Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration for quick & easy meals
I like this book for the same reason others have criticised it. The recipes are very simplistic, so really are aimed at someone who is time pressured but wanting to break out of their everyday rut. The emphasis is on how easily a small number of ingredients can be combined for a meal that is fresh tasting. So yes, for speed the chargrilled veg with grilled goats cheese...
Published on 9 Dec 2012 by Lilly

versus
21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money
This book contains recipes from James Martin's first two cook books: Eating in with James Marin and Delicious!
It contains insights like (in 'Chargrilled Vegetables with Olives and Goats Cheese'): use jars of chargrilled vegetables. Thinking you wouldn't want to waste any effort in preparing and cooking them, he didn't waste any effort in telling you how to.
Published on 10 May 2009 by SG


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration for quick & easy meals, 9 Dec 2012
This review is from: James Every Day: The Essential Collection (Hardcover)
I like this book for the same reason others have criticised it. The recipes are very simplistic, so really are aimed at someone who is time pressured but wanting to break out of their everyday rut. The emphasis is on how easily a small number of ingredients can be combined for a meal that is fresh tasting. So yes, for speed the chargrilled veg with grilled goats cheese suggests a jar of char grilled veg if you don't have time to roast them yourselves. This dish then had a dressing combining black olives, pesto, balsamic vinegar, fresh oregano and dill.

Favourites so far have been -
Pan fried chicken with chilli, flageolet beans, fennel and pancetta
Roasted marinated duck breast with a chicory tarte tatin
Cod with puy lentils braised in red wine, balsamic, ground cumin & fresh coriander
Roast celeriac with vanilla and garlic
Caramelised beetroot
Chorizo, butter bean and truffle oil soup

None of these are challenging or innovative recipes but at the end of a long day at work have helped easily provide new inspiration when I have been tired and would of fallen back on another stir fry or pasta.

I do also cook recipes from Nigella Lawson, Nigel Slater, Jamie Oliver and Gordan Ramsay but tend to enjoy them more when I am less pressured for time.

With this book, for less than the price of a pint you get 150 meal ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Recipes Book, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: James Every Day: The Essential Collection (Hardcover)
Bought this as a Christmas gift, but love the product so much that think I ill be buying this myself. Really well described and good pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great service, great book, 16 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. A. Asling - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Every Day: The Essential Collection (Hardcover)
Received very quickly and in good order, exactly what my wife would say about this great chef.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money, 10 May 2009
By 
This review is from: James Every Day: The Essential Collection (Hardcover)
This book contains recipes from James Martin's first two cook books: Eating in with James Marin and Delicious!
It contains insights like (in 'Chargrilled Vegetables with Olives and Goats Cheese'): use jars of chargrilled vegetables. Thinking you wouldn't want to waste any effort in preparing and cooking them, he didn't waste any effort in telling you how to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Collection, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Every Day: The Essential Collection (Hardcover)
Another great book well written, illustrations good with step by step instructions for more great meals,. would highly recommend to any cook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Every Day: The Essential Collection (Hardcover)
I am delighted with this book, quality, presentation, excellent fast delivery......very impressed and delighted all round. Will return. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars james martin, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Every Day: The Essential Collection (Hardcover)
james martin never fails! i will have all his books by the time i have finished.!!!! if i live that long
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Every Day: The Essential Collection (Hardcover)
Super price and makes me feel like I'm in James' kitchen or hmmmm even he's in mine lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its ok, but not for me,, 5 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Every Day: The Essential Collection (Hardcover)
its ok , but not for me, wanted more down to earth everyday stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MR M SINGLETON, 11 Jan 2011
This review is from: James Every Day: The Essential Collection (Hardcover)
I GOT THIS BOOK YESTERDAY I REALLY LIKE THIS BOOK BECAUSE I GOT IT FROM W. H SMITHS FOR 4.99 I'VE NOT FOUND THE RIGHT THING FOR ME TO COOK FROM THIS BOOK YET BUT I'M LOOKING I KNOW I'LL FIND SOMETHING BECAUSE I HAVE LIKED JAMES MARTIN SINCE I FIRST SEE HIM COOK ON TV THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME I COULD GET ONE OF HIS BOOKS I'M GOING TO TRY ONE OF CHOCOLATE DISHES FROM I IN THE NEXT FEW DAYS . WILL GIVE MORE FEEDBACK SOON .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James Every Day: The Essential Collection
James Every Day: The Essential Collection by James Martin (Hardcover - 5 Jan 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews