Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!
Love this book. Although it surfs on the wave of what is back to fashion after years of oblivion and sometimes contempt ie the slow cooker ( and after all, why shouldn't it?), it is a great offering.
I suppose it could be a disappointment for people who are after very traditional British recipes for the slow cooker -for which there are plenty of other books- as a lot...
Published on 18 Feb 2011 by Clementine

versus
10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read but when it comes to cooking any recipes I think I'll only choose a couple.
I love a recipe book but I think I'd rate a book on how many recipies I think I can cook without buying too many special ingredients.

I have so far cooked the butter chicken curry which was very nice and, even though it said it would feed 4, fed 8 people.

I am being quite harsh but a slow cooker (in my opinion) is there to create convenience cooking...
Published on 2 Aug 2011 by Sunny74


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 18 Feb 2011
This review is from: Antony's Slow Cooking: 100 easy recipes for the slow cooker, the oven and the hob (Hardcover)
Love this book. Although it surfs on the wave of what is back to fashion after years of oblivion and sometimes contempt ie the slow cooker ( and after all, why shouldn't it?), it is a great offering.
I suppose it could be a disappointment for people who are after very traditional British recipes for the slow cooker -for which there are plenty of other books- as a lot of recipes require different kinds of spices, but I found the ratio traditional vs international recipes very much in keeping with my tastes.
I liked the presentation of the recipes and the clear indications at the top of the page as to number of servings, prep time, cooking time and setting (slow cooker) or hob or oven as well as the tips and suggestions given after the recipes.
Most of the recipes are for the slow cooker but some are to be cooked on the hob or in the oven, all obviously take some time to "slow cook" but most take about 15 mns prep time, so in most cases, little work and great returns - if we checked the cooking time matched our schedule ;-).
The photos are good and inspiring although they are not on glossy paper and every recipe is not featured but they look pretty close to what you will obtain (one or two forgivable exceptions to make the photos look more appealing), something I do appreciate.
Recipes are sorted out by:
-Introduction (with great slow cooker tips for people who are new to the appliance...and the others)
-Soups and sauces (we loved the seafood laksa -expensive but well worth it- and the bolognese cooked that way was a winner too)
-On the side (aromatic aubergine with feta and spinach was surprisingly tasty as were slow-cooked courgettes and slow-cooked fennel with tomatoes, olives and crispy crumbs, next on the list: spicy braised aubergines with prunes...)
-Roasts and braises (the take on jerk chicken was lovely, spicy pork in stout very nice)
-Bakes(we tried chicken, pork, apple and walnut terrine (yum) but there are also recipes for fish pie, steak and kidney pudding, wild mushroom risotto, turkey meatballs with tomato rice pilaf...)
-Stews (a great selection from Lancashire hotpot, paprika goulash to Greek octopus stew, mixed grain jambalaya(loved it!), Carribean fish stew...)
-Curries and tagines ( more exotic recipes -mostly curries as you can guess- buttered chicken and tomato curry was superb)
-Puddings and treats (a lot of fruit based desserts such as poached figs with blackberries, Jamaican coconut bananas(yum!), spiced apple terrine and honeyed yogurt but also spiced carrot cake- very tasty and moist cooked that way- chocolate saucy pudding, treacle sponge, lemon curd and rich maple creme caramel...)
-Stocks

So a great book if you want to give slow-cooking a try with a lovely selection of both British and international-style recipes, thumbs up Antony!

Another good book worth checking out is Genevieve Taylor's "Stew!", I bought both books over a short period ^^ and I am quite happy to say that they nicely complement each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all 'slow cooking' fans, 5 Mar 2011
By 
B. J. Lambert "Ancient cook" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Antony's Slow Cooking: 100 easy recipes for the slow cooker, the oven and the hob (Hardcover)
This excellent book also suggests oven and hob methods, which is very useful. Whilst not a great fan of Anthony Worral Thompson, I did find this book very enjoyable and very interesting; it has somewhat amended my opinion of this gentleman. I am a great fan of slow cookers and whilst I am currently recovering from an operation, I can't wait to get back in the kitchen and try some of these recipes. Whilst several of the more traditional recipes are to be found in other books, AWT often offers his own twist to them, which could be interesting.
Amazon delivery was very speedy, as usual.
I would thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Cookbook, 2 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antony's Slow Cooking: 100 easy recipes for the slow cooker, the oven and the hob (Hardcover)
I have now tried many of AWT's recipes from this book & every one has been a success. Each recipe is easy to follow & has obviously been tried & tested. Great for cooking & freezing batches of meals as most recipes cater for large numbers. Although many of the recipes are for slow cookers they work just as well in a good, large cast iron casserole & a low oven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Created a Slow Cooker Revival in our House!, 10 Feb 2013
This review is from: Antony's Slow Cooking: 100 easy recipes for the slow cooker, the oven and the hob (Hardcover)
Like some other cooks reviews AWT is not my chef of choice, however in this book he has mastered and brought up to date the art of slow cooking. I used to find that most slow cooker recipes all come out tasting very similar and with a similar texture. This book has changed my attitude considerably. I am an eager home cook and enjoy trying new recipies all the time. Of all my recipe book collection this is the one that I come back to time and time again especially in the depths of winter. All the recipes are good family fayre and are easy to prepare (even if the ingredients list is long, they are usually all storecupboard staples) and there is something very special in the anticipation of a meal that has been ticking away all day with its lovely aromas filling the kitchen. Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWT does it again, 20 Mar 2011
This review is from: Antony's Slow Cooking: 100 easy recipes for the slow cooker, the oven and the hob (Hardcover)
This is.a great book,There's a good range of recipes from stocks,starters,mains and sweets.My only negative point is that some of quantity s are rather large but just cut them down,All in all some great receipes and a good addition to our cook book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Antony's Slow Cooking, 24 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antony's Slow Cooking: 100 easy recipes for the slow cooker, the oven and the hob (Hardcover)
Exactly what you would expect from an excellent chef such as Antony Worrall Thompson. Packed with recipes to suit everyone using absolutely gorgeous tastes. Definitely something to liven up your slow cooking and if you think this way of cooking is old fashioned - think again. Anthony redefines it with his recipes into a modern, energy efficient, labour saving method of cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars slow cooking, 13 Aug 2011
This review is from: Antony's Slow Cooking: 100 easy recipes for the slow cooker, the oven and the hob (Hardcover)
As a new owner of a slow cooker, I found this slow cooking book was a real hit and some of the recipes have been cooked more than once. One to have and to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars learning to slowcook, 6 Feb 2012
This review is from: Antony's Slow Cooking: 100 easy recipes for the slow cooker, the oven and the hob (Hardcover)
This book is excellent full of good ideas and information , most of recipes are straight forward and additional information is helpful and easy to understand good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely recipes, good variety, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antony's Slow Cooking: 100 easy recipes for the slow cooker, the oven and the hob (Hardcover)
Different from most slow cooker books, helpful tips and a great variety of recipes, lovely pictures make you want to cook from this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antony's Slow Cooking: 100 easy recipes for the slow cooker, the oven and the hob (Hardcover)
A practical cook book to cook from, or just enjoy looking at the pictures. I will use the all year around :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Antony's Slow Cooking: 100 easy recipes for the slow cooker, the oven and the hob
£15.13
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews