Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cooking good book
Another excellent book from James martin, with nice little notes above each recipe about why he has included them. You'll find roast beef and yorkshire puds, lamb curry and a multitude of tasty deserts from jam roly poly to treacle sponge. The recipes are easy to follow and the pictures are nice. My one gripe (and it cost you a star James!) is that some recipes only...
Published on 22 Jan 2008 by Superwrong

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect measurements!
I agree with linny21 ... I too really like James Martin and was very keen to get started cooking from this book as pretty much every recipe featured sounds and looks mouth wateringly delicious. My husband and I like linny21 tried the steak with stilton rarebit topping and the rarebit topping was so runny it could not be used to top the steaks under the grill. I have made...
Published 7 months ago by Karen Rowberry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas, 30 April 2013
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
Really enjoyed this book, nice recipes, and liked the little anecdotes about where they came from. Most nice and straightforward with no outlandish ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
I loved the recipes and the instructions along with the colour photos of the dishes. Good quality hard back book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all !, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
I like James Martin's down to earth approach to cooking and this book reflects his style . A good basic cookbook for those new to cooking from scratch with some new recipes for experienced cooks such as me .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Collection by James Martin, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
Again this item was bought as a stocking filler for the wife, as we both like watching Saturday Kitchen, this contains a lot of really good recipes, I would certainly advise purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Insane quantities!, 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
I'm a massive fan of James Martin and so got this book to try some things at home. Overall. I'm really disappointed as we have had so many disasters with it. Generally anything with a sauce has too much liquid, it seems like the quantities have been printed incorrectly i.e. the steak with Stilton welsh rarebit. The topping was so runny, there was no way it was going to stay on the steak like the 'very thick paste' James intended. The only way we rescued it was to sieve out the liquid. It was very tasty after this but what a mess! The profiteroles were the same, i.e. the quantity of water just meant the pastry was far too runny. In another recipe for bolognese, the amount of wine needed was ridiculous (almost a whole bottle) and it wouldn't reduce like he said it would and the flavour was very overbearing. I just feel that many of these recipes have not been tested. I have never had so many problems with a recipe book, at the end of the day, if you follow the instructions you shouldn't go wrong, but we have. Would love to know what James says about this...where it say 100ml does he really mean 10ml??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 2 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
this is a must for people who just want inspiration to do different receipes, its easy to
follow and is straight forward,
would recommend to any one wanting to do good cooking with a touch of flair..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Collection by James Martin, 15 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
If you can only have one cookery book this is it I bought 4 as Christmas presents as my friends loved mine so much its a great book and there is something in it for everybody ah well back to the kitchen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cook book, 8 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
Super, super, super. What more can I say. Great recipes which turnout exactly as in the book. I've used mine time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
This product come very quickly and in good condition. High quality product and would definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The collection by James Martin, 13 Oct 2008
By 
S. J. Cooke (Essex, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
A simple but informed cookery book, with good traditional British recipes and favorites of the British public (quick chicken tikka masala!). Easy to follow, and helpful for a first time cook, the essential roast dinner made easy!! I followed the recipe for Yorkshire puddings to the letter and had success first time! A very varied range of catagories, a great book for students, a modern alternative to Delia! A good buy, and well worth having on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4756e04)

This product

The Collection
The Collection by James Martin (Hardcover - 15 Jan 2008)
Used & New from: 2.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews