Paperback)
I am not a 'wind snob' but I like to know more about different wines and where they are grown,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Winetasting: The Complete Practical Winetasting Course (Paperback)
This is a really well presented book for beginners with loads of information without going overkill whilst still keeping it interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Winetasting: The Complete Practical Winetasting Course (Paperback)
One of the best book on Wine I have read. Well structured, informative, interesting easy to read. I would advise it to anyone that wishes to understand better the world of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Winetasting: The Complete Practical Winetasting Course (Paperback)
This is a great book for anyone who is starting to learn more about wine tasting.
It has everything you would expect & a lot more.
Whats more, its always a great reference book in the future, so I dont think I will be letting this book out of my sight in a hurry.

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Winetasting: The Complete Practical Winetasting Course
Essential Winetasting: The Complete Practical Winetasting Course by Michael Schuster (Paperback - 4 May 2009)
Used & New from: £36.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews