Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great first timer recipe book to get familiar with what you need and how to use it.
i have hundreds of recipe books and pride myself on rating them all thoroughly and fairly. whilst i'm primarily an English hearty cook i like to also embrace worldwide foods and menus too. This book is I think, quintessentially British. I think it would be a great book for someone settling into a home for the first time, dabbling at cooking, etc. with simple to find...
Published on 25 Aug. 2010 by VenusSpecimen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Insane quantities!
I'm a massive fan of James Martin and so got this book to try some things at home. Overall. I'm really disappointed as we have had so many disasters with it. Generally anything with a sauce has too much liquid, it seems like the quantities have been printed incorrectly i.e. the steak with Stilton welsh rarebit. The topping was so runny, there was no way it was going to...
Published on 19 Aug. 2012 by linny21


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great first timer recipe book to get familiar with what you need and how to use it., 25 Aug. 2010
By 
VenusSpecimen (south east, u.k) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
i have hundreds of recipe books and pride myself on rating them all thoroughly and fairly. whilst i'm primarily an English hearty cook i like to also embrace worldwide foods and menus too. This book is I think, quintessentially British. I think it would be a great book for someone settling into a home for the first time, dabbling at cooking, etc. with simple to find ingredients and basic tools you will be able to cook up good hearty grub to feed either yourself well or your friends and family. i've made pretty much everything in the book and it all works just 100%. Some of the recipes are abit simple but hence is why i'd say its a great first timer book. its also written kind of manly so would make a great recipe book gift to a bloke without them feeling Delia'ized. Although its not titled a book based on english pub grub i would say its exactly that. the kind of meals you'd always see on specials board or most popular dishes of the day kind of thing. This chef is demonstrating unpretentious great food in this book and making it very doable for anyone to replicate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cooking good book, 22 Jan. 2008
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
Another excellent book from James martin, with nice little notes above each recipe about why he has included them. You'll find roast beef and yorkshire puds, lamb curry and a multitude of tasty deserts from jam roly poly to treacle sponge. The recipes are easy to follow and the pictures are nice. My one gripe (and it cost you a star James!) is that some recipes only take up half a page, and then you have a blank half page - could have put an images of the dish in there because not every dish has a picture. Also, to take up half a page with 'bacon sarnie' ingredients bacon, fresh bread and tomato ketchup seems a bit cheeky - I would have expected a bit of a variation on it for it to be included in a cook book. If you like Nigella Express you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Things you actually want to cook, 4 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
This book is basically a Delia for the 21st century. Lots of practical things that you want to make/eat regularly compared to most books that you'd only ever use twice. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Insane quantities!, 19 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
I'm a massive fan of James Martin and so got this book to try some things at home. Overall. I'm really disappointed as we have had so many disasters with it. Generally anything with a sauce has too much liquid, it seems like the quantities have been printed incorrectly i.e. the steak with Stilton welsh rarebit. The topping was so runny, there was no way it was going to stay on the steak like the 'very thick paste' James intended. The only way we rescued it was to sieve out the liquid. It was very tasty after this but what a mess! The profiteroles were the same, i.e. the quantity of water just meant the pastry was far too runny. In another recipe for bolognese, the amount of wine needed was ridiculous (almost a whole bottle) and it wouldn't reduce like he said it would and the flavour was very overbearing. I just feel that many of these recipes have not been tested. I have never had so many problems with a recipe book, at the end of the day, if you follow the instructions you shouldn't go wrong, but we have. Would love to know what James says about this...where it say 100ml does he really mean 10ml??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect measurements!, 27 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
I agree with linny21 ... I too really like James Martin and was very keen to get started cooking from this book as pretty much every recipe featured sounds and looks mouth wateringly delicious. My husband and I like linny21 tried the steak with stilton rarebit topping and the rarebit topping was so runny it could not be used to top the steaks under the grill. I have made a note since this disaster when reading though the recipes again that the liquid quantities in some of the recipes seem ridiculous. I am a fairly experienced home cook and so I think with this hindsight I could adapt the recipes with errors to make them work but that's not the point - cook books should be pretty much fool-proof so long as the recipe is followed to the letter then results should be guaranteed especially when the recipes have been written by a celebrity chef like James Martin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Martin - The Collection, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
LOVE IT and such great recipes to be had and easy to follow. I certainly recommend this to anybody, even if you are not a cook try it, as it is really not that difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
Lots of superb recipes in this special book. I am going to enjoy working through these recipes and look forward to surprising my family and friends with wonderful meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars special recipes for everyday, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
Excellent, easy to prepare and cook recipes, with easily obtainable ingredients. I use it regularly, this copy was for my son's girlfriend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collection, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
A comprehensive collection of James martin recipes. If you like his recipes this is a good broad selection of recipes well set out for different times of year, suny dinners, veg, traditional dishes andd more modern, also cakes, bakes, puddings etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 2 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
this is a must for people who just want inspiration to do different receipes, its easy to
follow and is straight forward,
would recommend to any one wanting to do good cooking with a touch of flair..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collection
The Collection by James Martin (Hardcover - 15 Jan. 2008)
Used & New from: £2.10
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews