Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely
Very nice book, quite different from the other recipe books that live on my shelf. It's full of inventive recipes that keep me interested in the kitchen. Occasionally it's frustrating that some of the ingredients are not your usual Sainsbury's stock and require a nice farmers market or healthy allotment, but other than that it's well worth having. A small note that if you...
Published on 28 Sep 2009 by Ms. E. G. Austin

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not in good condition
A very badly damaged book which seems to have at some point to have been immersed in water
Published 1 month ago by annie woodford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 28 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: What to Eat Now (Hardcover)
Very nice book, quite different from the other recipe books that live on my shelf. It's full of inventive recipes that keep me interested in the kitchen. Occasionally it's frustrating that some of the ingredients are not your usual Sainsbury's stock and require a nice farmers market or healthy allotment, but other than that it's well worth having. A small note that if you have watched the latest series and are buying it for the recipes featured on it, the one you want is the 'more please' sequel to this. Arrived quickly in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Valentine Warner, 21 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Eat Now (Hardcover)
Oh Valentine Warner
Take me to your cottage in the woods
Wear those green wellies as we embrace
Feed me on wild shrimp
Tell me my hair reminds you of moss and fallen leaves
Cook me a pie made of animals
I love you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of british cookery, 8 Oct 2008
This review is from: What to Eat Now (Hardcover)
I don't buy many cookery books and generally stick to a few tried and trusted recipes but this book made me change my mind. The TV programme is just good fun and Valentine's passion for food and eating is infectious. I am now looking forward to going shopping at the weekend and trying some of the delicious recipes for myself. I'm certainly going to give about 6 people this book for christmas and I know they'll all love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars full of flavour - of the food and the cook himself!, 24 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: What to Eat Now (Hardcover)
What to Eat Now is a good cook book, and a great read - perfect for dipping in and out of as the evenings get dark and chillier. The focus is on getting the best from seasonal ingredients, and Valentine Warner has a down-to-earth way of describing types of food that I'd normally avoid as 'too complicated', like venison or pigeon, that makes you want to get down to your local butcher and try them out. There's also simple stuff like corned beef hash (delicious!) and a definitive scrambled eggs. His writing style is very jolly and honest, and the recipes are interspersed with squiggly drawings and photos. What really comes across, however, is that Warner is the sort of honestly greedy cook who understands his ingredients well enough to cook 'off the cuff' with what's there, just to see what will happen - and that makes me want to try his recipes even more. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars eat it right now., 27 Sep 2009
By 
Esther Gregory (plymouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What to Eat Now (Hardcover)
Every recipe i have tried has been lick the plate clean lovely my friends and family think i am amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what to eat now, 13 Sep 2009
By 
S. Walker (Berkshire U>K>) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: What to Eat Now (Hardcover)
Sent for this cookery book after watching the television series. Extremely well illustrated,straight forward recipes. The cherry pie recipe is to die for! His Pastry recipes are melt in the mouth,would recommend this to all keen cooks,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not in good condition, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Eat Now (Hardcover)
A very badly damaged book which seems to have at some point to have been immersed in water
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
This review is from: What to Eat Now (Hardcover)
Very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Eat Now (Hardcover)
Very original and interesting recipes. Have made a few and they were not complex but all scrumptious.
Nicely produced book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cookbook, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What to Eat Now (Hardcover)
excellent recipes. Have tried 2 or 3 so far and each one has been god. Would recommend. Nothing else to say, so why do these reviews insist on a specific number of words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What to Eat Now
What to Eat Now by Valentine Warner (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews