Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buying guide
An excellent guide for buying 'reasonable' to 'ultra-premium' wine. Thousands of wines are covered in short informative paragraphs along with ratings and vintage guides.

It's less detailed than "Wine Behind the Label" but at pocket size is totally portable. This is a thoroughly practical book and is genuinely helpful in making wine buying decisions, (mine has...
Published on 8 Sept. 2008 by MS

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars limited
even for a pocket book, i found the information rather limited, anf a bit all over the place. May be is more interesting to have bigger books which are more complete, or pocket ones which are more specialised and concise
Published 18 months ago by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buying guide, 8 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009 (Hardcover)
An excellent guide for buying 'reasonable' to 'ultra-premium' wine. Thousands of wines are covered in short informative paragraphs along with ratings and vintage guides.

It's less detailed than "Wine Behind the Label" but at pocket size is totally portable. This is a thoroughly practical book and is genuinely helpful in making wine buying decisions, (mine has been everywhere from the supermarket to the caves of Burgundy). Hugh Johnson manages to combine a careers-worth of expert knowledge with a down-to-earth, sensible and non-stuffy approach.

If you already have the 2008 guide and were going to skip this one (like I was), there are multiple changes and updates to the individual entries, as well as rewritten country introductions. (And yes, last year's gremlins have fled the publisher and they've sorted out the mishaps before sending it to print).
It's also (to me) easier to read with maroon and black type, rather than last years gold and black, and the maps are recoloured and clearer.

It's only a tenner, the price of a bottle of wine, and it might help you to get more bouquet for your buck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide for wine lovers everywhere, 13 Jan. 2009
By 
Mr. M. Randall (Sale, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009 (Hardcover)
This is fo9r everyone who enjoys or is curious about wine.

A comprehensive guide to wine - drinking, storing and enjoying.

The book is well laid out and covers practically every wine producing region in the world. Reviewing recent vintages within each region and then a wine section of wines from each area, rating them 1-4 stars and showing which vintages to drink, which to leave. The good, the bad and the OK. Johnson also has a mini section at the back of the book and each year this area covers a different topic. last years was food & wine matching & the best of Italy. This year looks at leading chefs/ restauranteurs views on wines and food matching.

Johnson also offers an in-depth review of the vintages 07 and 06. as well as an overview of the worlds most popular grapes.

good for wine pro's and those who just enjoy a good drink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep this with you when shopping at your supermarket, 8 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. Richard Wilson (Stafford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009 (Hardcover)
I was first given a Hugh Johnson pocket wine book about 30 years ago, which shows how old both Mr Johnson and I are getting! I think he's got far superior taste buds to me, and a vast knowledge and experience of the wine industry, so I find his recommendations very useful when picking a not-too-expensive wine from any of my local supermarkets. I don't buy the latest Hugh Johnson pocket wine book for myself every year, but it still makes a good stocking-filler at Christmas for friends who partake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pocket book on wine, 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009 (Hardcover)
These little books cone out every year and I buy them for both my husband and father and are read from cover to cover each Christmas.
I am not sure how big Hugh Johnson thinks people's pockets are but they don't change from year to year!
This little book gives an in slight into that years wine, it is informative on the wine, region, details and when the drink etc. it gives ideas on new wines to try and ones to avoid.
A must for both the beginner and the expert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to wines, 21 April 2009
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009 (Hardcover)
I enjoy this wine info book enormously - gives essential info on world wines with precise and wonderful insight to new winemakers as well as the established ones. Well worth having if you want to expand your knowledge as well as your wine purchases!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars limited, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009 (Hardcover)
even for a pocket book, i found the information rather limited, anf a bit all over the place. May be is more interesting to have bigger books which are more complete, or pocket ones which are more specialised and concise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A useful tool, 8 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009 (Hardcover)
This book is fine fine and gives you the info that you want about current wine vintages - not sure that it is small enough to want to keep in my pocket but it is an invaluable reference - not for the beginner though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great pocket book - size of the book fit into lady's handbags and extremely informative!, 28 April 2009
By 
Ms. Xiao Han Han "Candy" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009 (Hardcover)
Great pocket book - size of the book fit into lady's handbags and extremely informative!
The information is decent and accurate as well. Most used wine book in my collection since really bring it with me everyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Concise,Handy, 22 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009 (Hardcover)
A must have for every iinterested wine enthusiast!
Concise,Packed with tonnes of information and tips
I would say this book can be your little 'PDA' regarding wine matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought as a gift, 2 Aug. 2009
By 
G. Wilczek "jenny wilczek" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009 (Hardcover)
hopefully it will be a useful gift for an amateur wine connoisseur. Nice size for tucking into a pocket or keeping in the glove box when travelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009
Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009 by Hugh Johnson (Hardcover - 1 Sept. 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews