Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cooking good book
Another excellent book from James martin, with nice little notes above each recipe about why he has included them. You'll find roast beef and yorkshire puds, lamb curry and a multitude of tasty deserts from jam roly poly to treacle sponge. The recipes are easy to follow and the pictures are nice. My one gripe (and it cost you a star James!) is that some recipes only...
Published on 22 Jan 2008 by Superwrong

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect measurements!
I agree with linny21 ... I too really like James Martin and was very keen to get started cooking from this book as pretty much every recipe featured sounds and looks mouth wateringly delicious. My husband and I like linny21 tried the steak with stilton rarebit topping and the rarebit topping was so runny it could not be used to top the steaks under the grill. I have made...
Published 10 months ago by Karen Rowberry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cooking good book, 22 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
Another excellent book from James martin, with nice little notes above each recipe about why he has included them. You'll find roast beef and yorkshire puds, lamb curry and a multitude of tasty deserts from jam roly poly to treacle sponge. The recipes are easy to follow and the pictures are nice. My one gripe (and it cost you a star James!) is that some recipes only take up half a page, and then you have a blank half page - could have put an images of the dish in there because not every dish has a picture. Also, to take up half a page with 'bacon sarnie' ingredients bacon, fresh bread and tomato ketchup seems a bit cheeky - I would have expected a bit of a variation on it for it to be included in a cook book. If you like Nigella Express you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great first timer recipe book to get familiar with what you need and how to use it., 25 Aug 2010
By 
VenusSpecimen (south east, u.k) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
i have hundreds of recipe books and pride myself on rating them all thoroughly and fairly. whilst i'm primarily an English hearty cook i like to also embrace worldwide foods and menus too. This book is I think, quintessentially British. I think it would be a great book for someone settling into a home for the first time, dabbling at cooking, etc. with simple to find ingredients and basic tools you will be able to cook up good hearty grub to feed either yourself well or your friends and family. i've made pretty much everything in the book and it all works just 100%. Some of the recipes are abit simple but hence is why i'd say its a great first timer book. its also written kind of manly so would make a great recipe book gift to a bloke without them feeling Delia'ized. Although its not titled a book based on english pub grub i would say its exactly that. the kind of meals you'd always see on specials board or most popular dishes of the day kind of thing. This chef is demonstrating unpretentious great food in this book and making it very doable for anyone to replicate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Things you actually want to cook, 4 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
This book is basically a Delia for the 21st century. Lots of practical things that you want to make/eat regularly compared to most books that you'd only ever use twice. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the collection review, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
Excellent service and the book was as new and is now my new bible, food the old fashioned way tasty and edible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
Lots of superb recipes in this special book. I am going to enjoy working through these recipes and look forward to surprising my family and friends with wonderful meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Martin - The Collection, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
LOVE IT and such great recipes to be had and easy to follow. I certainly recommend this to anybody, even if you are not a cook try it, as it is really not that difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
James Martin is just beautiful. I perfect exxuse for a man and he cooks nice food too. It was a used copy I got and was in very good condition as it was an ex library book. Many hearty receipes in it that I have tried on numerous occasions. Great and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars special recipes for everyday, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
Excellent, easy to prepare and cook recipes, with easily obtainable ingredients. I use it regularly, this copy was for my son's girlfriend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cook book, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
Friend asked me to buy for her she lives in Corfu and opened restaurant over there. Thankyou so so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect measurements!, 27 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Collection (Hardcover)
I agree with linny21 ... I too really like James Martin and was very keen to get started cooking from this book as pretty much every recipe featured sounds and looks mouth wateringly delicious. My husband and I like linny21 tried the steak with stilton rarebit topping and the rarebit topping was so runny it could not be used to top the steaks under the grill. I have made a note since this disaster when reading though the recipes again that the liquid quantities in some of the recipes seem ridiculous. I am a fairly experienced home cook and so I think with this hindsight I could adapt the recipes with errors to make them work but that's not the point - cook books should be pretty much fool-proof so long as the recipe is followed to the letter then results should be guaranteed especially when the recipes have been written by a celebrity chef like James Martin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collection
The Collection by James Martin (Hardcover - 15 Jan 2008)
Used & New from: 0.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews